We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Grande Inn to your Saves list
Casa Grande Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Unit #201 1070 Lakeshore Drive W., Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Penticton B&B and Inns
Armstrong, Canada
1 review
“A wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Grande for two nights over our anniversary. We were in Penticton for a concert. Elise, the manager, was amazing...so kind, and made us feel very welcome. She was available if we needed anything, and happily answered any questions we had about the area, etc. The location is fantastic, right on the beach, at the beginning of the boardwalk just around the corner from Salty's, about a 15 min walk from the South Okanagan Events Centre, and 10-15 min walk to downtown. Very quiet, clean, comfortable room; we stayed in 'El Presidente', and there was no noise from the street whatsoever. We had a parking spot right at the front of the building. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch, great coffee, and lots of variety for a continental. It felt like staying at home; we look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: 'el Presidente' was great: an inside room so that you are not exposed to street traffic. Kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a beautiful inn with lovely rooms and every room has a balcony (ours was shared with another suite). The woman running the inn is very nice as is her little terrier, Happy :) The dog is perfect, never barks, so don't be worried about that. She prepares breakfast for you every morning, and some people complained about the food, but it states it is a continental breakfast and she does everything herself for upwards of 8 people a day. I think some reviews were unfair, there's plenty of food and coffee and she makes fresh muffins.

My only complaint was there is only a fridge in the room, no microwave. We had some leftovers from a night out and wanted to heat them up for lunch so we asked to use the microwave in the kitchen. She allowed us, however "guests are not allowed to use the kitchen" so it was kind of a big deal to reheat some food.

Other than that, nice and clean room, super comfy bed, great balcony, great view and great location, right across the street from the beach :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the Siesta Room of the Casa Grande Inn in early June 2013. We picked the Siesta Room because it is pet-friendly. We were going to bring our cat along for the trip but hotel pet-friendly rooms are almost always located on the 1st floor. At Casa Grande, we had our own private entrance (up 2 flights of stairs) and a private partially-covered patio with 2 chairs, a table, and 2 lounge chairs. We had a partial view of the lake and a children's playground on the beach. The room was big with a king bed, a small table with 2 chairs and wine glasses, a cube mini-bar fridge and big open closet area. It had hardwood floors and lots of room for our cat's bed and other supplies. The furnishings were quite modern and the bathroom had a skylight in the ceiling, bringing lots of light into room.

Generally, I am not a fan of B&B's because there is less flexibility in breakfast hours and breakfast items. I prefer the continental breakfasts in hotels where I don't have to pre-plan the time to eat breakfast and what I feel like eating the next morning. At Casa Grande Inn, you can have breakfast any time between 7 to 10am and select from various continental breakfast items just like in chain hotels. My favourite item was the sliced fresh fruits: cantaloupe, honeydew melon, bananas, pineapple, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, etc. During fruit season in the Okanagan Valley, no doubt there would be an even greater variety of fruits. As a courtesy, I would recommend letting Elise know if you are leaving early the next morning or skipping breakfast altogether so she can prepare accordingly as she makes sure that there are enough hot breakfast items for everyone. You have the option of eating breakfast on the balcony overlooking Okanagan Lake or sit at the dining table inside, chat with other guests or watch the morning news on the big TV.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay for my husband, me, and our cat. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A beautiful house located directly on the beach of Penticton. 5 min. by car from Main Street. Poor car traffic around, very quiet during the night. Access to the room private which is good. Room clean. Some limits however: in our room the shower exited directly on the bed place (Ok for couples, but for others could be ... disturbing); breakfast excellent, but total absence of the host (she apologized to have to manage some cancellations in emergency, but seemed annoyed and didn't pay attention to us at all, leaving us with the feeling of disturbing her ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I live down the beach from this impressive bed and Breakfast. Yesterday my curiosity got the best of me and I rang the doorbell.
While I have never stayed there, the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff made me want to recommend it.
They have created a comfortable and warm home away from home for their guests. A variety of rooms from the small hideaway to the spacious Grande. Reasonable prices with the highest in high season well below $200. The view is spectacular from the balconies overlooking the lake. Several excellent restaurants are less than a block away; Sicamous, scooter, bike rentals, and Loco Landing are across the street.
Looking for a gorgeous place to spend a few days, try it.

Room Tip: Ask them. The hidaway is tiny, the sesta doesn't have the best view. Tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Staying at the Casa Grande is OK at best. The best comparison would be a moderately priced hotel, not a comfortable/quaint B&B. The food is the same quality as Holiday Inn 'Express' and the quantity is much to be desired, the Food Nazi is watching your every move and hints that she does not want to prepare more food, so what little there is eat has to feed you and the remaining guests--one, maybe two hard boiled eggs and ONE small bowl of fruit salad; this has certainly not been our experience in other B&Bs where you can hardly squeeze in any more food after an amazing breakfast (try Vancouver House for an amazing breakfast and a quality room).
We stayed in the Hideaway Suite which comprises of a small room with a bed, nothing else fits-except a small shower and toilet. This room has a wonderful balcony and if the weather is nice enough you can enjoy sitting on the small balcony however if the weather is poor, you are sitting on your bed; the room is so small that there is no room for anything else. We also found the room noisy; you hear the street noise (we thought the window was open--it wasn't) and at 3:30 in the morning their newspaper is delivered, beside your door, and you get an early morning wake-up call, which is fine if you want to get up at 3:30 in the morning, on my time off, not so much.
The decor is lack-lustre and the bedding is cheap. Read the other reviews carefully, as the hostess is everything that is written and more. You will hear much about nothing...!

This will be not be my first choice when returning to Penticton.

Room Tip: Try Vancouver House B & B, it is close by, within walking distance of the lake and the Kettle Va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The premises are very nice and well located across from the beach (Okanagan Lake), plus close to a variety of bars, restaurants, attractions.
We did find the breakfast very poor though with little effort put into it.... consider yucky cold hard boiled eggs and the likes of string cheese greeting you in the morning. And, we were not impressed with the hostess's (Elise) negative attititute, her lack of warmth and her guests having to hear her constant complaining - it made us feel uncomfortable. So, as lovely as the premises are, it is doubtful that we will return in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony was a good size but did not offer a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Inn

Address: Unit #201 1070 Lakeshore Drive W., Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Grande Inn is right across from Okanagan beach, the rose garden, mini golf, river channel float and the SS Sicamous. You'll love the warm hospitality, Mexican architecture, and fine antiques. Casa Grande Inn has 6 gorgeous rooms, incredible lake or mountain view patios, and can offer bike lock up in the garage. Book a wine tour, take a lake cruise, visit a fruit stand, go skiing or golfing, or enjoy great restaurants and live music around town. Join our facebook group for specials and events. Call to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.