We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Indian ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine

Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine
510 Main St., Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5C7, Canada (Formerly Naveli)
778-476-5665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 143 Restaurants in Penticton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian, Vegetarian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: TASTE THE REAL INDIAN FOOD. We’ll make each dish to your liking, from mild to extra spicy and everything in between.Please come and join us for lunch or dinner. We also provide Takeout and Delivery
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Top Indian ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Having eaten in a number of curry houses around the world this place compares with the best. Once we'd overcome the lime pickle / mango pickle confusion (it's an essential with popadams for me), it was straight onto the best tikka masala which was cooked at medium spice to perfection.

Thank you, we miss decent Indian food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    31
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place is just great - excellent environment - subtle understated calm and just super

The best korma out of the uk, rice light and fluffy, naan soft and tasty - mixed grill fabulous

I would highly recommend this curry house without a single doubt

Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I am amazed at all the great reviews for this restaurant. I agree that it is good value for your money, and the meat in the dishes was very tender, but our butter chicken totally lacked the fragrant indian spices I expect to find in the dish. It tasted more like tomato soup over chicken. I have had much tastier butter chicken from the freezer section of specialty grocery stores. Our Naan bread was warm at best. It would have been much tastier if it had been served piping hot. The lamb rogan josh had nice spices, and the raita was good as well.

The restaurant was quite busy, but I think its because there just is not much competition for in the indian restaurant in our town. If I want full flavoured Indian food, I will still make the drive to the Dawatt in Kelowna where I am always pleased with my meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best food in Penticton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My favourite restaurant in Penticton!! The mango chicken and coconut naan are so delicious!!! Great service and affordable pricing with amazing food make this place the best of Penticton!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very efficient, friendly staff at Lachi. The food was perfect, every bite! Try the Indian white wine, it is exquisite and uniquely different from BC wines. Will return again soon. It would have been nice to have a little privacy, as the tables are set up in one smallish room.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lachi - Fine Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.