We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penticton Buffet

Penticton Buffet
2987 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G3, Canada
250-492-8338
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 143 Restaurants in Penticton
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Summerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Went for a quick lunch on the 22nd. All the smorg items were fresh and a great variety to choose from. Everything we tried was excellent. I would definately reccomend this place and will definately be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    7
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I've eaten crapy Chinese food this place in my bottom 3. We were worried reading there boast of being voted the best well if this true then this place suffers. Avoid....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keremeos, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Much better than before”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had not eaten there since last fall, because the food seemed to be getting nastier the last few times. We just broke down and decided to try it again, and were pleasantly surprised at the changes to the dishes. Almost everything, including the deserts seemed to look and taste better than under previous management. In fact, when we first saw the buffet, we commented,"it looks way better, I wonder if they changed owners? They at least changed the cook" All the items with meat now actually have lean meat, not just deep fried gristle and fat. There is more selection as well, at least at lunch(we have not tried their dinner menu yet) and they have added some Dim Sum items. The restaurant did seem cleaner as well, as another reviewer had mentioned, even though they did not do a renovation. Looks like my Chinese buffet restraint days are over.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“We should have known”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We were in a panic for a quick meal after our son's hockey practice. We did not get in until a bit after 7, and the place was almost empty. Most of the food was dried out. Sauces all had skins... I could not find enough I was willing to eat. I had one plate, my wife stuck to salads... At $16 per adult it was dollar for dollar the absolute worst meal I've ever had. We won't ever go back at that time (if ever). Two hot and ready pizzas next time from little Caesars is cheaper an one adult's buffet - and it will be edible.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
“New Management, Much Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Since the new management and cook in 2013, the food is much tastier than before. The rice is actually fried, meat and vegetables are fresh and abundant, and dishes are clearly prepared with care. The Kung-Po chicken, for example, is super tasty.
Also, the place is cleaner than before and the staff much friendlier.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penticton Buffet also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Penticton Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penticton Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.