We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be updated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Penticton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel Penticton to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Penticton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 Burnaby Avenue West, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1G7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs to be updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here as a family member was getting married and had a great rate here. When we checked in the first impression of the hotel is great, the lobby is updated and the front desk was great. We were there for multiple days and had not requested a kitchenette and called the day we were arriving and the lady at the front desk went out of her way to get us a kitchenette which was so helpful as we had been on the road for two weeks with lots of perishable items.

When we arrived to the room I felt like I had stepped back in time. The room desperately needed some updating!! The air conditioning system was working in overtime as it was a very hot few days which was nice to keep cool but it was so loud in the night. The bed was very uncomforterable and my husband and I both had bad headaches and sore bodies every morning. My parents stayed in the room next to us and both have arthritis issues and they lucked out with a very comforterable bed so I think it was just luck of the draw.

Location is great as it is just a few blocks to the water. Didn't eat at the restaurant as not a huge Denny's fan but was nice for family members who didn't have a kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the helpful Front Desk staff and we were able to assist you with your needs. Our Studio Kitchen rooms are certainly a great choice. I am sorry to hear about your disappointing sleep. We are always in the process of updating our room product to better suit our guests needs and we will be following up on your mattress. We value your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    36
    24
    19
See reviews for
25
54
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Irene and staff at the Front Desk were very respectful, welcoming and never once had an attitude of being too busy even though the Hotel was fully booked. The BC First Nation ELDERS had this as their home away from home. The exercise room was very comfortable and other relaxing facilities helped individuals relax. Rooms were comfortable & quiet! Easy walking access to the Convention Center and a good walk to the 'downtown' area.
The General Manager was never too busy to listen & assist with minor and large group concerns. That's a big plus in my opinion! The leader/manager style of leadership is reflected throughout the rest of the staff to varying degrees.
For large group bookings or a couple of weary travellers, the light tis on, fresh apples on the counter to welcome you to a 'home away from home'. Recommended place to stay for a night or week!

Room Tip: Ask for the parking lot side. It's a maze so enjoy exploring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We certainly enjoyed hosting the BC First Nation Elders by providing a "home away from home". I will be passing on your terrific feedback to all staff with praise. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our ac didn't work well even after a room change because of this problem. That's my only complaint. Good location for walking or biking around the town. Attached to Denny's so easy breakfast fix would stay here again. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you found the rooms clean and comfortable. I am disappointed to hear about your AC unit, we are always available to change or a repair a unit if it is not functioning properly. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We heard people walking around in front of our door at 8:30 in the morning. Someone had a walky-talky and talking to another worker.
The room was tiny and paper-thin walls. We had a no smoking room which someone had obviously smoked it at some point because there was the slightest smell of smoke.
But really, other than just those things I mentioned (and nothing really that bad) it was alright. Very clean and the front desk staff was very nice.
Good place to stay for business or if you just need a place to crash. Not a place for a romantic weekend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found the Hotel clean and the front desk staff friendly. I will certainly follow up with the Housekeeping department regarding your comments about the conversations on the radio and smell of smoke in your room. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Me and my friends went to this hotel for a concert this past thursday and right when you walk in the door it is a very nice hotel. The rooms were as well very nice bed it was a very loud sleep due to the pool and hottub right outside our door and the hotel based around the pool. I was disappointed to find out there was no breakfest offered for guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your bed, we have a 24hr Denny's restaurant onsite and offer complimentary coffee, muffins and apples in the lobby daily. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really wanted to share my positive experience at the Penticton Sandman. We stayed at the Sandman during a visit to attend a concert on January 19th. The hotel was clean and everything was in order but the thing that stood out for me was the excellent customer service provided. I called the night before arriving and confirmed details with a gentlemen named Kevin he was very helpful and let me know he would be in attendance upon our arrival the next day. The next day we arrived and were attended to by Kevin and his WOW customer service skills. I wanted to write this review in order to acknowledge his effort and thank him for everything. It is front line staff like him that truly aids in the success of businesses.
PS Sandman Chain put the Kleenex in the bathroom!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on delivering a great guest experience each and every day and it sounds like we hit the mark. I will certainly be passing on your comments to all involved. From all of us at the Sandman Hotel Penticton we thank you and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just recently stayed at the Sandman for The Band Perry concert. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Justin at the front desk! The room was clean, had a nice view of the pool and if you are looking to sleep in the black out curtains are great! Not to mention the price was very reasonable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Great comments, we are pleased you enjoyed the friendly staff and your overall experience. I will certainly pass on your comments to Justin and the entire team. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandman Hotel Penticton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Penticton

Address: 939 Burnaby Avenue West, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1G7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Penticton 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Okanagan Valley wine country, Sandman Hotel Penticton is extremely well situated for guests to take advantage of all local amenities. Featuring two large lakes, a new destination casino, 70 world-class wineries and dozens of golf courses, Sandman Hotel Penticton is a great choice for your next vacation. Also catering to business travelers, this hotel has all the modern amenities such as high-speed Internet, a business centre, and meeting facilities. Sandman Hotel Penticton makes your travels a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandman Hotel Penticton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penticton Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Penticton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.