We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, conveniant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Motel to your Saves list
Empire Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3495 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Special
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent, conveniant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a room that sleeps 6 with a kitchen. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We stayed three nights and used it as a base for Oliver to the south and Kelowna area to the north. I enjoyed reading at the nice BBQ area next to the pool in the morning before the kids woke up, with my cup of coffee...
It is a walking distance from Skaha Lake beach. Penticton is a great base as it has all the stores and restaurants you need as a traveller, and it is small enough to conserve the feeling of a small town.

Room Tip: As far away from the main road as possible in order to minimize traffic noise. We were at room 65 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after camping around in Kootnay BC for days. As soon as we entered the room fresh air conditioned air welcomed us that we missed during the camping. The room was pretty clean, well-decorated with country style items, furnished TV, fridge, and hair dryer. Coffee maker and wine glasses were prepared. A bath tub is in the bathroom that I enjoyed reading in taking hot tab for both nights.

They also had a big yard beside the accommodation facility with pool and play land for kids. We enjoyed a take-out food with a bottle of wine in 1st night and BBQed in 2nd night. It was pretty nice to drink wine outside, which we just bought in winery of the area, even enjoyed lightning in the sky as thunder clouds approached us.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The reception guy suggest us options of restaurants to get take-out and kindly gave us BBQ tools.

Location is convenient. Especially BC Liquor is just across the street. My boyfriend went to get beer after drinking wine. (I know it's kind of weird..)

We'll probably back here again next time we hang around Okanagan area. Although we booked online this time, we found it's cheaper rate to call them directly than using online booking websites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, General Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks Guys. Much appreciated for giving us the best rating on our property.Hope to see you in future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to this motel for 12 years and our now 16 and 13 year old still look forward to staying here every year. We really like that it is family friendly, clean and quaint. All of the rooms are a bit different. Our room is an efficiency with a queen and two single beds. There is a huge playhouse with toys, a jungle gym, pool, tennis table and tether ball to keep everyone busy. The green space, picknic tables, BBQs and covered areas are perfect for socializing and eating in. You can borrow a big wagon to take all of your beach things down to Skaha Lake which is less than a 5 minute walk.

The Empire Motel is walking distance to Walmart, Tim Hortons and a laundromat. The ice cream at Gilligan's is plentiful, delicious and a good price. Skaha Lake is family friendly and has lots of green space as well as beach area. There are also volley ball nets set up next to the beach.

We book our next year dates as we leave. Many of the couples and families that we have come to know do the same.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empireskaha, General Manager at Empire Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thanks guys. we greatly appreciate you taking time out to write a positive review. we will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just a few minutes walk away from Skaha Beach. Nice pool and play area for the kids. BBQ available for use. Wagons and bikes available to rent. Enjoyed our stay at this motel. If you want to stay on Skaha side this is good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This little motel has friendly people, and good facilities. BBQs available, outdoor pool - they even provide wagons to take your kids n their stuff down to the Beach park just up the road. Near Skaha Lake Beach park. Games n books for kids on shelf in hall too. Rooms are big, nice decorating touches - china mugs for tea, heart motif quilts on beds, microwave, fridge. Older but well maintained from what we could see. Bright, very clean. We will return here!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Cheap, beautiful, helpfull staff. Rooms are more than nice, and quiet, clean. BBQ, hanging out space... did I say the rooms were beautiful? I totally recommend this place, it's surprisingly good for the surprisingly cheap price!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed here twice now. Excellent value. Clean and comfortable. There are facilities for BBQing and a childrens' play area. Ideal for a family. Some units have kitchen facilities. I wouldn't go anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Motel

Address: 3495 Skaha Lake Road, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Empire Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Empire Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.