We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the HEART of it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vancouver House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penticton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vancouver House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Vancouver House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
497 Vancouver Avenue, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Penticton B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In the HEART of it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Bob and Jane run a great B&B with the most awesome location.

This trip to Penticton was a mini-vino-moon for my wife and I who were married in August. We stayed two nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. Breakfast was great and the carbs were just what we needed to fuel us on our KVR/wine-tour.

The RETREAT Suite was perfect for us with its separate entrance allowing privacy and separation. Special Honeymoon chocolates were prepared for us and we enjoyed them on our own private little patio. The only tradeoff for seclusion and privacy was that the Suite doesn't get a ton of natural light due to it being on the bottom level and on the back of the house. Minor really, but felt it was important to let others know.

LOCATION was simply superb. Steps from a winery (Perseus), moments from a beach-walk, bike-trails and central to great dining spots and town. Make sure you check out what's happening for live evening music at The Dream Cafe.

We will most certainly be back to visit Bob and Jane.

Room Tip: If you want privacy choose the Retreat suite. The rooms in the main house which we saw look right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The hosts are great peiople, very kind and helpful, Jane drove us to a nearby trail so that we could enjoy a longer walk, something that we very much appreciated. Located close to the lake and restuarants (if you have worn off breakfast) you can easily walk and enjoy the north end of the town.
Bob's cooking is amazing; we have never left the breakfast table so full and satisfied as when we are staying at Vanocuver House. The little extra touches, china cups and silver service, add another level of charm to the atmosphere in their home.
We have enjoyed our stays in their home and can't wait to go back. Thanks Jane and Bob.

Room Tip: there is no such thing as a bad room, each one has a special charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensburg, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a great time at the Vancouver House B&B. Jane and Bob were perfect hosts and we loved the breakfast. It's also great to meet other guests and "sit long, talk much".
We stayed at the Wicker Suite which is spacious. The location is good too, it's just a short walk to the front/main street and also to the the nice trails. Penticton is a nice town and we enjoyed visiting the wineries nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night in June in the Heritage suite. The property is centrally located within easy walking distance of both the lake and town. It is spotlessly clean, and hosts Bob and Jane were very welcoming. Bobs breakfast was amazing. We have stayed at various 5 star hotels throughout the world and can confidently say that it was the best we have ever had. Fresh fruit salad, eggs Benedict, and home made muffins. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at Vancouver House B&B in August 2011 for a big anniversary trip. After a few days at a fancy, expensive retreat-type hotel outside Penticton, we were dying to get closer to town. This B&B was perfect -- a quick walk to the center of town, yet just enough down the street to avoid noise. Jane and Bob were perfect hosts. The room was pretty, breakfast was delicious, and they went to great lengths to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

We were just down the street from the wonderful Penticton market, and our hosts knew a lot about the area and gave us a lot of helpful tips about where to go. I can't recommend it highly enough -- we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We saw both suites and both are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Vancouver House in July, 2011, over the long weekend at the start of August. It is a fabulous time to be in Penticton as there is so much going on. Our stay at Vancouver House was extremely enjoyable, made all the more pleasant by the ever helpful Jane and Bob.

They have a lovely property which is extremely well maintained. It is very well situated for many different activities. Jane and Bob were able to point out many different things in the neighbourhood.

We are bicyclists and their property is just a few minutes (up hill) to the bicycle path that runs on the east side of Okanagan Lake. We were able to do a relatively easy bike ride to Hillside Estate Winery from the B&B for lunch (which was a real treat).

Jane and Bob are very friendly and welcoming. They essentially give you the run of the place and it is an excellent place to have this privilege. We had a wonderful dinner (food we picked up from the deli just down the street) on their patio which faces northwest towards Lake Okanagan. The view is spectacular and the sunsets are just like a postcard. Jane and Bob provided us with a portable fireplace to make the evening comfortable, rustic, and totally memorable.

Additionally, the B&B is just am easy walk to the town centre and the lake front.

The B&B is well appointed and the rooms do not disappoint in any way.

We had a great couple of days at this B&B and would recommend it without any qualifications.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Great bed and breakfast - location perfect, accomodations exceeded anything a hotel could've offered, breakfast superb and hosts very gracious. Bob and Jane were wonderful. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Wicker suite which was located upstairs. We were there for a one night's accomodations for the last day of the wine festival and we found this location to be ideal. KVR trail was close by and so was the main street. I couldn't of asked for a better spot or more sincere hosts. If I ever find myself in Penticton again, I surely hope they have room for me.

Room Tip: Phone number on website incorrect - it leads to a fax machine. Use 1-250-276-3737.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vancouver House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vancouver House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 497 Vancouver Avenue, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vancouver House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.