We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Sunset Inn

Swiss Sunset Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Swiss Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Swiss Sunset Inn
2604 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our first stay at the Swiss Sunset Inn was in 2003 and we have stayed here 7 times throughout the years. It is a quiet motel with a nice large pool, a sitting area where you can barbecue and best of all a relaxing atmosphere. When our summer vacations bring us to Penticton, we always stay here. We appreciate how Peter (the owner) keeps the grounds well kept and the rooms are clean and tidy. Any issues or problems we have had are fixed and dealt with immediately. We like that he has set quiet hours where the outside lights are dimmed and the No Vacancy sign is lit up so the current guests can sleep undisturbed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have stayed at the Swiss Sunset Inn many many times over the past 5 years. Peter and his staff go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of. I stay here not only for vacation but also during my regular business trips through out the year. The Pool is always perfect and the room are kept to a very high standard. Don't hesitate to spend time at the Swiss Sunset Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just spent a couple of days. Very nice, clean & quiet. Clean rooms& good service
Very well priced. BBQ's are a big plus. Close to the lake. Shopping, restaurants are
close by. Liked the pub next to it, can't remember the name.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Here for the annual bridge tournament. Things started out on a bad note when the manager wouldn't honor the rate he quoted last year. The place is barely adequate if you have low standards, but not anything I could recommend. The rooms are dirty and outdated, the "kitchen units" consist of a tiny stovetop with a mini fridge below, with a sink to the side. Pair this with bent or broken silverware, dirty dishes and glasses, no fry pan, and you get the picture.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Always a pleasant stay, four years in a row now. The Swiss Sunset is reasonalby priced with friendly staff and clean, quiet rooms. The location is perfect ,close to all the pubs and restaurants as well groceries. Skaha Bluffs climbing is 10 minutes away and good cycling in every direction. I like the fact that when I am done climbing or biking I can relax in a quite and clean room with all the necessary amenities and or outside at the patio tables in the shade. I will be staying again.
Bruce D.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Manager at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank You Bruce for your nice review of our property and we promise you that we will stay the course for cleanliness and customer service and you will be looked after with respect and dignity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

A dainty little motel. Although it is somewhat outdated, it has an almost vintage vibe to it. I would recommend this place for the friendly staff, and the impeccable cleanliness of the rooms and washroom. The beds were comfortable and all amenities were available to us. New tvs and bedding, with free wifi as well was a bonus! Disappointed that the pool was not open for the season yet as we had some nice sunshine during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are much more spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank You for your review and we promise you that you will always be looked after at our little motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Although reasonably pleasant, this motel was overpriced for what we got. In think there are much better deals to be had in Penticton.
The bed was uncomfortable, the rooms need updating, the hair dryer in the bathroom was useless, and the TV was bizarrely hooked up to a light switch.
That said, the common areas outside where the BBQ was was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessiepenticton, Owner at Swiss Sunset Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our property and we will fix the shortcomings which you pointed but i know that you are staying with us for last 4 to 5 years as a DRAGON BOAT GROUP. We know the rate was little higher this year than last years.I am the OWNER/Operator of this property and remember you came to the office about the hair-dryer and i gave you my daughter's hair-dryer to use it and mentioned it might be over-heated, same dryer is working fine now.I apperciate your feedback. If you book with us for next year we wii give you the same rate which we did in the past year.Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Sunset Inn

Address: 2604 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Swiss Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Sunset Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.