We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family winter vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Empire Motel to your Saves list
Empire Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3495 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family winter vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights before going up to Apex Mountain for a few days. We chose the Empire because of the rating and the fact that they had two room suites. It was clean and very quiet this time of year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our families first stay at the Empire Motel. It was great. Room was very clean, staff very friendly. Pool was great. The courtyard was a great place to hang in the evening and BBQ. Location was great so close to Skaha Beach. Motel provides a wagon to take your stuff to the beach. We loved it so much we are hoping to return next summer and stay even longer. We were there for 8 nights this year, hoping 10 nights in 2014.

Room Tip: There are many variety of rooms all were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have been staying here for several years during the Penticton Dragonboat Festival and always have had exceptional service, very clean and comfortable rooms. The decor in each room is very attractive and not sterile like some hotels. The china coffee cups and wine glasses add that bit of extra.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking time out to write such a good review on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Empire Motel for a number of years, while we participate in the annual Penticton Dragon Boat Festival. We are always treated well by the staff and owners. The rooms are very clean and cozy. We love the back yard area with the picnic benches and pool. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone going to Penticton and wanting a great place to stay.

Room Tip: the rooms across the back of the hotel are closer to the pool area but all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
thanks for writing a review on our property. Much appreciated. we will continue to provide the best for our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The Empire Motel is a great place for summer stays in Penticton. Clean rooms, well equipped,to enjoy meals in the BBQ area by the outdoor pool. Walking distance to Skaha Lake with the motel providing little wagons to help haul the beach toys. We have stayed here before and will again. Staff is friendly and quick to respond to any maintenance issues. BBQ area has lots of bbqs, tables, chairs and is cleaned early every morning! Thank you Empire Motel for a great home away from home!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a room that sleeps 6 with a kitchen. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We stayed three nights and used it as a base for Oliver to the south and Kelowna area to the north. I enjoyed reading at the nice BBQ area next to the pool in the morning before the kids woke up, with my cup of coffee...
It is a walking distance from Skaha Lake beach. Penticton is a great base as it has all the stores and restaurants you need as a traveller, and it is small enough to conserve the feeling of a small town.

Room Tip: As far away from the main road as possible in order to minimize traffic noise. We were at room 65 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after camping around in Kootnay BC for days. As soon as we entered the room fresh air conditioned air welcomed us that we missed during the camping. The room was pretty clean, well-decorated with country style items, furnished TV, fridge, and hair dryer. Coffee maker and wine glasses were prepared. A bath tub is in the bathroom that I enjoyed reading in taking hot tab for both nights.

They also had a big yard beside the accommodation facility with pool and play land for kids. We enjoyed a take-out food with a bottle of wine in 1st night and BBQed in 2nd night. It was pretty nice to drink wine outside, which we just bought in winery of the area, even enjoyed lightning in the sky as thunder clouds approached us.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The reception guy suggest us options of restaurants to get take-out and kindly gave us BBQ tools.

Location is convenient. Especially BC Liquor is just across the street. My boyfriend went to get beer after drinking wine. (I know it's kind of weird..)

We'll probably back here again next time we hang around Okanagan area. Although we booked online this time, we found it's cheaper rate to call them directly than using online booking websites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, General Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks Guys. Much appreciated for giving us the best rating on our property.Hope to see you in future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Motel

Address: 3495 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Empire Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Empire Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.