We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love this motel and Penticton!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Star Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Star Motel to your Saves list
Valley Star Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3455 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love, love, love this motel and Penticton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

As a young child, we camped at Penticton every summer. First in a tent, then a trailer. There is not another place I would rather be during summer. Now we stay at the Valley Star Motel with my family. This is a wonderful place to bring yourselves or with a family. It is safe, beautiful, well set up. The rooms have been upgraded and the owners of this motel, well - you could not get any better people or more accommodating than these two. The cleaning staff and grounds people do such a great job. You wake, never hearing a thing, to everything looking like it was out of a story book. The pool is clean and well taken care of. There are bbq in the courtyard to cook with. A cute, little playground for the young ones to play in. The air conditioners were welcomed - it was over 35 everyday we were there. You are minutes away from Skaha beach and water park, an ice cream parlour and a park. Will I be back? Yes, we have booked again for another year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. #28 is right off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Everything that has been said so far is true.
The hosts are super friendly and love a chat. The location is fantastic.
The rooms are in great condition.
Thanks trip advisor, I probably wouldn't have even stopped in if I was driving past.
I'm glad I did. In fact we ended up extending 2 more nights!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We loved our stay at the Valley Star Motel! This motel is pretty typical for the time it was built but the big difference is the way it has been maintained. There may be a few scuffs and older aspects but it was very clean (way better than any hotel we have stayed at in the last year and that is saying alot!) and is well maintained inside and out. Clearly the owners and staff have a lot of pride in their business. We found the pool to be clean and refreshing, the rooms comfortable, felt like it was a big family hanging out in the courtyard. We were impressed with the quiet considering we were on the end unit beside the road; we didn't even notice it. It was close to everything we wanted (beach, park, stores, ice cream shop :) ) The owners and staff were friendly, welcoming, and accomodated us perfectly! Loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This little place is a Jem. #1 the rates are good #2 the location is great 2 blocks from the beach, right on the main drag. #3 clean ,clean,clean...inside and outside. It has a pole and a Bbq pit. #4 it's family run and and they are over the top friendly....offered to let us join them for a Bbq :) this is the only place I will stay from now on , I just hope they will always have a room available!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Palms, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This motel is well located and well maintained. Owners are very accommodating and the beds are very comfortable. The only downside was the noisy air condioner. The only surprise was the "resort tax" on the bill. I do not recall any other hotels in the area charging this fee. All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ms. Louise,thankyou for staying at Valley Star Motel and also your coments.We regret the air conditioner was not quiet and we shall defininately try to improve on that.We note your concern about the "resort tax". There is no such tax. Listed below is various taxes as mandated by provincial (state) and federal governments:-
Municipal Tax--( applicable to some municipaltiesand Penticton is one of them)
GST --Federal Sales Tax
PST ---Provincial sales and Room Tax

Ms Louise P,should you have any follow up concern re taxes charged,we would be pleased to hear from you as we we want to ensure total satisfaction for all our guests be it local or foriegn.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was my first visit to the Valley Star Motel and it won't be my last visit. This place is amazing. The rooms are clean, the outdoor pool is recently renovated and it is so lovely. The grounds are immaculate, with two gazebo's to sit in and barbeques to use. We had five rooms and each one was different so they are able to accommodate different family sizes. Some rooms had separate bedrooms, some bunk beds, full kitchens or half kitchens. The beds in my room were comfortable and air conditioning worked great. The owners are very friendly and there seems to always be people working in the grounds. You can walk to Skaha lake, it's very close. We had a wonderful week, wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: Just let the owners know what your needs are. As far as I could tell all rooms are great, just offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valleymotel1, Owner at Valley Star Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thankyou very much for taking time out to express your experience with us at Valley star Motel.We appreciate guest feedback in order to improve on our performace.We are looking forward to wecoming you and your family yet again.

Bimla & Ravin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have been staying at the Valley Star for about 13 years now, started out as a 7 day get-a-way every summer and it has now extended to a 2 week get-a-way every summer.
The rooms are extremely clean, always that yearly surprise of yet another update such as new pool, adding of another gazebo, tile and hardware flooring to name a few.
You get treated like royalty by the owners Bimla and Raveen, nothing you ask of them is ever too much.
I can honestly say that if you give it a try once, you'll be coming back for years to come. You won't be disappointed.
Ellen
Vancouver, BC

Room Tip: In my opinion all the rooms are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Star Motel

Address: 3455 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valley Star Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Valley Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Star Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.