We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location, friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slumber Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Slumber Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Slumber Lodge Motel
274 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 43 hotels in Penticton
vancouver
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place, great location, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here over the car show weekend. The hotel was much nicer than I thought. Staff were friendly too which was nice. Location can't be beat. Right beside lakeside resort and other bars/restaurants and it's waterfront. Like right on the water. My only complaint would be about the bed linens. Why oh why do hotels in this day and age still use quilts and blankets instead of triple sheeting!?!? my sleep was a little uncomfortable for this reason alone. It just feels dirty to me because those quilts are not washed every day. There's no way they are. at least with triple sheeting, it's easier to clean and more sanitary. Would have been nice to have a larger mirror in the room as well. Anyway for $116 in summer, you can't really complain. I will still recommend to friends and will return absolutely. I'm a little shocked this hotel is not rated higher on trip advisor. I've stayed a few motels/hotels there now, and this one is in the top for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
15
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I just cannot say enough good things about this place. Best bang for your buck. Hands down closest to the beach. Staff was excellent. Rooms are so affordable and clean. Stay here if you are looking to be treated well and comfortable .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squamish
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

After a horrible stay at a previous hotel for Twice as much this place was blessing. The room was average and perfect for the rate. $50 winter rate was spot on. I have paid twice as much for exactly the same. The staff were awesome. Some guys next door to us were playing loud music at an early time but I didnt want it to be a problem later so voiced my co concern to the staff and they immediately moved us to another room far from them. Again the price awesome! Not sure of their summet rates.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

In the winter months we often offer some amazing special rates, this year we had a Blizzard Special!! I am glad to hear you took advantage of this special pricing.

I will pass along your comments about the staff. I am happy to hear that they took immediate action and made you comfortable.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton B.C. Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked this room for out of town guest coming for a family reunion....The only thing good about it is the location.(next to the condo we live in) Seriously, it is run down, it is in need of a major overhaul and updating....The next time I have to find accommodation in Penticton for guests, perhaps I will look at the other end of the strip, or book a nice CLEAN QUIET B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I am very sorry to hear that your guests did not enjoy their stay with us. Due to privacy reasons I do not know what room they were in. If you could contact me directly, I would appreciate hearing from you about the particular details of what was not to their satisfaction.

I hope we can correct these issues and welcome your business back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I guess we just lucked out because all the main hotels were full, and ended up checking out this one. We got a great room, that appeared to have been renovated, as this is a dated motel for sure. The service at the main desk, both when we checked in and when we checked out was great, and much appreciated. For proximity to beach, downtown, and for the price, I was quite impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I am very happy to hear that you were impressed with your service. We are constantly making improvements and renovating our rooms, usually through the winter months when it is a little slower.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

In August 2013 my overseas visitors stayed for 4 days in this motel. It's location was very convenient, so I reserved it several months ahead.
The room was supposed to be an "updated " room.which I had requested.The credit card was immediately processed on their arrival and they paid $662.60. which was a "Seniors rate"!!! They were jetlagged and exhausted. A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE awaited them!!!
The bedspreads were dingy and old, the toilet seat did not fit and was unstable, there was no way to prevent the floor being saturated when they used the shower, and there was a hole in the bathroom wall. The fridge rattled noisily all night.They were devastated to find HAIR in the beds when they retired!
All night other guests thumped up and down the stairs and along the 2nd floor balcony, and at 6am people sat outside their door and smoked , coughed and talked! They asked if they could get another room on the 2nd floor, but were told that the motel was fully booked
There was no doubt that it made a terrible impression..I was devastated and so ashamed.
This was utterly disgraceful!

Room Tip: Inspect it thoroughly first......don't pay beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I Was up in Penticton with my family for a couple of nights at this motel in August. Well, never again will we subject ourselves to this place. We got the 2 dbl beds and queen pull out. If you don't mind the feel of springs on your back and sleeping on an incline then this might be your cup of tea. There is A/C only in the living room but none in the bedroom which makes for a restless stuffy night. The bathroom was clean but needed an overhaul. I suggest management spend some money on this place and not steal from guests. It's very close to the beach but I wouldn't care if I could step onto the beach from my front door, no way again. The only bright spot was some of the staff were friendly and helpful, at least to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slumber Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slumber Lodge Motel

Address: 274 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1B8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slumber Lodge in sunny Penticton is a family friendly motel, located across the street from sandy Okanagan Lake Beach and the famous Peach on the Beach. Close to downtown shopping and restaurants.We have a large variety of rooms to accommodate all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Slumber Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slumber Hotel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slumber Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.