We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and nothing works” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Motel

Plaza Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Motel to your Saves list
Plaza Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1485 Main St, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5G4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
1 review
“Dirty and nothing works”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I called a day prior to checking in, and asked what's in the room. I was told microwave, coffee maker, mini fridge , hair dryer and flat screen tv are in every room. When I got there I was surprised to find no microwave and hair dryer were not in my room. I complained to front dest and they brought me a dryer (no microwave). To my surprise dryer didn't work. I had to call front desk yet again and they brought me an extension coed. When I checked fridge it was warm in side and my food was getting warm, I'm guessing it did not work too. Room was Very dirty. Non smoking room smelled horrible of cigarettes. That flat screen tv was in fact old a tv from 90's. I checked out of there within 2h. Staff were helpfully but it was the hotel it self that was bad. They offered a full money refund.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I spent four nights there recently.
The staff/management are very nice and accommodating.
For a 3 star type, it's ok.
The kitchen and bedroom were fine.
The TV was large and worked well.
We were disappointed that the pool was closed.
Had been looking forward to that.
The showers were very unpredictable however.
And the towels were overused/old!
Also, the doors won't stay closed unless you use the deadbolt.
This is a challenge when more than one person is using the room.
I think it would be fine in summer.
Easily accessible from the parking lot to the main floor.
Personally I like an inside hallway ~ feels safer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband, daughter, our dog, my mom and i all stayed 2 nights after having 4 crappy nights next door at the Carmi. We were so happy to see how clean the rooms where, roomy and comfortable. The staff were amazing and we cant wait to stay here again every summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spend two nights at the Plaza Motel in Penticton and I leave with a sour taste.
The owner was kind and helpful but it is the accommodation which riles me. For $100.00 + tax I expected a bit more luxury. This is a two story motel, wood frame. It has no appeal. The rooms are about 10 feet in width with the only fenestration up front and a small window in the bath room. So it is rather dark inside. The outside temperature was +30 degrees Celsius, the inside temperature not much lower. There is a window type air conditioner which makes enough noise as being bothersome when one wants to get some sleep. When I turned the tap for the shower some brown water came out first. Rust? The toilet paper roll is so far away that one has to bend forward to grasp a sheet. I got long arms but I feel sorry for the shorter guy/doll. I wanted economy as I only used the place to change and get some sleep. I got economy but I am sure there are better places to spend a hundred bucks + for a room.

Room Tip: I should have chosen a room at the Lake side as after biking for 80 kilometres I needed to emerge me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My Aunt and my mom stayed in the plaza motel as they were visiting a family member in the Penticton hospital.The room was so small that im pretty sure my bathroom at home is bigger. The bath towels were not even big enough to dry a baby. The were fist holes in the wall and heater. When the room was booked the owner said there was a flat screen T.V in the room and the bed was a queen.Well the T.V old and by no means a flat screen and the bed may have been a double. There were no light bulbs in the lights so you couldn't see to go into the bathroom. I would not let my work enemy stay at the Plaza motel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Plaza Motel is under New Management. The rooms are like new, they have been renovated with fresh paint,appliances,bedding,etc.There is FREE WiFi ,getting connected to the internet.The Plaza Motel had a great location,and very friendly new management. Ill be back next year.Good Job

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Dirty, shower turned very hot at a moment's notice. No room attention for days. No clock, no coffee. Kitchenette but no microwave. Too pricey for what we got, but I guess it was the only thing available. Free WiFi!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motel

Address: 1485 Main St, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5G4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.