We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Penticton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel Penticton to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Penticton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 Burnaby Avenue West, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1G7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Loud room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a queen room with a kitchen. It was modern and comfortable. The wifi worked well and the room had a fridge and coffee maker, microwave etc. The hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub. The staff were friendly and the location is close to the beach and has a Dennys restaurant attached. The only problem that we had was that our room was nest to the stairwell and was extremely loud. We had a rugby team in the rooms around us and from 6 am to 8 am , it was constant door slamming.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, great location and modern, comfortable Kitchen Suites. I am sorry to hear that the Rugby team we had in house disturbed your stay. We do our very best to accommodate all guests and their varying needs, unfortunately sometimes due to the wide range of our guests schedules other guests are disturbed. I want to thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experiences and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    33
    24
    19
See reviews for
25
49
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I are seniors (in our seventies). We prepaid a room with twin queen sized beds, necessary due to medical problems. However, when we arrived (after having confirmed before our arrival) we were told that all twin bed rooms were occupied and we would have to take a one bed room. I had to sleep ON THE FLOOR.
I'll never go to a Sandman again.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of your experience during your stay in April 2012. When booking a reservation and securing with a Credit Card your room is guaranteed upon arrival. I would like to address this first hand and would kindly ask you to contact me directly through the hotel so I can investigate further. Once again thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again soon and ensure this time your expectations are exceeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the Eric Church concert. The staff was very nice at check in and check out. Cudos the woman who worked night audit I am sure her job wasnt easy that night. The lobby of the hotel is very nice, modern and updated. The guestrooms however were so small and so old. The room was clean other then the coffee pot. Our room was right across from the ice machine so we could hear falling ice all night long. If the hotel decides to do renovations any time soon, I would suggest new windows with the thicker glass which blocks out sound. From about 5:30 am - 9:00 am every 15 minurtes or so we could hear big trucks start up, which were parked right outside our window. Not exactly a great way to wake up. I would stay at this hotel again if I was in Penticton for a concert due to the location, but only if I was paying less then $90.00 a night because anything more isnt worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the service from our Front Desk team and great location directly across from the PTCC & SOEC. I am sorry to hear that we fell short in your room expectations. We are always in the process of updating and maintaining our Hotel to better suit our guests needs and I will certainly address your suggestions/comments with our management team. We truly value your feedback, again thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had a great experience while I was staying here. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. I have stayed in many hotels and this one definitely was one of the better ones. Thumbs up all around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you found our staff incredibly helpful and friendly as guest satisfaction is a top priority for us at the Sandman Hotel Penticton. It is always rewarding to hear that we are delivering our message. We truly value your feedback and love it when our guests give us a thumbs up all around. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It might be nice to see so many happy families enjoying the pool, but the noise can get to be too much. The room is fine for two people but then why not give you a bed and a hide a bed? The heater was difficult to manage and ask if they have young teams or sports events staying as you will wait forever for food.

Room Tip: It might be nice to see so many happy families enjoying the pool, but the noise can get to not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our Atrium Pool is certainly a favourite amongst the many happy families that stay with us at the Sandman Hotel Penticton. I am however sorry to hear that we fell short on your expectations. We do offer a wide range of guest rooms available including rooms with hide a beds in efforts to meet all our guests needs. I have addressed your comments with our management team and we certainly value your feedback. I hope to see you again soon, ensuring next time you leave us feeling that you had a great stay getting the most from your get away dollars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, WA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here with my 11 day old daughter to watch my husband race the Ironman. Great location for the race but wow...they sure gouge you on the price! $250 a night for a tiny room. My view was of the indoor pool. They ran out of cribs so I had to make a bed for my newborn to sleep on. The entrance was very modern and up to date but the hotel itself was extremely run down. Staff was friendly at least.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you found our location great and our staff friendly, this is a top proirity for us at the Sandman Hotel Penticton. I am however sorry to hear that we fell short in other areas of your stay. We do offer a wide range of guests rooms along with cribs and cots as an additional ammenity and always do our absolute best to accommodate everyone. They are based on availability and I am sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your needs. I have addressed your comments with our management team and we certainly value your feedback. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good location for the ironman. However they gouge you on the price due to the race. Staff was very kind except the night manager(wow was she rude). Great location for the race, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraemeJenkins, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Penticton, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location during your stay at the Sandman Hotel Penticton last August. It is our mission and focus to deliver outstanding customer service to all our valued guests each and every day and I am sorry to hear that not all of our staff succeeded in that mission. We hope to see you again soon and look forward to delivering the experience you deserved during your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandman Hotel Penticton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Penticton

Address: 939 Burnaby Avenue West, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1G7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Penticton 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Okanagan Valley wine country, Sandman Hotel Penticton is extremely well situated for guests to take advantage of all local amenities. Featuring two large lakes, a new destination casino, 70 world-class wineries and dozens of golf courses, Sandman Hotel Penticton is a great choice for your next vacation. Also catering to business travelers, this hotel has all the modern amenities such as high-speed Internet, a business centre, and meeting facilities. Sandman Hotel Penticton makes your travels a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sandman Hotel Penticton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penticton Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Penticton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.