We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real meaning of bed and breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Royal Bed and Breakfast
1929 Sandstone Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 8Y6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save $$ book direct
Ranked #10 of 24 Penticton B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The real meaning of bed and breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was our first experience in a B&B, and we decided not to visit one again.
There was not service at all!!! As the name says, there was a bed, and there was breakfast.
The website says that you will fell like a king.. We felt like we paid a lot to stay in someone’s house.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
We were sad to read that your first B&B stay was not what you had imagined it would be. It is a challenge to anticipate what each of our guests needs will be. And apparently we failed in your case. Please accept our sincere apologies.

After opening our home for to travelers for over 10 years now, we have certainly entertained quite a variety of guests. It has been our experience that most guests appreciate us not hovering around them constatly. Once we have checked them in and toured them through the guest areas, we try to give them privacy. In the event that they need some sort of “service”, we provide two telephone numbers to contact us. And of course, since our living quarters are in the house, we are usually not far away to look after things. Too bad you did not make us aware of your special needs. Had we known, we certainly would have made every effort to accommodate you.

Now that some time has passed, perhaps you may have reconsidered another stay in a B&B. If so, please do not hesitate to let your host know if you have special needs or “services” to be rendered. Typically your bed and breakfast host will provide spotlessly clean guest areas, and a deliciously hot breakfast. We also generally take the time at check in, and during breakfast hours to enjoy a bit of social interchange, sharing local tourist information. And for extra special occasions where a bit of “special service” may be required – please consider the packages offered at the B&B. For example, here at Royal B&B, we have a great Romance package that provides a complimentary bottle of wine, flowers in the room, massages, and a dinner certificate at a local restaurant.

Concerning your comment about paying a lot to stay in someone's house. Don't forget that a B&B is someone's house. They vary in size and style. This is typically what draws most guest to staying at a B&B rather than in a hotel. Thankfully in today's world you can research your B&B on the internet before you make your reservation. You will find lots of pictures, and guest reviews, as well as prices. We do suggest you research the areas you are visiting to find the accommodation that most matches your lifestyle, tastes, and budget. There should be no unexpected disappointments when you arrive.

In your case – since you arrived with your family, I can assume you would have stayed in our Family Suite (since we do not book tour 1 bedroom units to families). In this case, you were provided with much more than a bed and a breakfast. Our family suite, consists of 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and a designated TV/sitting room (with a total of over 500 square feet of living space), plus full access to our outside deck and yard. With 2 large screen TV', Wireless Internet, hot tub and more – we feel the Family Suite is priced fairly. In fact we find it to be our most popular unit during the summer months, as it is very difficult for families to find suitable accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

WE spent four memorable nights in ric and barbs beautiful home and enjoyed every minute of it. Gained a few pounds due to the breakfasts barb served up and enjoyed her great sense of humour that she shared with us. glass of wine in the hot tub before bed and then a very quiet, blissful sleep in the king size bed.
Would highly recomend to anyone wanting to be pampered and enjoys a little luxury on their vacation.
hope coco's doing o.k.

Room Tip: saw two rooms, both were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the "extra pounds"... perhaps next time you will request a low cal menu!

Coco is still with us. He is having a very difficult time getting around, but seems happy. By the way, he too has put on a few extra pounds! On another note, our little female Shih Tzu, was attacked by 2 coyotees a couple of months ago. Well.... it was her fault - she chased after them, and they couldn't resist that tender morsel! Amazingly she got away from them and her stitches are all healed up now. We are so happy to still have her!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops B.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 wonderful nights at the Royal Bed and Breakfast as part of a 'wine tour' get-away. Barb is a gracious hostess --- and not to mention a wonderful cook! We thoroughly enjoyed her delicious breakfasts! Barb provides use of a small fridge in which we placed our cheese/meats and a wine fridge. The room we had (Emperor's Delight) was lovely; although it did not have a 'view' of the lake --- but one could enjoy that from her large deck. All-in-all, the Royal Bed and Breakfast was a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Glad you had a "wonderful restful 2 night stay" despite the unusually stormy August weather (as depicted in your picture).... Next time, lets hope for more sunshine!.

And, if you want to see that view from your room, let us know when you book your stay with us, and we will reserve the King's Palace for you. In that room you will be gently awaken each day with the morning sun overlooking Okanagan lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Beautiful, spacious, clean and quiet accommodation with breakfast fit for a king !
We have been to a lot of B & B and Royal B & B is definitely one of the very best.
Delicious breakfast with so many variety of dishes - fresh scones and fresh apricot pie right out of the oven! Yummy sausages and crepes, fresh fruits, juice, coffee/tea. The breakfast menu changes every day! We feel very spoiled by Barb. We highly recommend Royal B &B to our family and friends. Definitely great value! Thank you Barb!

Room Tip: Ask Barb! From a romantic get away to a holiday with family/friends, there will be a lovely room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Wow! What a lovely recommendation. We have been in this business for over 9 years now and recognize that our guests are our best advertisers. It is only through such recommendations such as yours that we are able to stay in business, especially through the past couple of years.

Thank you, and all of our guests, for making our experience hosting Penticton's visitors a most enjoyable one. Not only do we get to meet interesting people from all over the world, but we truly enjoy sharing what we have with people who appreciate our efforts.

Looking forward to accommodating you and your friends again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, and we weren't quite sure of what to expect. We were a little surprised when we pulled up to what looked like a regular house in a quiet suburban neighborhood! I'm happy to say that our stay at the Royal B&B far exceeded any of our hotel experiences. The host, Barb, was very friendly and welcoming. She, along with her two little dogs, made us feel at home right away. And she makes a mean breakfast! Breakfast both mornings were served on pretty china plates, with coffee, juice, freshly baked scones, fresh fruit, and a hot savory dish. Delicious and very filling, a fantastic start to our mornings.

Our room, the Emperor's Delight, was huge and immaculate. The king sized bed was made up with high quality, high thread count sheets, down pillows and a down comforter. It was so comfortable. The bathroom featured a large, deep jacuzzi tub and a shower with two shower heads. There was also a gas fireplace, a very large TV with HD digital cable, and two comfortable lounge chairs to enjoy watching TV in. There was also wifi available, though the signal was somewhat weak. There was even a little netbook in the room for us to use, in case we didn't bring our own laptop or smartphone. There were plenty of towels, including two nice terry robes hanging in the closet, and little bottles of soap, shampoo and lotion were supplied.

The only thing I felt negatively about is the bathroom sink faucet... it was really tricky to adjust the water temperature and you had to wait several minutes for the water to come out cold.

The host and her husband live in the downstairs of the house, so we had full use of the living room and the back patio and beautiful yard. There was a hot tub and a trampoline outside (I especially enjoyed the trampoline!), and a gorgeous view of the mountains.

We really enjoyed our time here. I hope this review is helpful to anyone who is considering the Royal B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalBarb, Owner at Royal Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
For those who have opportunity to visit a variety of Bed and Breakfasts on a regular basis, they will quickly tell you that each one has it's own unique twist to it. For the adventurous the element of surprise is part of the package. Many people prefer to know exactly what to expect before they arrive. This is where the detailed descriptions of the experiences of others comes in very handy. Thank you for presenting your perspective of our B&B. We feel you have given a fair description of your room.

I was especially glad to hear that your "first time" experience at a B&B exceeded your expectations. On a side note - for future stays with us, or elsewhere.... remember if there is anything that seems to be of concern - always let your host know right away. Perhaps something can be done to ensure your stay proves to be more to your preference.

For example, you mentioned the long wait for the cold water in your bathroom sink. This particular room is located some distance from the hot water tank, so we have equipped the room with a small pump that circulated hot water to give our guests relatively instant hot water for your showers. We have found that most guests prefer not to have to wait for the shower to heat up. Unfortunately, this means that in order to dispense very cold water - there can be a bit of a wait at the sink. Had you mentioned you would have preferred the "instant cold", we could have easily switched the hot water circulating pump off for you.

As I have often told our guests - please if there is anything that you are not totally happy with - tell me. If you have had a good experience in our B&B - tell the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed at the Royal B&B in Penticton during July 2011. The location is great and the facilities are simply superb! The owner, Barb was very friendly and made the stay for five adults very enjoyable. The breakfast menu each day varied but was first class and food was unbelievable, you just can't get any better. Bedrooms were modern, very clean with excellent bathroom facilities and very comfortable with HD TV, Wi-Fi, etc. I strongly recommend staying at this location for your next trip, I know we will.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We spent three nights here while doing a tour of the local wineries. What a delightful place to stay! We were truly treated like Royalty. We had the use of the family room, the patio with a fabulous view of Penticton and Naramata, and the hot tub. Breakfast each day was different and delicious. Will definitely return to enjoy this wonderful place and our gracious host.
Pauline H.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1929 Sandstone Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 8Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast located in a quiet suburb just a 5 minute drive from Okanagan beach, the South Okanagan Events Center, Penticton Trade and Convention Center, Downtown Penticton, Penticton Golf and Country Club, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.