We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional location and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serenata Guesthouse Retreat

Save Saved
You added Serenata Guesthouse Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serenata Guesthouse Retreat
1056 Corbishley Ave., Penticton, British Columbia V2A 8V3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MID WEEK SPECIAL
Ranked #1 of 25 Penticton B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Exceptional location and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying for one week at Serenata, as a base to explore the Okanagan valley. Naramata is by far the most beautiful place in Okanagan, and it was the perfect place being central in the Okanagan, out of which to explore other regions. Everything was exceptional - the hosts Colleen and Jake were so warm and cared for every detail of our stay in a very personalized way, the gardens were exquisite - a real oasis of tranquility, Colleen's breakfasts were exceptional and different everyday and always made with the freshest of ingredients, the rooms were clean, well decorated, spacious and of the highest standard. The view onto the Naramata bench and Okanagan Lake was unsurpassed. And... Colleen's wine-making ability shows here true artistic strengths - her wines were of the best quality we were able to find in the entire Okanagan. I recommend Serenata for anyone looking for that exceptional stay. The value for money and quality is of the highest I've ever found in my travels across the globe. Congratulations and Thank you Colleen and Jake for making our week so special!!

Room Tip: Luxury Valley view room was exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
56
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow, what a fabulous place. We needed a little get away for some greatly needed relaxation. Could not have picked a better place. As soon as we turned into the drive way, and into the beautiful landscaped grounds, stress started melting away. Once we settled into the rooms, it was off to the patio to enjoy a chilled bottle of wine from Jake & Colleen's winery and a plate of fresh fruit and cheese. Fabulous way to start our 3 day stay. Jake and Colleen are incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. They recommended restaurants, made reservations, helped book a wine tour and a variety of other miscellaneous things from fruit stands to hiking trails. The rooms were beautiful - newly decorated with lots of old word charm (no sterile cookie cutter hotel rooms here). Each morning Colleen prepared a delicious breakfast - something different and yummy each day (personal favourite was the french toast - but everything was great). Thank you Jake & Colleen for providing this oasis of tranquility and making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Penticton for 2 weeks every year for the last 10 years. This year I decided to try something different for our anniversary and figured we needed a night away from the family and kids. I took my wife to the Serenata as a surprise. I was looking for peace, quiet and serenity as well as a little romance. Well, we received way more than that! What an incredible stay with Jake and Colleen. The second we walked in the door we felt like we had been coming here for years. The hospitality is incredible! Everything was perfect for that one night getaway for my wife and I. Needless to say we will be returning next year. The only thing that would make the experience even better would be to develop that awesome little lookout point and cut down that little Christmas tree. Thank you guys so much! See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were three days on the Naramata Bench to taste and tipple in early August 2013 and we chose Serenata on fairly short notice via their website. No regrets! We were very pleasantly surprised. Through the gates and up the drive to a lovely, purpose-built guesthouse - not a B&B (although the included breakfast was a delight) and not a hotel (too small and friendly). Surrounded by lovely grounds and gardens, with some great views - especially from the Adirondack chairs at the lookout. The room we had was nicely furnished and the bed very comfortable. Jake and Colleen treat you like family and, if you like to taste wine, they are excellent guide / advisors as they own and operate the 3 Mile winery just down the Bench road. It's like having best friends who run a winery and specialize in hospitality. Make sure to taste their Shiraz!!

Room Tip: We were in a room that is actually part of a larger, family sized suite and we had our own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Serenata two weekends in July. Both times it was like staying at a friend's house. Colleen and Jake are so gracious and welcoming. Jake even drove us to and from a wine club event. Breakfast every morning was delicious and a wonderful time to socialize with other guests. The grounds are beautiful, would be a great setting for a small wedding. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rednitzhembach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

First of all it was a nearly perfect stay.
Serenata Guesthouse is In the middle of a beautiful garden with many cosy corners where you can relax. The big-sized rooms have great views in the garden or to the lake.
The interior design is new but a little bit too old- fashioned for modern- European taste (carpets and artificial flowers). And the towles smelled a little bit.
The hosts, Jake an Colleen, were very nice and supporting.
Colleen prepared the breakfast by herself and the most guests were enthusiastic about it. but you have to be used to healthy North-American breakfasts. Every guest got the same: some warm egg dish with potatoes. Nothing for European stomachs.

Room Tip: Room number 4 is the biggest and the only one with an own balcony (with lake view) and yakuzi. And i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen419, Owner at Serenata Guesthouse Retreat, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
To respond to your "nearly perfect stay" review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.at Serenata and that the rest of your trip in Canada was a great experience. I wish to comment on some of your review as I feel some people may get the wrong impression of our Guesthouse. The comment "old fashioned" is not really fitting to Serenata but the word ornate would better describe the quality furnishings and décor. The newer luxurious carpet in the upper floor is designed to better insulate for noise for the lower floor rooms and there are a few tasteful silk topiary but we also have fresh flowers throughout the building. Our linen is fresh laundered so I am not sure what smell you refer to, possibly the detergent we use is quite different than the European type. When it comes to one of our breakfasts and your reference to an omelette as "some warm egg dish with potatoes" I have to say that everyone loves these farm fresh omelettes from our own organic free range chickens on site) made with fresh peppers, mushrooms, green onions, tomatoes, aged cheddar cheese etc. with pan seared new potatoes, toasted grain bread accompanied by fresh herbs and fruits, fresh orange juice and coffee/tea. Sounds a little more appetizing. We would have gladly prepared something more to European taste if requested.The final comment on our mention of Bill Cosby's stay and our nickname "the Cosby Suite" is just a little humor. I wanted to make sure no one misses out on the opportunity to having a wonderful vacation experience with us by misinterpreting your comments. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in the large room upstairs where Bill Crosby had once stayed, and it was absolutely lovely. Bed was super comfortable, air temperature nice and cool, very quiet and private, a lovely balcony with a great view. Jake and Colleen were extremely flexible to our schedule, and really made us feel welcome in their house. We arrived late, and also had a super early morning before the Granfondo. DELICIOUS Breakfast from Colleen. A perfect romantic get away, and quiet location from which to check out Penticton, Naramata, wineries etc. Bathroom complete with soaker tub and French style bidet! What fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serenata Guesthouse Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenata Guesthouse Retreat

Address: 1056 Corbishley Ave., Penticton, British Columbia V2A 8V3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful Vineyard Retreat overlooking the Okanagan Lake & Valley within the heart of the Naramata Bench Wine Region. Offering Elegant and Luxurious Accommodations on 10 acres of pristine hillside with spectacular views of the surrounding orchards, vineyards with stunning valley and lake views. Choose 1 of 4 beautiful Luxury Guestrooms or enjoy the total privacy of the Courtyard Suite offering 1, 2 or 3 bedroom options for an intimate or group getaway. All offer sophistication within a setting of pure comfort with special touches that promote pure relaxation, romance or adventure. It is all here just waiting for you to explore at Serenata...on the Naramata Bench. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Serenata Guesthouse Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenata Guesthouse Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.