We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro

Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro
1350 Naramata Road, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
250-493-6274
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 158 restaurants in Penticton
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Riddle Road
Description: The Bistro features delicious, seasonal, locally-inspired menus from our Executive Chef Rob Cordonier. Chef Cordonier is known for his creativity and passion in the kitchen. Be sure to check out our spring menu.Please contact us should you have any questions or concerns, or to inquire about booking an event.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good and varied menu with good value wines. Service was helpful but a little slow and slightly overwhelmed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    74
    37
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food. But you're paying for the beautiful view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A lovely location, no doubt. Service was very good. Beautiful outdoor patio....the upper patio is especially nice.

I ordered the lamb sausage and my partner ordered a prawn salad. The prawns were ok.....definitely not overcooked. It would have been nice if they had been marinaded. The lamb sausage was very tasty.......but really tiny. Later we had a delicious cheese plate (we were still hungry)......$22 for such a small amount of cheese.

Might go back for 'special occasions', but it's not my thing for a regular dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went here with a group of friends. We had the cheese plate appetizer and brioche to start. I had a lamb sausage and falafel which was very tasty. Dessert was divine- a chocolate mousse and a lemon tart with basil sauce. Would get top marks but when we called in the afternoon for a reservation they told us they could only fit us in at 8pm if it wasn't raining because then we could go on the patio. We called at 7 and they said they had room for us at 8. When we arrived at 8 there was one rowdy group of about 10 outside and then about 2 tables with people inside... clearly they had lots of room for us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Go back here every year...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We go here every year when we do our annual wine tour through Naramata. They have a couple of my favorite white wines here, and a great little quiet restaurant in the back. Always great service and excellent food, and always paired with their wines. We love this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Loved Hillside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful setting and excellent food. My husband and I shared two appetizers (seared tuna and elk charcuterie), each had a meal (lamb sausage and prime rib) and a couple of desserts (cheesecake) and all of it was excellent. Some other people at our table ordered pasta and did not love it, but we loved it and would definitely go back when we're in the area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.