We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly stay at God's Mountain Estate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of God's Mountain Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added God's Mountain Estate to your Saves list
God's Mountain Estate
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4898 Lakeside / Eastside Rd., Penticton, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Penticton B&B and Inns
Victoria, B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heavenly stay at God's Mountain Estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Okay, so they've got their head in the clouds. But here's why: Perched on the side of a golden hill overlooking Skaha Lake, surrounded by green vineyards, the whitewashed walls of this 'estate' are anchored by giant pots of petunias and hung with brilliant splashes of bougainvillea. The common areas include shaded outdoor porches, cozy indoor lounges appointed with gorgeous antiques, and multiple sunny sitting areas. When the Okanagan heat becomes overpowering, jump in the pool. Friendly, gracious hosts.
Our room was a little small for three but clean and colourful with comfortable beds. Breakfasts did us till dinner - enormous selection of everything from fresh fruit and yogurt to sausages and eggs to some sort of baked pan thing to cakes to cheeses to muffins and more. Another big plus - cooking facilities complete with BBQ, dishes and utensils available for guests who dont' want to drive down the mountain and into Penticton for dinner. Also great Saturday morning market in town where we loaded up on organic goodies for dinner. And wine? Don't get me started.....

  • Liked — The setting, the amenities, and the breakfasts.
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    3
    2
    11
See reviews for
9
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rodeandroad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Having stayed in Penticton many times and this being the third time in 2007 I was disappointed in God's Mountain. Despite being represented as a superior place with superior pricing our room was nothing special. In fact, we could hear people in other rooms and when the people above walked across their room it was clear. The bathroom was particularly bad with old linoleum curling up around the edges and the linoleum had flexed so much beside the toilet it was broken through. The location is nice, outside of town but high with a view over the valley. The common area is large. With so many rooms it does not have the private feel of a regular bed and breakfast but like a motel, an old motel. While I highly recommend visiting Penticton don't stay here.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Overpriced for a strip motel room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

About 1km outside Penticton, God's Mountain Resort is a place of total tranquillity. Visit the local vineyards, stock up on wine during the day and sit overlooking the lake with a cool glass of Riesling in the evening...Sarah is an excellent hostess, going from table to table at breakfast (which is amazing.....huge selection...you dont need to eat for the rest of the day!) and constantly present to ensure everyone is ok. The kitchen is available during the day to cook food etc so most people tend to go out during the day and return with food to cook in the evening.

We didnt get the roofless room but by all accounts it is amazing. Need to book early for that one. Definitely unique and worth a visit.

  • Liked — Serenity
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We were lucky enough to stay in the beautiful roofless room during our time at God's Mountain. It truly reminded me of some of the old villas I have stayed in, in France and Greece.

Our room was spectacular, featuring a hot tub, four poster bed, fireplace and areas for lounging and sun tanning. We had such great sleeps; all bundled in the duvets with the cool breeze on our faces, and it was so quiet! Coming from a nosy condo in the heart of downtown the quiet was my favorite part. I would have been interested to see what some of the other rooms looked like.

We felt very welcomed by the owners and the many animals roaming the property including Lily, the large pot belly pig. Breakfast every day was wonderful and truly a feast, the first day I made a mistake and filled up on all the fruits, cheeses and breads and didn't even have room for all the hot food that came out after. We saved a lot of money by not needing lunch, after filling up at breakfast!

God's Mountain is quite unique with 115 acres of property including vineyards and walking areas, lots of places to sit and look out across the lake. There is a pool and hot tub, indoor and outdoor guest kitchens (next time we plan to take advantage of these); there is also great parlor with games and cards. Everywhere you go there is a spectacular view of the lake, the vines, the mountains and the house itself.

When we stayed there, there was apparently a full house with more than 30 people, but it felt like you barely saw anyone. It was a great value and we will most certainly be back.

  • Liked — Views, room, food - pretty much everything!
  • Disliked — Drove past it a couple times on the road, nothing but address out front
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

God's Mountain is a 12 room inn located on a bench overlooking Skaha Lake, just south of Penticton. Done up in true mediterranean style, it consists of a rambling white painted villa set in the middle of a vineyard.

The outstanding features are both the proprietors, Sarah and Richard, who bring huge charm to the enterprise, and the estate itself. Towering bluffs behind, and lake views that go forever, provide the backdrop to wonderful hospitality.

Each room is absolutely unique, and upgraded as a result of Richard's handiwork. They are furnished, as is the large common room, with genuine period pieces and antiques. There is a bit of a 'Fawlty Towers' atmosphere- this is a work in progress, but you can hardly fault the owners for reworking a 15 year old, madly concocted structure.

Breakfast is sumptuous and leisurely, beginning at 9 am- with European and North American offerings. The cook is German, and a pastry chef, so be prepared. Nobody even considered lunch during our 4 night stay.

There is a common kitchen and outdoor barbecue area for those that want to eat in at night. And every Sunday is a Mediterranean feast, outside catered. Ours was extensive and excellent (antipasto, garlic soup, roasted organic lamb and trimmings, desserts, all paired with top notch local wines)

There is a lovely pool and hot tub, extensive library, board games, and over 100 acres of Okanagan hills to explore. Plus the location is an easy bike ride or drive to the wineries along Corkscrew Drive, or a bit further to the Golden mile south of Oliver, or up to Naramata.

Did I say I liked this place? The cheap sleeps are $99 CDN, a better room with a view, only $149. There is a 'roofless room' with its own jacuzzi and fireplace, and a penthouse, for a bit more.

Don't come here for a quick overnight stay. You can check in as early as noon, and use the facilities on your departure day. 3-4 days is about right, though some stay as long as a week.

There is horseback riding on First Nations land less than twenty minutes away, cycling along the old Keetle Valley railway line, and of course the two swimming lakes. Vaseux Lake 10 miles to the south has reknowned bass fishing, and Apex and Mt. Baldy ski areas are easy drives. There are scores of wineries- it seems you are on a pilgrims' trail listening to the ardent discussion of best merlots and rieslings at breakfast....

So take your time, as we did. The place is unforgettable.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to God's Mountain Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about God's Mountain Estate

Address: 4898 Lakeside / Eastside Rd., Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — God's Mountain Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your God's Mountain Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
God`s Mountain Estate Hotel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage God's Mountain Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.