We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, clean, neat, pet friendly hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Villa Resort

Save Saved
You added Spanish Villa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spanish Villa Resort
890 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 hotels in Penticton
Blind Bay, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Older, clean, neat, pet friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were greeted on arrival. All was good except we didn't get a gate code for the park area gate but that was easily solved with a call.
Clean, well maintained older hotel with renovating done quite well in the room. Comfortable except the sleeper/sofa was a bit tired.
All in all a good value hotel.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms should be on the South end for great access to a city dog park area, complete wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My family travelled to Banff last September and we spend one day in Penticton on both our way to and from Banff. The Spanish Villa Resort is a nice neat family hotel and it's especially pet-friendly. I feel sorry for the reviewer below who said the place is not neat and smell weird, but I was pretty lucky that our room was on one of the corners and it was clean and cozy. The facility was good as we had all the appliances we needed and there's a pool, although I didn't have time to go swimming. The staff was very friendly and introduced some local attractions and restaurants. The view is awesome once you step out of the resort. Truly awesome stay, well worth the price!

Room Tip: You may want to put your special requests upon your reservation, so that they can arrange your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed at the Spanish Villa in the pet friendly room and paid about $100 for it. The room stunk like stale cigarette smoke, the carpets were stained and had a greasy feel to it. The shower didn't have enough hot water for 1 shower, the Kleenex box was empty, but the worst of it was the power in my room went out at night and I had no power at all in the room after that! In the morning I informed the front desk lady and she checked the breaker only after rudely saying I should have called the night manager. The number was in the room! News flash- it was dark and didn't know there was a phone number for someone to call! Anyways, it wasn't the breaker, and they didn't know what it was. We never got power back before checking out and the lady could be bothered to apologies for the inconvenience or anything! I'm not a super picky person but this was an absolute terrible experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Spanish Villa is located right across the street from the beach. It's dated but the rooms are clean and reasonably priced. It is close to downtown restaurants and all the wineries down the Naramata road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Spanish Villa in Penticton

Arrived on July 29th for a 12 day stay. Patricia at the front desk was very nice and helpful that day and throughout our stay.

The room was very nice, clean and very much like the pictures. The beds are comfortable, but I didn’t like the pillows. The towels are very nice.

This is a one bedroom a the front desk if the might have some foam to add to the pull-out sofa (for when we sat on it) as it was very soft, and like a hammock in the middle. They sent up the maintenance man who looked at it, and sat on it, and agreed it was in rough shape. We came back from the beach later that day and found a note from the motel saying they would have a new couch in 2 days, and added some cushions to the couch to get us by. The next day we had a beautiful new sofa-bed. Now that is great service !!!!

Housekeeping came by every day to see what we needed. Each of them was very nice and helpful.

Noise – the motel is a 2 story building in a horseshoe shape, so the noise bounces around a lot. However, the only time we had any real problem was the long weekend and there were several rooms being loud late into the night. The management was good about addressing the problems, but they can only do so much. The other nights were fine.

The indoor pool is easy to get to and very warm. Too warm on a warm day, but really great for little ones. There is a small patio out behind the pool where you can get some sun if you want, but it is small and narrow, and forms part of the back parking area – so, nothing to look at.

They have an ice machine that you can help yourself to for cocktails, but for coolers, they sell bags of ice. Very fair in my view.

The road in front of the motel has lots of traffic, but it is slow moving and quite safe to get across to the beach. The beach is very nice. Soft sand, and the shoreline is sandy too. For as far as you can walk, there is sand under your feet. You can go quite a long way out before it gets deep. Great for kids to play, with so much room. There are signs on the beach that say “no smoking” but people do that anyway. It also says no off leash dogs. Most people were good about that.

Normally we are campers, so this was quite a switch for our summer vacation at the beach. It was very nice and I recommend the motel. For us though, not having any outdoor space to call our own was a problem. We like to sit out around a fire or just in lawn chairs at night to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The highlight is the city and the hotel, located right on the lakefront, is a nice place to park.

It is not a fancy place nor does it claim to be. The reception and staff were friendly; the rooms (inside the drive in courtyard with rooms surrounding it) were fine - the rooms are suites with a living area/kitchen and a smaller bedroom and it worked out fine.

Overall comfortable, good location by the lake and the restaurants and if you're looking for a nice place to park, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This property was booked last minute. It is a bit outdated but maintained well. The reception desk was very pleasant. Lots of these old style motel rooms. We booked a one bedroom suite that was fully equipped with living area and kitchen, 2 double beds. The mattresses were a poor sleep and the beds are jammed up against the walls to fit two beds. The couch was a futon which gave my 19 year old his own space. We only stayed one night but I would like to go back and re-visit this area. The beach is located right across the street. Nice walking distance to restaurants and ice cream. Definitely a very family orientated property. Parking is tight- only one way in and out! The desk was able to give us a suite located on the main level. The pool area looks huge and very nice too! There is laundry facilities on site which we did not use.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#19 of 43 in Penticton
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre Penticton
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Valley Star Motel
Valley Star Motel
#1 of 43 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Beach, Free int...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Black Sea Motel & Restaurant
Black Sea Motel & Restaurant
#12 of 43 in Penticton
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Beachside Motel
Beachside Motel
#2 of 43 in Penticton
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Villa Resort

Address: 890 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across from the sandy beaches of beautiful Okanagan Lake, The Spanish Villa Resort awaits you and your family, whether on vacation or business. Situated only minutes away from the Penticton Convention Centre, South Okanagan Events Centre, Okanagan Hockey School, tennis courts and children's play park and close to golfing and the downtown area, this resort is also conveniently located within steps of some of Penticton's finest restaurants. We offer Studio rooms and one, two or three bedroom kitchen suites with full kitchen. The Spanish Villa Resort is a great place for families and seniors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Spanish Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Villa Hotel Penticton
Spanish Hotel Penticton
Spanish Resort Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.