We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+++++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Log Cabin Motel to your Saves list
Log Cabin Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3287 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A+++++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our home away from home. All praise, no complaints at all from this family of 7. Owners are very hospitable. Clean, comfortable, very spacious, well maintained, heated outdoor pool, turn key, great location, walking distance from the beach....what more can we say..We give it a A++++++++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Public Relations Manager at Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words Melissa. Hoping to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here two summers ago for two nights. On our last night we had been out for dinner at Anothony's pub across the street and when we returned had a few drinks in our cabin. Before turning in for the night I noticed a zip up bag on the top shelf of our closet. When we opened we were VERY surprised to find used heroin needles and empty dime bags that were clearly once filled with the drug. We immediately took this to the owners attention. He was VERY rude and acted as though he had no idea what it was or why it might be there. He ended up taking 20$ off our total, which I think is a crock considering how dangerous those needles are. Imagine a family had been staying in this cabin and a child had found them? We took lots of pictures just in case the owner tried to deny it. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the review Chelsea. We welcome all feedback, good and bad. I remember your stay here because it was an unprecedented occurrence. As you stated, you did not even find the bag yourself until your last night in the room, meaning it was not in full view for our cleaning staff.

I am sorry you thought my behaviour was rude.

This was the first time since 1986 that such an incident occurred. It was defiantly an isolated incident.

Since your brought this to our attention we are more diligent in checking our room after clients leave.

We are a family oriented motel with 80% of our clients being repeat customers who have been coming here to 17 years and who would certainly vouch for our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Both times I have stayed here the owner has been very kind and helpful . The first time we stayed in a 2 level suite with a jacuzzi . Last time was a basic room , but it was very well taken care of . Penticton is small enough , so it is easy to get around . The motel is very close to Skaha Lake . This is my place to stay whenever we visit in the future .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Guest Relations Manager at Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review Skwiki. I will pass the glowing comments on to Leon. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Log Cabin a few times in recent years. I was very surprised when Leon, the owner, remembered me when I checked in as it had been a few years since my last stay. As I was uncertain of the length of time I was staying due to a death in my family, Leon was very accommodating and booked me a one bedroom kitchen unit, so I would be more comfortable during this stressful time. The unit was very clean.

The 1st floor unit was quiet, spacious, the bed very comfortable, had windows that opened and individual thermostat controlled temperature.

I was very impressed and moved that the hotel proprietor would the go a second mile checking on me when my car hadn't moved or been seen for a day, to ensure that I was alright or if I needed anything.

I ended up staying 5 days, and was grateful when Leon adjusted the nightly rate on check out.

I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo BC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Log Cabin for 3 nights at the Penticton Dragon Boating Festival last week. Our room had a queen and single bed as well as a small pull out couch in living room. Room had kitchen facilities and was kept clean. Nothing fancy about this place BUT clean,access to bbq, close to beach and restaurants. We enjoyed the pool with friends. Close walking distance to restaurants and essentials. Would stay again if looking for no frills but clean and practical accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at log cabin. Check in fast, rooms clean and comfortable. Priced right for style of motel, $75 for mid week. Its no frills but nice pool and barbque area and close to skaha beach.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. Very friendly, helpful. Beautiful spot and very nice room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Log Cabin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin Motel

Address: 3287 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Log Cabin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented Motel. We are a block and a half to the beach and major shopping. The pool is heated to a very nice warm temperature. There are BBQ's and picnic table to cook and entertain all day long. Your children will love playing in the grassy area with lots of children’s toys to climb on. Leon will great you with a friendly smile upon your arrival. We also have two Jacuzzi sweets, perfect for a special getaway with your sweetheart, or for newlyweds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Log Cabin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Log Cabin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.