We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Sunset Inn

Swiss Sunset Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Swiss Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Swiss Sunset Inn
2604 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Found this place on travel advisor, after we had been booked in a horrible looking place by our boss. Owner is very friendly and takes a lot of pride in his motel. Pool was great and there was a nice BBQ area in the middle to hang out in. I would totally stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Found this little motel on Tripadvisor and was pleasantly surprised. Fair size room with fridge, coffee maker. Bathroom good size and very clean. Comfy bed, retro is the right way to describe the furnishing but it works.

Nice flower boxes all around and parking right in front of the room. Pool looked well kept and clean (although we didn't swim) and a BBQ area if you wanted to cook.

Right on a main road but you don't hear any traffic.
Great customer service upon check in/out. The only issue we had was the air conditioner didn't seem to work well, but when we told the front desk about it, he was unaware and said he'd look at it.
We would definately stay here again when we find ourselves back in Penticton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Owners very welcoming.

Rooms are rather small, and relatively clean.

Strong '80s-'90s smell....could use a bit of "refresh"..

Bathtub drained slooooowly.

At 109$ for the night, for what you get, this is a poor quality-price value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Ok, so its not the fanciest place I have ever stayed, but the owner is the most friendly and helpful motel owners I have met. I was attending a wedding in nearby Summerland and due to a last minute change of plans decided to stay in Penticton. We did not realize that there was a huge cycling event in town that was taking up most of the rooms at the local hotels. Fortunately I came across this little place and booked.

Because we were in a time crunch to get the room and get ready for the wedding I called ahead and asked if I could check in early. The owner was awesome and he let us check in at 1:00 pm which was very much appreciated.

Straight up honest, this is an older facility. That said, they take immaculate care of the outside. The parking lot leaves no questions and has designated parking stalls for the rooms. Beautiful flowers adorn the property and the swimming pool is well kept. Nearby there is a little area with patio tables and chairs and two BBQs for customers to use.

The room was definitely retro with the oldest fridge I think I have ever seen (picture wood panel mini-fridge) but it worked and was a nice surprise to have a fridge. The room was clean with the exception of one stain beside the bed. Overall not a deal breaker for me at all. My only complaints are that the lamps in the room did not work and the shower seemed to have a mind of its own and the water suddenly decreased to a trickle mid-shower.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. Customer service was top notch and the location was very good.

Room Tip: Second floor - be warned you have to take the stairs and they are a bit rickity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our first stay at the Swiss Sunset Inn was in 2003 and we have stayed here 7 times throughout the years. It is a quiet motel with a nice large pool, a sitting area where you can barbecue and best of all a relaxing atmosphere. When our summer vacations bring us to Penticton, we always stay here. We appreciate how Peter (the owner) keeps the grounds well kept and the rooms are clean and tidy. Any issues or problems we have had are fixed and dealt with immediately. We like that he has set quiet hours where the outside lights are dimmed and the No Vacancy sign is lit up so the current guests can sleep undisturbed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have stayed at the Swiss Sunset Inn many many times over the past 5 years. Peter and his staff go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. I stay here not only for vacation but also during my regular business trips through out the year. The Pool is always perfect and the room are kept to a very high standard. Don't hesitate to spend time at the Swiss Sunset Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just spent a couple of days. Very nice, clean & quiet. Clean rooms& good service
Very well priced. BBQ's are a big plus. Close to the lake. Shopping, restaurants are
close by. Liked the pub next to it, can't remember the name.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Sunset Inn

Address: 2604 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Swiss Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.