We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Motel to your Saves list
Empire Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3495 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Yuma, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Stayed 2 nights while my husband was waiting for an opening in the surgery schedule at Penticton Regional Hospital. Jag & his wife were very accommodating in that they held our room for a second night in the event that we would be too late to drive home after being discharged from the hospital. Immaculate rooms, very comfortable beds with many touches that reminded one of home.Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think that most rooms would be more than acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
we really appreciate you taking your time out to write a review on our property. Thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Arrived without having booked with 2 cousins on Friday 12th September. Lucky to get a room. Although an older place it was very clean, well kitted out and excellent value. Very comfy beds, quiet at night and would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking time out to write a review on our property. Hopefully, we will see you in future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This is the third time I have stayed in this motel, and I plan on making this my motel of choice whenever I go back to Penticton. The rooms all have slightly different decor, very clean and welcoming...almost like coming home. The beds are comfy, and clean. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, and I found, very accommodating. Coffee/tea are provided. Of course, there is no smoking in the rooms, but they provide 2chairs, a small table and an ashtray outside each room for those folks who do smoke. I have recommended the Empire to friends and will continue to do so. Thank you to the staff for a very pleasant stay.
Caroline S

Room Tip: I prefer the court side rooms that overlook the pool as they are a bit quieter and the scenery is ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay again. Thank you for your business again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this motel since it was an older one. Their "claim to fame" is that their rooms were unique. We saw three of the rooms and they were indeed each configured differently. Although the weather stripping had come away from one side of the door frame, and the door bolt only went half way, we still felt secure and were satisfied with the room. It was clean and the bed was comfy. The front desk manager was very friendly and accommodating. Our room overlooked the courtyard where there was a swimming pool, a couple of gazebos and BBQs. It would be a great place for a family. Being off season (late September 2014), the rate was very reasonable and we felt that we got good value for our money.

Room Tip: Take a look a several rooms before staying because each room is different and each room may have dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time out to write a review on our property. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Great family motel with reasonable prices. Best rooms are those with full kitchens (no dishwasher though so be ready). Those with bedrooms have decent closet space and some have bunk beds for the kids. Smaller rooms are tight on space with very limited counter space in the kitchen area. Out-dated equipment, furniture and finishings but it will do. Outside area is great with pool, children's play area, picnic tables and several BBQ's in the court yard. It is not directly across from Skaha Lake as noted as it is a bit of a walk to get there. Lights in the court yard area close at 11pm but we have seen it shut down at 10:30pm - then everyone needs to head back to their rooms and be quiet. Little far from town so you definitely need a vehicle. Good staff. This motel fills up quickly in the summer months with all the events in the local area so finding more than one room is a challenge. Previous summer's guests tend to book as soon as they leave even though the owner says that he does not take new bookings until October. One of the rooms smelled like wet dog so it needed to be aired out. The AC units in the main room are incredibly loud and can be quiet a challenge to sleep to at night.

Room Tip: Although it can be a tad loud, it is not terrible and it is nicer view to face the pool area rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thanks for writing a review on our property. I know you were disappointed that you could not book for next year on different dates, But according to our motel policy you can only book the same dates for next year. Most of our guests been staying with us every summer for last 10-15 years and it is not fair to give their spot to some one else. I think we already have discussed this via e-mail. By the way that wet dog smell was our Ozone Generator smell that we had to put in that room to kill the cooking smell from previous guests. we always try our best to provide comfort and relaxing environment for our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitscoty
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We absolutely love this place. To our kids, when we arrive at the empire after a 1200 km drive there is a sense of home away from home. We have stayed 7 years in a row and have booked for next year. Jag and his staff are excellent!! Love it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you guys for taking time out to write a review on our property. we look forward to welcome you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our second year at the Empire. It's a very clean and maintained. The staff there are just great people, it's close to the beach and other shopping needs. It's very family oriented ,there pool and lounging area is fabulous . I highly recommend this motel ! We have stayed at others and none compare to this one .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks for taking your time to write a review, much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Motel

Address: 3495 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Empire Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Empire Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.