We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back next year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Motel

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Motel to your Saves list
Flamingo Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2387 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6E8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 hotels in Penticton
Mission, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We will be back next year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at the motel July 2013 for 6 nights. We arrived one night early and the owners were very accommodating to fit us in! The room was dated, but clean and had everything we needed! We stayed in a room with one queen bed, kitchen and pull out couch. The couch bed was ok for comfort, and the queen bed was fantastic. The pool was clean and wonderful. The owners would come and chat with us and make sure we had everything we needed. At night you could hear a pin drop it was so quiet. Really the only complaint was that the Wi Fi sucked!! But we survived , we were on holidays anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed here many times before and always liked it, that's why we came back so many times, but in future we will drive by as there are much better deals for your money elsewhere, everywhere, we checked. Sorry but that's just the way it is. We spent six days here recently and that's our last. Yes the place is still clean and friendly but the prices are just too high for what you get. Its time to do a mid week price adjustment and then maybe the customers might become more plentiful. We didn't sleep very well either, barely at all. If Penticton peaks again like in the 80's and 90's then the value for money for this motel would be better but right now there are good deals around everywhere, except maybe on long weekends and festivals when the crowds come back to Penticton for these mini periods of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Veru cheap this Motel is confortable enough to spend one night after a very long day travelling aroung all of this fabulous valley!! Everything is clean and even if the woman at the desk is not very smiling... :) there is nothing wrong to say...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My daughter and I were driving back from Vancouver and everything in Kelowna was full. We
decided to stop in Penticton and booked the Flamingo at the last minute, knowing from the reviews it was budget but should serve the purpose. Its a good location - not close to the water but
you can drive there easily. The pool there is a good size and well kept - no hot tub, however.
The room was very basic - kitchenette was fine. The pull out couch was dreadful for anyone wanting a good night sleep. The main bedroom bed wasn't much better. The door did not close properly and it actually opened in the middle of the night - thankfully there was a chain on it or
it would have opened right up into the room with the pull out couch! Budget so can't complain but would stay closer to the beach the next time and spend more on a hotel with a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Actually quite quiet - liked lower floor for moving stuff in and out without climbing stairs and par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were very pleased with the motel and would definitely stay there again . We were 4 adults travelling together . The motel was very clean and equiped with everything we needed in the kitchen . We had a separate bedroom as well as a double bed in the kitchen area . Maid service was very good . The location is very good - walking distance for most things one would need . The only inconvenience was the walking distance to the beach - about 30 minutes. If you don't mind taking the car to the beach , it would be a short drive . The pool area was quite good -very clean and convenient .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had the apartment suite and were impressed at how large it was. It was a little dated but was very clean and comfortable. The AC worked very well. Pool and BBQ areas were very well maintained. The owners were nice and chatty. It is only 5min from the south beach and is within walking distance of a mall. Nice little place and would come back again.

P.S. They do have a ridgid 7 day cancelation policy but they are upfront about it. It is a small business and they have to protect themselves. If you want to be able to cancel on short notice you should probably stay at one of the more expensive chain hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

"We have stayed at the Flamingo Motel four times so far and plan to be there again next year. It's a small and quiet motel which is exactly what I look for when I leave the city and go on a vacation. The service is always impeccable. We feel like we are part of their (the owners) family whenever we are there. They help us unpack the vehicle when we arrive and pack the vehicle when we leave. Amazing! They replace any dishes and utensils when we ask. When light bulbs and small appliances burn out, they are replaced with no delay. Rooms are cleaned daily and clean towels are always supplied. I love that, especially with daily use of their pool. There is never any hesitation when I ask for something. There is a shopping mall with a grocery store and a liquor store around the corner. How cool is that when you need something quickly for the BBQ on the grounds. There is also a pub within walking distance, but not too close to experience any noise. Kris and her husband have make our visits warm and welcoming. I couldn't ask for anything more in the service, the cleanliness, and the location."

Room Tip: The south and west side has more shade in the late afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 2387 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6E8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Penticton
Flamingo Motel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.