We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking for next year already :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Resort to your Saves list
Barefoot Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   4145 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6J7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Booking for next year already :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Came with a group of 15 girls 1 boy adults. We all really enjoyed our stay and everyone is on for next summer. Yes you are next to the airport but we did not find this to be an issue at all. The staff are so lovely and helpful. The food in the restaurant was also good. The showers are clean and run for ages. We are quite a noisy group and when it came to 11pm quiet time in the camp site the staff helped us over to the beach and set us up for two of the funniest nights I think I have ever had. We had a fire pit music and the security was amazing even joined in. I felt very safe on the beach and there was even wash rooms. It was very close to glamping. Very close to everything and a stones throw from the beach. Here is to next year thanks Barefoot

Room Tip: State if your a family or young group they split the two up so noise is a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Joanne K,

Thanks for taking the time to review Barefoot. It was great having your group here with us!

The beach at night sure is a great option for creating some great memories with friends. Thanks again for visiting and we'll see you again next season!

Max Picton
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We normally camp at provincial and state parks, but decided to visit Penticton too late to get a reservation in any of the nearby provincial parks. Barefoot Beach is nice for what it is, but it doesn't compare to what we're used to. It's a big grassy field with lots of poplar trees. The shade is wonderful, but there's zero privacy. At least when we were there everyone was tent camping and seemed to respect their neighbours. People were generally pretty quiet. The grass was well-kept and it was nice to be able to walk around our site in bare feet and not get dusty or muddy. The beach access was close. The staff were friendly and helpful. The one beef we had was that the otherwise nice washroom and shower facilities were only cleaned once a day and no one seemed to check on them until the following morning. Paper towels ran out or the roll ended up on the floor and a toilet was clogged all day, even after pointing it out to staff. We also used one of the washing machines in the laundry and our clothes came out dirtier than when we put them in and smelling horrific. Oh...and Barefoot Beach is RIGHT next to the airport runway. Turboprops start landing at 6 am, so sleeping much past that is pretty much out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi IslandPadre,

Thanks for your review of Barefoot.

We definitely aren't going to be the same experience as a provincial campground - being a city campground right in the middle of the action assures that. We do offer quite a few amenities that create the "resort" feel that you won't find in a provincial campground though.

I'm surprised to hear about the washroom concerns, we take a lot of pride in maintaining a clean environment here and that certainly doesn't sound like our staff to ignore a clogged toilet. We have afternoon staff who make checks periodically on their condition and I'm not sure how that would have slipped through.

With the laundry, as it is used exclusively by the guests, I couldn't say what someone washed before you that may have caused the problem you experienced. I will say though that our staff does run a cleaning cycle on them once a week to ensure that they are kept in clean and sanitary condition.

We hope that you might consider us again and that we could have the chance to turn the "Not Bad" review into an excellent one!

Thanks,

Max Picton
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here last August (2013) for a week and absolutely enjoyed it. We could not wait to come back again this year. We had two weeks holidays this year and planned on staying one week at Barefoot Campground then making our way back to Calgary, stopping along the way at some other spots. We ended up staying the full two weeks at Barefoot Campground because we loved it so much!
The staff are very helpful and friendly.
Roy keeps the campground in tip top shape and takes the time to stop and chat with the campers to see if there are any concerns, which he immediately addresses.
Adrien keeps the washroom, shower and laundry facilities in very clean condition. We even saw her back in the evening cleaning, when their evening cleaning staff did not show up. This is along with her housekeeping duties of keeping the yurts clean.
Kerri-Lynn, at the front desk, was very accommodating when we asked to extend our stay. We did not have to move sites but we were able to stay set up where we were.
We found our site to be very spacious and well shaded. There are plenty of big mature trees within the campground so it's not hard to find shade. Since we stayed for two weeks, it was nice to have laundry facilities on site. We also appreciate that the campground is environmentally conscious by providing recycling bins in the campground and on the beach.
It is very nice to have the tunnel under the highway to access the private beach. We found the beach to be very clean and well maintained. We noticed the garbages being emptied several times a day. While on the beach its a must to visit the Sandy Feet Cafe for a delicious hot or iced coffee! Another must is a visit to the Second Scoop Creamery Ice Cream Shop - Biggest ice cream cone ever! Our favourite thing in the evening was to get an ice cream cone and take a walk on the beach. We could enjoy some alone time or join in at one of the three fire pits located on the beach for the campers to enjoy in the evening. Having these helps keep the noise level down in the campground and they are patrolled by security to keep everything safe. Security also patrols the campground at night which makes this a very safe and secure campground.
We plan on returning next year and highly recommend The Barefoot Campground and Resort to anyone looking for a very nice family friendly campground!

Darrell & Becky
Calgary, Alberta

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi beckyanddarrell,

Thanks for your amazing review of Barefoot! It's people like you that really make showing up for work in the morning easy. The staff loved having you and we are looking forward to your next visit again next year!

Thanks for becoming a part of the Barefoot Family!

Max Picton
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Me and my family spent a week in august here for a little getaway. The staff was great and always made sure we were happy and well organized. The location was perfect with there being the beach and stores at walking distance. Our kids loved the "Sunday fun day" activities on the Sunday afternoon, that barefoot put on. The grounds were very clean as well as the bathrooms and beach. The noise from the road was not any worse then if you lived on a semi busy street, but with the kids playing and with everyone laughing and having a good time it was drowned out. I strongly recommend this resort for anyone who want to be well looked after and have an almost Caribbean-like experience in the Okanogan.

Room Tip: All campsites are great, but the Yurts are amazing. In Barefoot's words " escape the conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi ColeKane,

Thanks for the review of Barefoot.

I'm glad to hear that you had a chance to participate in our Sunday Funday - it sure is a great reason to extend a visit by an extra day!

We will certainly look forward to having you back again next year!

Max Picton
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stopped over in pentiction during our road trip and decided to stay at the barefoot to camp because no yurts were available.

The first night we were beside 2 huge party groups that partied well into the night. I spoke with Roy the following day an he resolved everything very quickly including moving us over to the family section. We ended up staying for another 2 days. And had no issues. Great staff not just at the campground but at all of their amenities.

Tons of stuff to do, private beach. Great food at the restaurant,cafe, ice cream parlor. A little piece of paradise and a get away from the "normal" camping experience. Great bathrooms and coin showers. We had an amazing time and look forward to going back next year!!

Make sure you try out everything they have to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Dieselcamper,

Thanks for the great review of Barefoot!

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed all of our amenities and are quite looking forward to having you return next year!

Max Picton
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Friends and I were on a backpacking trip through BC and booked a site last minute at the Barefoot Beach Resort. We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness of the sites and bathrooms, easy access to the beach (loved the tunnel), beach restaurant, and friendly staff. There was some noise from the airport but nothing that kept us up at night! I'd like to come back and try a yurt next summer!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Katie M,

Thanks for reviewing our property.

We are certainly glad that you found us and look forward to having you come back and experience one of our yurts!

Max Picton
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This campground is not horrible, but has very little privacy and not many trees. It is right next to the main highway. The sites are all very close together and you can hear every word your neighbours say. .The pros- fairly nice bathrooms (coin showers but private and pretty clean), just a short walk to a beach (although again- this is a beach that is about 20 feet from the highway). This was not a horrible experience, but I can't say I would stay again! I find the name somewhat deceiving as well- I thought it would feel more like a "resort".

Room Tip: Maybe ask if you can be placed near some vacant spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxPicton, Owner at Barefoot Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi GBCalgy,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property.

I hope that you weren't mislead by the name - we do consider ourselves a resort since we offer everything from restaurants and coffee shops to retail shopping and toy rentals. We are not simply offering our guests accommodations.

As for the privacy, unless you arrive on a full and busy weekend we are always happy to relocate our guests to quieter areas if you prefer a little more space from your neighbours.

Thanks again for the review and thanks for visiting,

Max Picton
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Resort

Address: 4145 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6J7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Beach Resort is a brand new unique, eco-friendly development featuring 11 nightly/weekly rentals in amazing units known as yurts & 130 campsites. In addition to these units, guests will find the resort full of amenities such as water sport rentals, restaurants, markets and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.