We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay after a bad experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rochester Resorts

Save Saved
You added Rochester Resorts to your Saves list
Rochester Resorts
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rochester Resorts
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   970 Lakeshore Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 hotels in Penticton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay after a bad experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I first stayed in this hotel August 2012. We had a very bad experience that warranted a negative review on this site. I was later contacted by hotel management and was offered a free stay to make up for the experience, which I took advantage of in July 2013. I was wary of doing so, but my experience this time around was a complete polar opposite. The room was very clean, the management was especially accommodating, and for the location you cannot beat it. I was also given a peek at the newly renovated suite and it is absolutely gorgeous. Would definitely stay at this location again! Thanks all for the great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we will ensure to pass them along to our staff, and look forward to your return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    4
    0
    7
See reviews for
1
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Rochester last week and to sum up our stay in one word ... perfect!Our suite was sparkling clean and the kitchen had all the essentials (and more) that we needed. The location was perfect right across the beach. We enjoyed bbq'ing on the deck. The bbq's and tools were clean and ready for use. This will be the only place we stay at when we return to Penticton. John and Patty were very gracious and helpful in every way possible and they really go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Thank you, John and Patty, for making our little getaway so amazing! We'll see you again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We and our staff at the Rochester constantly strive to maintain cleanliness of the rooms and amenities, and provide a secure and enjoyable environment for all our valued guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Worst service ever and the owner is really rude. The rooms were so classic and old and smelled disgusting. The only good thing was the beach but it didn't help making this disgusting motel better. I'd rather sleep on the beach.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochesterresort, General Manager at Rochester Resorts, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We pride ourselves in maintaining, clean, comfortable , newly renovated rooms for our new and repeat family and tourist guests. We neither encourage or condone excessive loud partying and noise which disturbs other guests in the motel, especially after quiet time, as noted on our signed registration form, nor do we allow unregistered guests after 10.00 PM, especially if indeed they are contributing to excessive noise, resulting in complaints from other guests. Additionally, we have a reasonable expectation the registered guest will treat other guests and the property in a respectful manner, including placing discarded food waste, ie:Tandoori chicken wing bones, in the appropriate containers, as opposed to throwing them over the railing onto the parking lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The managers of this accommodation are working hard to upgrade the facilities and welcome their guests. While not fancy, the place is clean and well maintained. The location is outstanding - across from the beach. Overall it is good value. It is obvious, there are an increasing number of return guests who appreciate the care and pride the managers have in the facility.

Room Tip: Could not delete the note on the swimming pool - see above. There is no pool, it the beach is wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here as part of a bachelorette weekend. Staff (owners?) were very warm and welcoming. Good value and located right across from the beach. walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. Rooms were ready for us early and spotlessly clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My business requires me to work away from home. I've stayed in a lot of motels from northern Alberta to BC and I can say the rooms in this motel are very clean, location is great ( right across from the beach) very affordable but most importantly the managers, John and Patty , are great people. I felt very welcome there just like home. I would highly recommend staying at the Rochester Resort and look forward to staying there again when business or vacation brings me back to Penticton.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed from September 19 to the 23, 2012 and had read some of the previous reviews before I got to the Hotel. The Lady at the front desk was pleasant from the second we entered the door. We had rented 2 rooms and we were a little needy because my friend was getting married on the beach and required some of the hotels services. We were helped above and beyond what we asked for. The rooms are not the Taj Mahal but were clean. I had mentiioned to the staff member about some previous comments some people had made regarding the hotel and she said they were all true and the Inappropriate staff had been fired. Very good place and location to stay in Penticton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rochester Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Resorts

Address: 970 Lakeshore Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rochester Resorts 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rochester Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Resort Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochester Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.