We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay with wonderful staff and perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penticton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Sands Resort Motel
Save
You added Golden Sands Resort Motel to your Saves list
1028 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value stay with wonderful staff and perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've stayed here a few times and I think it's the best value in town. It has a perfect location with the beach right there and it's next door to a couple of nice restaurants/patios.

The staff is wonderful- always willing to go the extra mile to ensure that your every need is taken care of promptly. The amenities in the rooms are all in good working order- from fridge and coffee maker to full kitchen in the larger suites. The shower is better than mine at home since it turns out hot water right away. And a couple of BBQs that are in the common area beside their heated pool... all this makes for a great summer vacation spot for a weekend or more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

A little late with my review. Stayed in August, 2011. We had a one bedroom suite at the start, and after 1 night, with the 6 of us, we wanted to upgrade. I went to the manager, who said they had a two bedroom available for the rest of out stay. It was perfect. Even facing the lake. I went to do laundry, but it was being hogged by some other visitor, so the Manager offered to do our laundry for us in her private machines..couldn't believe it. She even folded ALL of it. I can't ever see myself staying anywhere else when we visit Penticton. Perfect.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the lake, but I think because of the location, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadboro Bay
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Whenever I am in Penticton this is where I stay. Heidi the manager and her colleagues all do a great job of keeping a rather mature motel in good working order, it's always clean and safe. The beach is Right There! The pool too. BBQ's in the yard, close to local attractions and restaurants, yet away from the traffic and congestion of main street. Location and very good service bring me back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I spent an enjoyable Thanksgiving weekend at Golden Sands. The location is the best part with it being right across the street from the beach. The room 107 was very clean and the interior was up to date. It had a microwave and fridge as well as a full kitchen. Shower was hot and had good pressure. Locks were secure. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. Staff was friendly. Looks like there's a store built into it with beach supplies (towels, sand toys etc). I would return to the Golden Sands next time I was in Penticton.

Room Tip: I liked room 107. There's a few that are facing the road and but most are in the back away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Sands for the weekend, while attending the Jazz festival. This was our third stay here. We love the location, just across the street from the lake, close to parks, walking trails along the lakefront, and along the canal. It is walking distance (about 20 minutes along the lakefront) to the historic downtown where one can wander, sit at a sidewalk cafe and people watch or one can visit the very large open-air market on Main Street every Saturday morning. It is a great place for family stays, and young children can enjoy the beach, the adventure park one block away, or rent bikes, peddle carts or other summer activity equipment from a location two doors down.

It is also a perfect base to explore all the wineries in the region, do some tastings and pick up a few bottles of excellent estate wines.

The rooms are basic but have recently been upgraded. We always ask for one of the second floor kitchen units that has everything one needs for a short stay,including dishes. toaster, etc. We choose one facing the lake so that we can get up in the morning and have coffee on the deck and watch the joggers, walkers, early morning swimmers and just relax. There is a heated pool, a barbecue for guest use beside the pool and all the staff are friendly and very helpful in providing information about the town and activities.

This is excellent value for the money!!!

Room Tip: The front rooms, second floor are kitchenets and provide a view over the lake>
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort Motel

Address: 1028 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Penticton's Okanagan Beach across from the S.S. Sicamous paddle-wheeler. We offer standard rooms plus 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites. Seasonal specials are available. Eighty wineries are nearby. Wedding parties, sports teams & groups are welcome. Pets are OK. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.