We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3180 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Penticton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a great holiday in the Okanagan, despite a very bad cottage rental gone bad... as a result, we drove to Penticton and stayed here. It was quite clean (9/10), pretty well equipped (we had a mini-kitchen), and the beds were comfortable and had nice bedding. The one-bedroom suite was pricey at $250, and the square footage was lacking, but considering it was high summer season, we were glad to get it on short notice.
We enjoyed the outdoor pool (they also have an indoor one), the movie nights for the kids, and my family appreciated the breakfast with included eggs, waffles, and other choices, but I personally find all hotel breakfasts lack in gluten-free, healthier options. Not much fresh fruit.
We liked having a front and back entrance, and enjoyed sitting outside on the balcony (shared) in the morning having coffee. The only really disappointing thing is there wasn't much of view, other than the hotel grounds. Would have been nice to see Skaha Lake. If you have a choice, you may be able to request a room on the lake side, and perhaps catch a glimpse of it..
Our son's pull-out sofa bed was horrible--poor kids-- but he didn't seem to mind, nor did he complain. He is only 11 and can still sleep on the floor without having aches and pains. Would be nice, though, if they gave it a new mattress!

Room Tip: Perhaps you can book early and get a discount?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHogg, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear DeeBentley,

We would first like to thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you were able to make use of some of the amenities we have available to our guests. We pride ourselves on providing a family friendly atmosphere, and it is great to know we were able to do that for you. I will take your comments with regards to the sofabed in your room, as well as your comments with regards to gluten free breakfast items to our next management meeting and discuss it with our team.

We thank you for your business and we hope you will return to stay with us in the future!

Kind Regards,

Betsy Hogg
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Inn at Penticton
250-493-0311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    70
    39
    20
    9
See reviews for
72
88
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

stayed in this hotel chain for 18 days in three separate stays staff is always helpful breakfast is always more that adequate my only complaints are some rooms need upgrading, some were noisy (fridges) and I would like to see this chain upgrade their toilets to the senior or taller type. I feel that the older clients you serve would greatly appreciate this improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHogg, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would first like to thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us! We are pleased to hear you received the quality of service during your stay that you deserve as one of our valued guests. I would like very much if you contacted me directly at the property so that we may discuss the rooms in which you stayed so that I may investigate your comment with regards to the noisy fridges. To my knowledge all of our refrigerators are low-emission, high efficiency units so we will certainly investigate this issue. With regards to your suggestion of higher toilets in our guest rooms, I will certainly take that suggestion to our next management meeting and discuss it with our team as a possible improvement we could make to enhance guest experience.

We thank you for your business and we hope you will return to stay with us again on future trips to Penticton!

Kindest Regards,
Betsy Hogg
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Inn at Penticton
250-493-0311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in early July, and really didnt think it was great, definitely not worth the price. The bed was a king, and had a large hump in the middle that kind of split it in half while sleeping, so you couldn't roll over without waking up, pillows were ok, blankets were fine. Definitely overpriced for what you got, when in that particular town. Courtyard was cute and quaint, but nothing about this entire place jumped out at me, or my husband. Having some cleaning woman asking our room number when we went for breakfast was both embarrassing and unacceptable, considering the price they charge for what is a mediocre meal at best. The weather stripping around the door was insufficient so that both light and sound came through ridiculously. The door was also warped, and didnt shut properly unless you remembered to slam it. We opted out of room cleaning, and left around 10am, only to come back some 5 hours later and find that housecleaning had been there, despite our not wanting it. The A/C was good, and the room was very clean and it smelled very good. Having a table and chairs right outside the door was convenient and used often in our 3 day stay. Decent location, though not that close to the touristy areas. All in all, I think this hotel should have cost at least 2/3rds of the price for what you ended up with .

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHogg, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Julesabub R,

We would first like to thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our courtyard area and the cleanliness of your room, but it saddens me to hear about the rest of your stay. We work very diligently to ensure our guests get the quality level of accommodations and service they deserve while staying with us and it appears something has been missed in regards to your stay. We have not had any reports of any kinds of problems you've mentioned in any of our rooms. I would ask that you please contact me directly so that I may discuss your stay with you and determine which room you stayed in so that we may investigate and take remedial action on these issues.

We thank you for your business and we hope you will give us another chance to accommodate you on your next visit to Penticton.

Kindest Regards,
Betsy Hogg
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Inn at Penticton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Three of us stayed herein June. Rooms were comfortable and I liked the idea of being able to bring the car to the door of the room. Very private. The bathroom felt very cold and could do with painting the door of it as it looked somewhat shabby.The breakfast was really nice and a good selection. THe waitress was extremely helpful and advised us about where to visit in the area which we did on her advice and were not disappointed. Alll in all a very homely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHogg, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Marymccaberogan,

We would first like to thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us! We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with the quality of accommodations you deserve as one of our valued guests. I will be sure to compliment our breakfast room staff on their efforts as they work extremely hard and love to hear positive feedback.

I would appreciate very much if you would contact me directly so that I may gain more insight into the room in which you stayed so that we may investigate and take remedial action with regards to your comments about the bathroom in your room. We are currently undertaking a major renovation on our bathrooms and I would like to make sure that this is taken care of for the next time you return to stay with us!

We thank you for your business and we hope you will return to stay with us again in the future!

Kindest Regards,
Betsy Hogg
General Manger
Best Western PLUS Inn at Penticton
250-493-0311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotels in Penticton can be pricey and this hotel is not an exception. The entrance to most, if not all, rooms are from the outside so no hallways to navigate. The building is relatively older but well-maintained. My room was clean even though the carpeting was old. Breakfast was the usual fare in most Best Western hotels but it is a full breakfast with their famous "make your own" waffles. The best part of this hotel is the front desk staff, Tim, who welcomed us and took care of our needs and questions. If not for the price, I would rate this hotel higher. I can stay at another Best western hotel in the Okanagan for a lower price and much better accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHogg, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Pating,

We would like to thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us! We are pleased to know you were treated well by our staff and we will be sure to pass your comments along to them as they love to hear positive feedback! Our property is something we take great pride in making sure is maintained for our guests, and we appreciate our guests noticing our efforts to keep our facilities in good condition. I would appreciate very much if you contacted me directly so that we may better understand your concerns with the carpet in the room in which you stayed so that we may take remedial action. We will also be sure to take your concerns regarding pricing to our next team meeting and discuss it with our Executive team.

We thank you for your business and we hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Betsy Hogg
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Inn at Penticton
250-493-0311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our Midget lacrosse team had the pleasure of staying at the BestWestern Penticton. The rooms were clean and modern. The court yard with out door pool and barbque area was very pleasant. With a team of 15 and 16 year old boys you don't expect to relax, but the staff were amazing and the ability to swim both indoors and out made for good times. Breakfast was really well done and made for a great start to the day. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHogg, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Smithclan,

We would like to thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us! We are pleased to know we were able to provide the quality level of accommodations for your group that you deserve as our valued guests! I am happy to know you were able to make use of the amenities we have to offer at our facility and we are very glad to know you got to have a little relax time during a busy tournament weekend! We will be sure to pass your comments with regards to room cleanliness on to our housekeeping staff as they are always happy to hear that people are noticing their hard work!

We thank you for your business and we hope that you will return to stay with us on your next visit to Penticton!

Kind Regards,
Betsy Hogg
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Inn at Penticton
250-493-0311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a suite with 2 queen beds and a pull out couch. Great for families. Very clean and a decent amount of space. The two rooms are somewhat separated by a wall covering about 90%. It is not completely closed off. The side with the pull out couch was a little run down, somewhat ratty carpet, but other than that, everything seems well maintained and clean. We paid $168, with tax it brought it just over $200. We had to leave before 630am so we could not take advantage of the included breakfast. They have 2 pools, both were open, one indoor and one outside.

Room Tip: the suite is about 90% closed off between the 2 rooms. not quite a one bedroom suite, but close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHogg, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear JimCelineSamZachZoe,

We would first like to thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know we were able to provide the level of accommodations for you that you deserve as one of our valued guests. We are happy to know you were able to make use of our amenities and our indoor and outdoor pools during your visit. We will be sure to inspect the carpeting in that room to make sure it is up to the standard that we hold upon ourselves.

We thank you for your business and we hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Betsy Hogg
General Manager
Best Western PLUS Inn at Penticton
250-493-0311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton

Address: 3180 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Penticton
#6 Family Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In all seasons, the Best Western Plus Inn at Penticton truly is a resort for every traveler. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, you will appreciate our contemporary, spacious hotel rooms designed with your comfort in mind. The needs of our valued guests is our primary focus, which is why we offer quality furnishings and numerous amenities to suit our guests' every need. Most of our guest rooms overlook a large, beautifully landscaped courtyard with a heated swimming pool, barbecue pit and children's playground. Our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, in a lush tropical setting, offer unparalleled fun and relaxation. We also offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast for each of our registered guests in the morning. Whether your stay is for business, or for pleasure, our staff is continually working to exceed all expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At Penticton Hotel Penticton
Best Western Hotel Penticton
Penticton Best Western
Best Western Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.