We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and way Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Slumber Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Slumber Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Slumber Lodge Motel
274 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outdated and way Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I Was up in Penticton with my family for a couple of nights at this motel in August. Well, never again will we subject ourselves to this place. We got the 2 dbl beds and queen pull out. If you don't mind the feel of springs on your back and sleeping on an incline then this might be your cup of tea. There is A/C only in the living room but none in the bedroom which makes for a restless stuffy night. The bathroom was clean but needed an overhaul. I suggest management spend some money on this place and not steal from guests. It's very close to the beach but I wouldn't care if I could step onto the beach from my front door, no way again. The only bright spot was some of the staff were friendly and helpful, at least to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
15
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I wonder if the excellent reviews were written by hotel staff, their family, or their friends? The staff were not overly friendly, accommodating, or helpful. The facility is very dated: the tv didn't work, the air conditioner was noisy, and the shower did not stay a consistent temp....especially if water was being used elsewhere. Also, there were questionable practices regarding payments. They charge an additional $50 deposit on your credit card and $150 if paying by cash. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I love Penticton because the lakes are so warm and the beaches are really nice with lots of sand, so you don't have to tip-toe into the water as many beaches are only sandy up to the water, but not sandy or soft once you hit the water.

When you are at the beach and you need to grab something such as another cold drink, a snack, or even need to use a washroom, it is so, so nice when your motel is just a minute or two away from your spot on the beach. That is as good as it gets and this motel has a great location right across the street from the beach at Okanagan Lake.

Not all the rooms have a view of the lake, but you are only a short walk across the street for the best view of the lake.

The rooms are average. They are clean and the beds are comfortable. The air conditioning created a bit of a stinky smell, but we got used to it and it was not so bad. It would be nice if they had a few more chairs for sitting outside of the room. Unfortunately, when it is very hot in Penticton, as it often is during the summer (30 to 36 C) during our stay, you might want to sit outside of the room, but it is very hot and the AC unit blows even more hot air as they face the walkway side of the room where you would sit, so it is fairly hot to sit outside of the room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and courteous.

We would definitely stay here again as the price was very good and the rooms were all you need as in Penticton you pretty much spend most of your time away from your room and usually only return to the room to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location really can't be beat! This hotel is located at the opposite end of the beach from all of the other "beachfront hotels" and what a blessing that is! The beach across the street from the Slumber Lodge is fairly quiet, clean, and relaxing. It is also away from all of the partying hooligans that seem to hit the beach at the other end of the strip after 6pm. If you're young and/ or single, and want a lively scene don't stay here. Book something closer to the other end of the street, close to the rose gardens.
This hotel is fantastic for families. In addition to the beach across the street, the hotel has a great indoor pool.
The room was comfortable and clean. It certainly does need some updating in terms of aesthetic appearances (yes it does look something out of the '80s furniture catalogue) but it's all still in good repair and kept clean. Our air conditioner broke and within a couple of hours the staff had contacted someone and had it completely replaced. The staff in general were very helpful and friendly.
We will definitely be returning here again.

Room Tip: Kitchenette rooms are well worth the value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am happy to hear that your A/C unit was replaced promptly.

We are very much a family oriented motel, that offer good value and clean rooms.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

So let's start with what I liked about Slumber Lodge Motel.
1. It's right across the street from the beach.
2. It has a great view of the lake (Okanagan).

What I didn't like about Slumber Lodge Motel.
1. The rooms are in need of renovation. The carpet looked like it came straight out of "That 70's Show". The bed spreads were umm well used, but the sheets were clean. There were no screens on the windows, except for in the bathroom.
2. Although our room had a big-screen TV, it was the worst quality picture for a TV that I ever seen in a hotel/motel.
3. Our room had a kitchen in it with most of what is required, except for a couple glaring omissions - there was no salt and pepper shakers - there were no wine glasses in the heart of the best wine district in BC.
4. There were cigarette burn marks on the couch, media centre, table and kitchen counter.
5. The drapes completely blocked all light coming into the room - so there was no way to let light into the, while still obstructing the view in of passersby.
6. The door handle and locks were loose - presenting little, if any protection against break-ins.

So "cutting to the chase",
- did I enjoy my stay there? ... only because of location, location, location.
- would I stay there again? ... no - there are lots of other places in the area (and across the street from the beach) that offer more for the same or similar price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I am very glad to hear that you liked the location.

We are constantly working on our rooms; we do renovations through the winter months when it is slower for us. We have renovated many of them and will continue to do so. We have often discussed putting screens on the windows; we have had many guests comment on both sides of this issue. I will be sure to add your comments to the discussion.

For privacy reasons I cannot see what room you stayed in to know what TV was in your room at the time of your stay. However, we have fazed out all of our older TV’s to flat screens within the last two years.

We do offer full kitchen suites with either two double beds or one queen bed in the bedroom. For sanitation reasons we are not permitted to keep food items in the rooms, including salt and pepper. However, if you ask at the front desk or ask our housekeeping staff; will be happy to provide it for you. This also goes for the wine glasses or even Champaign glasses.

We do keep all of our rooms as non-smoking room. We even have a large penalty for smoking in the rooms however, not all guests abide by this. I do apologize for the burn marks.

Most of our guests have asked us for blackout window coverings. In the summer it helps to keep the rooms cool as well as the hot bright sun out in the early morning. We are currently looking at a window film that will inhibit the view to passersby.

I hope I have answered some your concerns. If you wish to contact me directly please feel free to do so.

Thank you for taking the time to let write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I booked this online and didn't expect much because of the low price. I was extremely surprised and happy I did. Excellent location, nice people, allows pets, has a fridge, and hairdryer! Only complaint is not much parking. Overall excellent stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I am glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised. We pride ourselves on offering our guests good value and even better service. I find that so many people now travel with their family pets and are happy to offer pet friendly rooms.

I am pleased to let you know that we have improved the parking. We have done some work to the back parking lot and have plenty of parking for all of our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great value for location, located just across the road from the lakefront and beach, clean, well maintained room with fridge, microwave, coffee maker. all the usual room features and also a laundry. Wifi available. Indoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

I am happy to hear you were able to make use of our amenities. We try to make our guests feel welcome and hope that they have everything that they need in our rooms.

We are very lucky to be at this location, its great to be able to walk right across the street to the beach or just a couple of blocks to great eateries and shops.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slumber Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slumber Lodge Motel

Address: 274 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1B8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slumber Lodge in sunny Penticton is a family friendly motel, located across the street from sandy Okanagan Lake Beach and the famous Peach on the Beach. Close to downtown shopping and restaurants.We have a large variety of rooms to accommodate all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Slumber Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slumber Hotel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slumber Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.