We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to Eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bisto 535 & from Athena's Kitchen - CLOSED

Bisto 535 & from Athena's Kitchen
535 Main Street | Suite 107, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5C9, Canada
(778) 476-7535
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Tapas, Gastropub, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Newly opened wine bar & kitchen featuring 16 wines by the glass and an extensive wine bottle menu. Award winning Head Chef Michel Leger's globally inspired food menu features tapas, great salads, sandwiches, juicy burgers, CAB steaks and signature mains. Enjoy!
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Friendly and home cooked meals at a reasonable price. Large variety and breakfast is served all day. The food was awesome and you get lots to eat. Its a small restaurant, seats about 25 people,so come early.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stellar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just had to comment on this wonderful little cafe. We come here often as the food is all homemade, high quality, delicious with generous portions. Athena the Greek is delightful as is Michel the bistro chef extraordinaire. Athena's Greek desserts are to die for. Breakfast is stellar with a side of homemade baked beans even. Customer service doesn't get any better than this!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food/service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This restaurant was suggested by a friend, and it did go beyond meeting our expectations. Prices were very reasonable. The 2 can dine for 29.99 is an exceptional price for the quality/portion of food. A true mom & pop establishment. Wonderful soups, entres and desserts. Have been twice this month, and will be happy to be a 'regular'. Loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
“best Greek food in Penticton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

we are always warmly welcomed when we come to this restaurant. I have been here for a month and visited 3 times already. We bring all of our guests here and the food and warmth of the owners never dissapoint. The portions are huge and delicious made to order and very fresh. Best spinach pie ever and the pasrries are delicious. I will be very sad when I have to go home to Regina at the end of summer. Once you try this place, the other Greek restaurants on Main St. fade into the background. come, enjoy, hear about the Greek customs and foods and feel like family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unknown Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I think that Bistro 535 / from Athena's Kitchen is a sort of unknown gem in Penticton. Athena and Michel are incredibly friendly and inviting people - easy to talk to and un-shy about customer service and checking up on you.

While there is some differing opinions on the atmosphere, I actually appreciate that the dining area is simple and clean, uncluttered and small/intimate. It is unfortunate that the place is rarely ever full when we go there to eat, considering the quality of the food - which is pretty extraordinary, when you consider the prices.

For a long time we were avid breakfast eaters - the Eggs Benedict is up there with some of the best I have had and best in town. The French toast with fresh fruit is hard to top, and they offer traditional breakfasts as well. Lunch can range from soup or salad and sandwich. The weekly features are good and the two can dine special is an incredible deal. Food is tasty and homemade.

Definitely recommend this place - especially Pentictonites looking for something new/different.

I do have to say, it is easy to walk by this place (I've seen people do it, I've heard of people doing it) and for some reason isn't not immediately apparent where it is - but take the extra time to find it, it's worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bisto 535 & from Athena's Kitchen also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bisto 535 & from Athena's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.