We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High rating for one thing and one thing only - Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slumber Lodge Motel

Save Saved
You added Slumber Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slumber Lodge Motel
274 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1B8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 hotels in Penticton
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“High rating for one thing and one thing only - Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

So let's start with what I liked about Slumber Lodge Motel.
1. It's right across the street from the beach.
2. It has a great view of the lake (Okanagan).

What I didn't like about Slumber Lodge Motel.
1. The rooms are in need of renovation. The carpet looked like it came straight out of "That 70's Show". The bed spreads were umm well used, but the sheets were clean. There were no screens on the windows, except for in the bathroom.
2. Although our room had a big-screen TV, it was the worst quality picture for a TV that I ever seen in a hotel/motel.
3. Our room had a kitchen in it with most of what is required, except for a couple glaring omissions - there was no salt and pepper shakers - there were no wine glasses in the heart of the best wine district in BC.
4. There were cigarette burn marks on the couch, media centre, table and kitchen counter.
5. The drapes completely blocked all light coming into the room - so there was no way to let light into the, while still obstructing the view in of passersby.
6. The door handle and locks were loose - presenting little, if any protection against break-ins.

So "cutting to the chase",
- did I enjoy my stay there? ... only because of location, location, location.
- would I stay there again? ... no - there are lots of other places in the area (and across the street from the beach) that offer more for the same or similar price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I am very glad to hear that you liked the location.

We are constantly working on our rooms; we do renovations through the winter months when it is slower for us. We have renovated many of them and will continue to do so. We have often discussed putting screens on the windows; we have had many guests comment on both sides of this issue. I will be sure to add your comments to the discussion.

For privacy reasons I cannot see what room you stayed in to know what TV was in your room at the time of your stay. However, we have fazed out all of our older TV’s to flat screens within the last two years.

We do offer full kitchen suites with either two double beds or one queen bed in the bedroom. For sanitation reasons we are not permitted to keep food items in the rooms, including salt and pepper. However, if you ask at the front desk or ask our housekeeping staff; will be happy to provide it for you. This also goes for the wine glasses or even Champaign glasses.

We do keep all of our rooms as non-smoking room. We even have a large penalty for smoking in the rooms however, not all guests abide by this. I do apologize for the burn marks.

Most of our guests have asked us for blackout window coverings. In the summer it helps to keep the rooms cool as well as the hot bright sun out in the early morning. We are currently looking at a window film that will inhibit the view to passersby.

I hope I have answered some your concerns. If you wish to contact me directly please feel free to do so.

Thank you for taking the time to let write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
12
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I booked this online and didn't expect much because of the low price. I was extremely surprised and happy I did. Excellent location, nice people, allows pets, has a fridge, and hairdryer! Only complaint is not much parking. Overall excellent stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I am glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised. We pride ourselves on offering our guests good value and even better service. I find that so many people now travel with their family pets and are happy to offer pet friendly rooms.

I am pleased to let you know that we have improved the parking. We have done some work to the back parking lot and have plenty of parking for all of our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great value for location, located just across the road from the lakefront and beach, clean, well maintained room with fridge, microwave, coffee maker. all the usual room features and also a laundry. Wifi available. Indoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

I am happy to hear you were able to make use of our amenities. We try to make our guests feel welcome and hope that they have everything that they need in our rooms.

We are very lucky to be at this location, its great to be able to walk right across the street to the beach or just a couple of blocks to great eateries and shops.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great service at front desk, from both staff members we seen. Rooms were exceptionally clean, and could smell the cleanliness. We had a 2 bed suite on the second level with a great view of the lake, and was reasonably priced, and definitely appreciated them allowing us to pay with a cash deposit instead of a credit card. We will definitely be back soon and hope to check out all the amenities around that we didn't have time for.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor suite, they have great views. Also, there is minimal parking, so they have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am always happy to hear good things about our staff members. Our cleaning staff does a wonderful job and really pride themselves on the cleanliness of the rooms.

We have found that more and more people are going back to paying cash or debit and we like to accommodate our guests as much as possible. Taking a cash deposit helps us insure that the rooms are left in good condition for our next guests.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was exactly the oasis I needed during a very busy weekend Music Festival ! Without the clean room, friendly staff, and excellent location my job would have been next to impossible. Thanks to all ! With the pool and spa not open for the season I can't say much except they look great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so glad to hear that we helped make your time hear more relaxing!! The pool is now open for the season; it will remain open until the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend in October. We hope you will come back and give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Room was a spacious, good location, seemed clean. Very noisy, did not sleep, 3 intoxicated people outside our room drunk and fighting all night, threatening to strangle eachother, very frightening. Tried and tried calling front desk for assistance but no one answered all night but the info inside the room said that the desk was staffed 24/7 and to call if there were any problems. Complained about it the next morning upon check out and was treated very poorly. Manager was unwilling to give us a discount due to all of our problems and was very hostile towards us. Hotel was not so bad, but noisy location and unprofessionally run.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you found the room to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on having very clean rooms. However I was very concerned to hear your comment about the night manager. This is unacceptable and does not reflect our standards. I will make sure we go through some re-training.

Hopefully we can win your business back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've stayed at Slumberlodge a few times in the past, but this time it seems to have been updated, so it is more satisfactory than before. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is great - right across from the beach and park and an easy walk to main street shopping. Another very good feature is that the motel is in a location separate from all the other side-by-side motels in the motel strip farther up the lakeshore drive, so it's quieter and there are less noisy party types in the area. Great for families looking for a lower cost nice place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor are quieter and have a better view toward the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernanda L, Manager at Slumber Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think and for the great comments.

I am happy to hear that you see an improvement in the property as we are constantly striving to improve.

We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slumber Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slumber Lodge Motel

Address: 274 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1B8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slumber Lodge in sunny Penticton is a family friendly motel, located across the street from sandy Okanagan Lake Beach and the famous Peach on the Beach. Close to downtown shopping and restaurants.We have a large variety of rooms to accommodate all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Slumber Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slumber Hotel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slumber Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.