We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro

Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro
1350 Naramata Road, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
250-493-6274
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 157 restaurants in Penticton
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Riddle Road
Description: The Bistro features delicious, seasonal, locally-inspired menus from our Executive Chef Rob Cordonier. Chef Cordonier is known for his creativity and passion in the kitchen. Be sure to check out our spring menu.Please contact us should you have any questions or concerns, or to inquire about booking an event.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed the pork cheeks (sorry, but I hear that the restaurant is planning on discontinuing this dish) which was outstanding. I would travel from Vancouver to have this dish again. The bistro serves only wines produced on site, which is good and bad. Good because you can taste the wines paired with the wonderful food and bad because some of the wines are not up to par with the quality of the food.
Enjoy your meal on the rooftop patio and get a panoramic view of Lake Okanagan and west side mountains over the Naramata vineyards.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    74
    37
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Stunning View, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Make a reservation, and ask to be on the upstairs patio. The view is outstanding. We tried a number of things on the menu and received a few items that were not on the menu from the kitchen and every single dish was excellent. This is a bistro, not white table cloth fine dining, so the dishes are somewhat simple, but they are prepared to perfection and very delicious. This was without a doubt the best meal I have had in the Okanagan.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best food and service in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hillside offers some of the best wine we tasted on the Naramata bench. What brings us back every few nights during our time in Penticton is the wonderful food and service we always receive at the restaurant. In the few years of visits we have never had a bad meal. Everything is tasty, cooked to perfection, presentation the best! Dessert is so delicious! Well done to the chef and your exceptional servers. We will always be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“View, wine, & delectable lunch on the top level patio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After having some of their Syrah in a local restaurant we decided to drop in for lunch while wine tasting on the Naramata bench. Ask to sit on the top level patio if it is a sunny day if you want the view. THE BEST LUNCH in the Okanagan valley. I had the salad with chèvre, fruit, lettuce, and apple vinaigrette. On the side I ordered one of the cheese specials. It was so very very delicious. The boys had their gourmet hamburger which includes ground up italian meats - so moist and flavorful. Oh and the view of the lake and the mountains!
A memorable occasion on a sunny afternoon in the Okanagan.

P.S. We also liked the wine, especially the Syrah.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have been to the Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro a couple of times before this so we knew that the food and service would be good. However I feel compelled to write a review as everything was over the top amazing on the this visit!

The service was excellent from beginning to end - the wait staff attentive without being pushy.

I had a glass of the Pinot and my husband had a glass of the rose. Both were great sipping wines.

For an appetizer I had the spiced carrot and local apple soup and my husband had the Caesar salad - both were excellent. My soup was spicy like it says which I like but be aware.

For the main course we both had the Braised Fraser Valley pork cheeks. Apparently it is one of their signature dishes and I cannot say enough good about it - the pork was melt in your mouth and the blue cheese, pecans and candied pear were a great taste combination.

For dessert we had the honey cheesecake and the lemon buttermilk pudding cake. And finished of the meal with great cherry hill brewed coffee.

This was a thoroughly enjoyable experience from beginng to end. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great meal at not over the top prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Estate Winery and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.