We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, simple accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Sunny Beach Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Beach Motel
3648 Parkview Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 hotels in Penticton
Orpington, Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good, simple accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent one night at the Sunny Beach on a road trip. The accommodation was clean and comfortable though one cold tell that there had previously been smokers in the room despite this now being banned. The motel is in very good location near to the lake. You do have to drive a little way to find restaurants for dinner and breakfast though. For simple basic accommodation where you are only looking for a bed for the night then the Sunny Beach is more than adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
14
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The rooms are a wee bit dated, (old tv's !! ) but they are clean and have everything you need. The Owners are very accommodating by trying to help your stay be comfortable. The price is right and the location is fun! We stayed in a standard room on the first floor.

Room Tip: If you want something glamorous, this is not the motel for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I booked 2 nights at this motel as it was located in the area of Penticton that we like. Unfortunately, the motel we usually prefer to stay in was unavailable. The room was an 'ok' size. However,the washroom was so small, that you had to stand in the shower beside the toilet to open and close the washroom door (It wasn't fun to do this in the middle of the night). The bed was dreadful and horribly uncomfortable as both the mattress and box spring were wrapped in plastic!! With only a blanket and a fitted sheet between you and the plastic, you can imagine how your skin felt lying on it. Our second night there, we took the top sheet off the bed and slept on top of the bedspread. My husband did have a cup of coffee from the machine included in the room on our first morning there. We left for the day to come back to find that the cleaning person had replaced the coffee itself, but not the dirty mug. I guess the guests were supposed to wash and reuse them??
Overall, we were anxious to check out as we were so displeased with our stay. Definitely not worth the $115 per night!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family of five stayed during the Canada Day long weekend in one of the two-bedroom suites with a living/dining area and kitchenette. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The kitchenette had a stove, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster and a few cooking implements as well as dishes.

We BBQ'd and had a relaxing dinner on one of the upstairs deck/patio area. The location is great - very close to the beach, which made it great when we had to run back and forth between the motel for meals or other incidentals. The kids played tennis and enjoyed the nearby playground and water park.

The staff and management were very accommodating. We would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We just recently spent three nights at Sunny Beach along with our dog and our stay was wonderful. The owners are fantastic, warm and friendly. Our room had a separate bedroom, a kitchen/living area with windows in two directions facing the lake and park. Large patio areas are available for all to enjoy (including 4 legged guests). Our room was very clean and well supplied. If you're looking for a fully renovated/modern accommodation this place isn't for you...if you're looking for an enjoyable experience combined with hospitality and a super location this place is for you. Thank you Sunny Beach

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a full kitchen bachelor suite. All dishes and appliances. Stayed for two days but could have stayed for week or two very comfortably. Staff went out of their way to ensure we had a suitable room and everything we needed for our stay. They have a deck and patio areas to enjoy the sun, bbq and visit. Had a chance to see a few other units and this would be a great place for large groups or families as they have two bedroom suites with kitchens. No pool but beach is two minutes away. Great price as we travelled late May/early June. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed a week in this very basic motel, the rooms seemed clean and the pastic covered mattress was noisy but comfortable. Because we booked online I was refused the advertised lower rate. I had booked a kitchenette, the room had a working fridge, coffee maker but no microwave, which was provided on request. The room walls were very thin and I was almost able to make out conversations in adjoining rooms. The rooms on either side seemed to be used when the motel was not full, so this was annoying. Staff and owner were friendly and helpful and kept me in coffee! The parking is a little tight if you are not driving a small car.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for second story room if you are staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunny Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Beach Motel

Address: 3648 Parkview Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunny Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Beach Hotel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.