We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunny Beach Motel to your Saves list
Sunny Beach Motel
3648 Parkview Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Moose Jaw
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adequate accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed a week in this very basic motel, the rooms seemed clean and the pastic covered mattress was noisy but comfortable. Because we booked online I was refused the advertised lower rate. I had booked a kitchenette, the room had a working fridge, coffee maker but no microwave, which was provided on request. The room walls were very thin and I was almost able to make out conversations in adjoining rooms. The rooms on either side seemed to be used when the motel was not full, so this was annoying. Staff and owner were friendly and helpful and kept me in coffee! The parking is a little tight if you are not driving a small car.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for second story room if you are staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in Sunny Beach motel (3 adults) for 3 nights. The suite comprised of 2 double bedrooms, kitchen / living area and bathroom. It was very clean and a good size for 3 adults. Just outside our suite was a balcony, with patio table a chairs - ideal for enjoying a sundowner (or 2!). Don't be put off by the misspelling on the sign - "quiet" not "quite"!. The motel's position is good - opposite a park area a few yards from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon. All we wanted was a simple little place that was clean and comfortable and close to the beach. The prices at Sunny beach were unbeatable, location was fabulous, and the rooms were fine. The owner was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at Sunny Beach motel again next time we are in Penticton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed twice now as the prices were cheaper. I have stayed in 2 different rooms. The 2 rooms I stayed in look nothing like the pictures shown on the website. Guess I stayed in the rooms that they have been unable to update the look????

I noticed how dirty my floors were the next morning, black as a matter a fact. Made me wonder about the carpets and bedding. The bed spread must be from the 60's so that came off right away. I used white Kleenex to swab the floor in the bathroom to the living room (3 different swabs) where each swab was black with dirt. I went to the front desk to be told that it was most likely my fault from leaving the door open and the dirt blowing in??? Are you kidding me!

I had noticed this the next morning after spilling a little of my coffee on the floor and went to wipe it up, the cloth was black which then made me bring a little more light into the room then wow, holy filthy floors!! I ended up getting a mop and pail and washing the floors myself. There is a 1st for everything! I am not a clean freak by any means but this was terrible.

Not once was I given a "I am so sorry, let us take care of things for you. Instead I was made to feel bad for complaining about dirty floors. I was then for the next few days treated very UNFRIENDLY. I will not stay there ever again. For $30 more I stayed in a Super 8 which was Super!!

Way to lose a guest Sunny Beach! Why don't you try actually showing the pictures of what most of the rooms look like instead of maybe a couple that have been remodeled and updated.

I would NOT recommend this motel at all. Not only a terrible room but no customer service what so ever. I am not hard to please believe me, when leaving I was still upset but smiled and said nothing. They were still cold and unfriendly when I was checking out. Totally unbelievable!!

LSonney.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Sunny beach Motel period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I just stay there the last weekend (Sept 2012) and the place look really poor for my opinion, when we got at the reception the owner (I guess) was cooking curry chicken and the hole place smell really strong, he had a dog right there and the pet received us barking that gave me a bad impression...

The room was clean and it has everything to cook, but there were a smell like old.. as usual there were lots of kids running and screaming close to my room and I dont like the noise.

The staff is friendly and nice, but regarless the motel I would choose another place the next time.

It is not that bad, but it is not the best place....

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We wanted a clean place to stay that was close to Skaha Lake, and we got exactly that. This motel has no frills, but the rooms were clean, the beds were okay (we brought our own pillows to avoid 'motel neck'), and the owners were nice.

The kitchenette is small - good for quick meals, and the patios are nice for eating outside. Our room did not have a microwave, but the basic appliances all worked just fine.

The best things about this hotel is how clean they keep it, and the teenagers being able to walk to the lake whenever they wanted, without the whole family having to pile into the car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coquitlam
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have been at this motel a few times. For location, price and amenities that this little place provides, you and your family are going to get the best bang for your buck. If you are looking for clean, fully equipped, and close to Skaha beach this is the place. We were there for the Ironman weekend, our two bedroom, living room, and full kitchen were great to feed two small kids breakfast and lunch so that we can go out for dinner later. The beach was just a couple of steps away and so was the waterpark. Perfect for when the wind picked up and we had to go back to our place in a hurry. Overall we had a great time because of how close this was to the water. Also the drive to the Okanogan lake area where a lot of restaurants are was about 6 minutes by car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sunny Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Beach Motel

Address: 3648 Parkview Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunny Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Beach Hotel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.