We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rochester Resorts

Rochester Resorts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rochester Resorts to your Saves list
Rochester Resorts
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   970 Lakeshore Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“clean, quiet, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

we had a great stay at the little old rochester motel!
we booked 2 nights at the last minute on a long weekend. It was really reasonably priced so we didn't have high expectations and were a little worried that it might be really crappy. it wasn't!
our room/suite (second floor at the end of the row) was very clean and well cared for. it was a little beaten up but you can tell the owners really make an effort to keep things tidy and nice. (they were super sweet and helpful with breakfast recommendations and directions)
the room was huge and had a bedroom, living room with sofa bed, small kitchenette - everything anyone would need. for a long weekend the place was very quiet and well behaved. you can tell nothing gets past the owners and all night parties would not be encouraged! i sound like an old lady but i'm not. we just wanted a chill weekend to de-stress from work, a little beach time, a couple of beers and a comfy clean place to sleep in on saturday morning. that's exactly what we got.
it's in a great location, right across from the lake with a couple of decent places to eat a couple of doors away. It's a good jumping off point for some wine tasting on the bench too. All in all we were really happy with our choice and would recommend it to anyone. We would definitely go back and this time we'd make use of the bbq area.

Room Tip: ask for the one bedroom suites on the second floor. good light, they open right though for a nice br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you very much for the review folks. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at " the old Rochester " , and had the opportunity to relax and chill out with us. We do strive to ensure our rooms are clean and quiet, and family friendly. Delighted to hear you enjoyed the local restaurants and activities in Penticton, of which there are numerous, and welcome your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I loved the location but will not stay here again solely based on the fact that the man at the front desk was not welcoming at all! He was super grumpy and a bit rude. People in customer service need to be pleasant. It is simple. The rooms were danky. There were no lights in the room just a very dim lamp and the a/c did not work.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We stay here as a family tradition every year for over four years now. We will not be returning again. The first night was fine, but the second night my brother was in town to visit. He wanted to park in the parking lot and come in for a quick dinner for an hour or two.

The parking lot was completely empty except for for 4 cars (with about 12 empty spaces). My brother parked his car and immediately got berated by the manager for parking in the lot.

My brother tried to explain he was simply staying for a quick supper but was again rudely told to move his car off the property (at this time the entire street was blocked off for construction). Eventually he had to park 2 blocks away and walk back. The manager also went out of his way to actually call our room to complain about my brother and reinforce the no parking rule. He was completely rude and abusive.

Upon checking out of the motel, we approached the manager to ask for an explanation and they refused to apologize, blaming their actions because of some other guests from the night before.

Regardless, as return customers and after paying over $340 for the stay, we felt completely abused and our concerns ignored. They're in the wrong business. It's a HOSPITALITY industry.

We will never return and encourage others to avoid this place. There are many other places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
It is truly unfortunate your guest experience did not live up to your expectations, however that being said, it is clearly posted on our parking lot, and has been for years, on our and agency web listings, on our front counter in the office, and indeed on the guest registration form you signed when checking in, that we have guest parking for ONE vehicle per room, and all additional vehicles and visitors must park on surrounding streets. We also point this out to guests when registering, as we did in this particular case.
With ongoing street construction, and the increased number of visitors to the area at this time of year, the problem is compounded, and we have to ensure there is parking available for our room guests. Whether there appears to be open space or not at a given time is a moot point as guests come and go throughout the day, and night.

Having a truck drive in, and the driver hops out with a case of beer and heads for a room without our knowledge of who this person is, indeed raises a red flag, as we do our utmost to ensure ALL our guests have a clean, quiet and secure place to park and recharge for the next day, and the majority of comments we receive from new and repeat guests reinforce that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I first stayed in this hotel August 2012. We had a very bad experience that warranted a negative review on this site. I was later contacted by hotel management and was offered a free stay to make up for the experience, which I took advantage of in July 2013. I was wary of doing so, but my experience this time around was a complete polar opposite. The room was very clean, the management was especially accommodating, and for the location you cannot beat it. I was also given a peek at the newly renovated suite and it is absolutely gorgeous. Would definitely stay at this location again! Thanks all for the great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we will ensure to pass them along to our staff, and look forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Rochester last week and to sum up our stay in one word ... perfect!Our suite was sparkling clean and the kitchen had all the essentials (and more) that we needed. The location was perfect right across the beach. We enjoyed bbq'ing on the deck. The bbq's and tools were clean and ready for use. This will be the only place we stay at when we return to Penticton. John and Patty were very gracious and helpful in every way possible and they really go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Thank you, John and Patty, for making our little getaway so amazing! We'll see you again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We and our staff at the Rochester constantly strive to maintain cleanliness of the rooms and amenities, and provide a secure and enjoyable environment for all our valued guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Worst service ever and the owner is really rude. The rooms were so classic and old and smelled disgusting. The only good thing was the beach but it didn't help making this disgusting motel better. I'd rather sleep on the beach.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We pride ourselves in maintaining, clean, comfortable , newly renovated rooms for our new and repeat family and tourist guests. We neither encourage or condone excessive loud partying and noise which disturbs other guests in the motel, especially after quiet time, as noted on our signed registration form, nor do we allow unregistered guests after 10.00 PM, especially if indeed they are contributing to excessive noise, resulting in complaints from other guests. Additionally, we have a reasonable expectation the registered guest will treat other guests and the property in a respectful manner, including placing discarded food waste, ie:Tandoori chicken wing bones, in the appropriate containers, as opposed to throwing them over the railing onto the parking lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The managers of this accommodation are working hard to upgrade the facilities and welcome their guests. While not fancy, the place is clean and well maintained. The location is outstanding - across from the beach. Overall it is good value. It is obvious, there are an increasing number of return guests who appreciate the care and pride the managers have in the facility.

Room Tip: Could not delete the note on the swimming pool - see above. There is no pool, it the beach is wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rochester Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Resorts

Address: 970 Lakeshore Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rochester Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Rochester Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Resort Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochester Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.