We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ironman simplicity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Sea Motel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Black Sea Motel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Black Sea Motel & Restaurant
988 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
1 review
“Ironman simplicity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for my Ironman race. Didn't need anything fancy but needed to prep my own meals. This was perfect. Small rooms but very clean and simple. I would stay here again. I could swim right from across the street for practice. Could walk only a couple blocks to transition setup. Was far enough away from the finish line to not hear all the hub-bub the night before so I could get some sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a great spot with very friendly owners. right on the beach and close to everything. excellent spot for the kids and safe. decent rooms with kitchenettes. right next to Salty beach house and the Vallarta restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Hills, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Loved being able to run back to motel from beach just across the street. We arrived early, but our room with kitchenette was already cleaned and ready to go. Building is older, but clean and had parking for our large SUV. Right next to Mexican restaurant, Salty's and cheaper ice cream shop to the west. About a 10 minute walk to the canal float. Farmer's market is about a 20 minute walk - good idea to bring bicycles to get around east part of town. Stayed over Thursday and Friday nights and was worried about noise level, but room was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Family owned, safe, clean, PRIME location, steps away from the beach. We stayed in 29, two twins & queen beds, kitchenette. Sleep was quiet & peaceful. A/C worked well. New appliances & recently renovated kitchen - cheerful & functional. Quality WIFI. Housekeepers are awesome - above & beyond my expectations. Definitely recommend this one, definitely would return. p.s. kitchenette users - be sure to check out Wouda's Bakery and A & K Sausage & Meats for a gourmet experience!

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived in Penticton after being on the road for a few days. I booked strictly through emails while we were on the road and the owner was very accomodating to our needs. When we arrived we were pleasently surprised with the location, right across the road from the beach! The owner went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable as I had accidently emailed that we had two kids and not three, and two are teens, so he upgraded our room for us at a minimal charge.
Our room had a full kitchenette which was perfect, with two bedrooms, a small but adequate living space and parking right outside the door. We were so impressed with the service we stayed on for an extra night even though we had to switch rooms.
We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

then this is the place. NO FRILLS, aging building but very clean and comfortable. You get what you pay for! Perfect for access to the beach and restaurants. Friendly staff and free wifi. The bed was fine as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was really happy with the three days I spent here. For the money the room was large and spacious and everything was clean and tidy. The decor was a little tired but the room was presentable and all the appliances worked. I had a fantastic view of the lake from my door/window which made getting up each morning a pleasure.

The motel is literally on the edge of the lake at the western end of Penticton. There are a a few restaurants nearby and it's only ten minutes walk into town.

The owner was polite and courteous, even helping me to try and track down a winery bus at the last minute.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and I would certainly book here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lake side suites, the view is exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Penticton hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Penticton Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre Penticton
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Penticton BC
Super 8 Penticton BC
#16 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Penticton
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#9 of 44 in Penticton
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Resort Motel
Crown Resort Motel
#11 of 44 in Penticton
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sea Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sea Motel & Restaurant

Address: 988 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Sea Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Sea Motel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.