We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a hit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wouda's Bakery

Wouda's Bakery
1848 Main Street | 146-1848 Main Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5H2, Canada
250 490 3050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 157 restaurants in Penticton
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Dutch
Restaurant details
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“always a hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

love this place, everything from their sandwhiches to their cheesecakes tastes wonderful.
I always take guests here for a treat and it's always a hit!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    22
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Unity, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cheese Kaisers mmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Bakery is a gem in the little Okanagan Market Mall area. Heavenly treats, both the sweets and the staples. Incredibly fresh - we stopped at 9:30 am and they had to bring the buns we wanted from the back because they weren't cool enough to put out on the shelves yet. We didn't eat in the bakery, though they have ample choices to do so.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver b.c.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Squeaky clean bakery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arriving soon after opening, the selection of breads, buns and pastries looked scrumptious as did the fresh and colorful salads. Since this was my first time to Wouda’s, I wanted to find something healthy-ish for breakfast but the allure of the whole cherry pie called out to me.
With table seating available in the bakery, I decided to tuck into a few bites immediately. Sadly though, as a pie aficionado, I have to report that the cherry pie was dry, lacked sweetness and had too much amaretto in it.
I also purchased a cheese bun and it too was a bit dry but did have a lot of cheesy flavor to it. My husband's bran muffin was dark and dense and it seemed to be okay for him.
Service is friendly and efficient with the bakery room itself being very brightly lit and very clean.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lots of treats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Popped by here last week while in Penticton. Great selection of cookies, pastries and other treats. Everything was fresh and tasted great. We relaxed, had a coffee and ate our treats. Kids loved the coconut cream pie tarts. We actually went to go back a second time, but it was closed on the Sunday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C. Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Cheese Buns and goodies...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Located in the Apple Plaza in Penticton, Wouda's is one of the best...if not the best...bakeries in town. The twisted cheese buns are awesome. Everything is fresh and tasty. It is a nice place to go and have a bowl of soup and bun. It is very popular with the locals which is always a good sign. Certain popular items sell out quickly. The staff is very professional and respectful. Would totally recommend. The only down side is that it is closed on Mondays.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wouda's Bakery also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Wouda's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wouda's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.