We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for first class music & dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dream Cafe

The Dream Cafe
67 Front Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1H2, Canada
(250) 4909012
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 163 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kootenays
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for first class music & dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a great evening at the Dream Cafe dining, and listening to the Michael Kaeshammer trio. Its very personable owner Pierre consistently brings in world class entertainment. Excellent acoustics.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Bar, Friendliest Owner, Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After walking in the dark streets of Penticton, BC (because it was past 5PM where you see no one on the streets), we were ready to get back to the hotel and call it a night (at 5PM???).

Then, we wanted to take the front street to go to our hotel and on the way, we saw this place. We peeked at it through its blurry window and there was a festival in there. We went right in. We were welcomed by its friendly owner and he said "there is live music today. It is usually $30. But, if we can sneak in the last available table, then it is free for us".

My wife and I spent probably one of the best evenings in our lives in that cafe. I enjoyed some local beer paired with some scotch whisky and my wife enjoyed some cocktails along with the beautiful singing of Bill Bourne. The owner kept coming to us ensuring that we were having a great time. At the end of the night, I wanted to shake his hand and thank him and instead, I got a big, friendly hug.

You wanna have a great, friendly time with a great live music bands and the friendliest owners? Then, you MUST go to Dream Cafe in Penticton, BC

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with Entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great breakfast, eggs benny, fantastic lunches, grilled wraps, and dinner, crab cakes...yummy, parmesan chicken...awesome, fresh crispy vegetables, and 5 star entertainment! Gotta go here!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A very unique, great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a wonderful little restaurant, the best part being the awesome performances that take place on a regular basis. Pierre, the owner, brings in musicians on a regular basis, people such as Ben Waters (fabulous BoogieWoogie/Rock N roll Piano player from England!), Alpha Yaya Diallo (West African musician now living in Canada), Cuban Fire, Van Django, and on and on. Whenever we are in Penticton, which is every summer, we make sure to try to take in at least one performance at the Dream Café. The atmosphere is funky, Pierre and his wait staff are great, and the food, while not the best I have ever eaten, is great and very reasonably priced. You pay anywhere from $10 to $34 for the performance per person, well worth the price. We've attended a number of performance and often have never heard of the musicians but have always really enjoyed the people that Pierre brings in. This is not a place where you talk while the musicians play. You go early, order supper and then watch the musicians.

There is a good range of menu items, such as baked samosas, fresh veggie salad rolls, salads, paninis, wraps such as veggie and feta, mango chicken breasts, falafel, and a number of entrees, including chicken, beef, seafood, and vegetarian. Prices are very reasonable, with the most expensive entree being the steak at $24. Most are around $18 to 20. On performance nights, there is usually a special such as prime rib with Yorkshire pudding and all the trimmings. they also serve breakfast and lunch and have a nice little patio on Colourful Front Street.

If you want to go for a performance, make sure you check out their website and order tickets early, as most of the performance are sold out. Even if you just want a meal, I would highly recommend The Dream Café. It has a great atmosphere, good food and great staff, especially Pierre, who is one of those owners who is very involved and is often there, talking with patrons and enjoying he performances as much as the audience.

Try it, you will love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Dreamin' At The Dream Cafe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The owner, Pierre, once described Penticton as 'Pleasantville' as he was right! We keep coming back to Penticton and specifically, to the Dream Cafe! At the Dream Cafe, they offer live music nights, where you will hear a full range of music from the likes of Matt Anderson to Willie & Lobo while leisurely choosing from a menu that ranges from fresh salad rolls to Moroccan chicken. I've yet to attend a music night that has not been sold out. Tastefully decorated from Pierre's travels, and a similar menu, this charming eclectic restaurant is a favourite of ours. Serving local wines and home-desserts in a most interesting decor is something that keeps us coming back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dream Cafe also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Dream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dream Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.