We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Motel to your Saves list
Beachside Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3624 Parkview Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Wow! Another great trip to Penticton and the Beachside Motel! This was our third year that our family stayed at the Beachside Motel for our vacation to Penticton and every year it gets better and better! The owners, Trudy and John, do a great job of making the motel feel relaxed and welcoming for families. Our two girls, ages 9 and 6, make new friends with the other kids staying at the motel. They are free to play on the well kept grounds and swim in the indoor pool. We see many familiar faces every year of other families who come to stay at the same time year after year. You can enjoy an ice cream, a short walk to the beach on Skaha Lake or just curl up in a lawn chair and read a book. We all get sad when we have to leave and count the days until we return. Thanks Trudy and John for another great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    13
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was our third stop on our whirlwind trip around BC. First Salmon Arm, then Vancouver and now here. Unfortunately we could only squeeze in one evening in Penticton and we chose this location because of its proximity to the beach at Skaha Lake. We had the dog with us and I must say what a friendly place this was. Everyone was sat around on the grass in the middle merrily chatting away. People of all ages and at night the place was hopping with activity. The room was average but that was because we were only here for one evening and that was the only room they had left which allowed a dog. It was clean though and all that we needed and we did have a good sleep and we felt quite relaxed by the time we had to leave so it fitted our needs for our one and only evening in Penticton. Yes we would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you need a kichenette then book well in advance. That is what we will do next time and I think a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We are part of a group of friends (we graduated high school together over 30 years ago) that have been coming to this resort for 9 years. We are professionals and have kids who started coming here as young children who are now in high school and university. It was a great place; close to the beach with pleasant outdoor seating, BBQs and movies with popcorn for the kids at night. This year it all changed- the owner Trudy became upset when a hanging flower pot that was hung over a speed bump on the drive was accidentally knocked down by the toy box on top of our SUV as it went over the speed bump. Due to the noise of things rattling in the box and the car as we went over the bump we did not notice the pot being knocked down. Trudy did not say anything to us directly but let our friends know she was very upset. I spoke to her the next day and she clearly was very angry and intimated that we knocked it down on purpose. I tried to apologize. My husband tried to explain but she continued enraged, and said she would be happy if we did not come back again. Later, while my husband was standing in the parking lot, Trudy's husband walked a circle around him blowing his leaf blower at him and then swore at him. Due to his intimidating and erratic behavior we opted to not park our vehicle on their property anymore (it was our last night). We have good memories and enjoyed this place despite the fact that even the refurbished rooms were getting tatty, the beds are very uncomfortable, and the TVs are cathode ray. Now we will never go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

just stayed here for the weekend such a lovely place, really clean rooms great lil pool and a movie night for our kids I highly recommend this motel its clean and the owners and everyone on staff are very friendly and helpful, its a block away from skaha beach and theres an ice cream stand attached. HAD AN AWESOME WEEKEND

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Booked here with 5 families, friends of my wife's. Rooms are worn and while have apparently clean have an oder. Property is worn and seriously needs updating. Owner "Trudi" is dismissive of complaints to the point of being hostile and told us, "I don't care if you come book next year". With the range of competitive properties available in the area I'd give the Beachside a pass.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Beachside Motel quite a few times in the summer. The kids love it. It's a block to the beach. The management is friendly and every evening they show a movie for the kids, complete with popcorn. The rooms are a bit dated but clean and quiet at night. The parking is tight especially with a larger vehicle. There are barbecues and picnic tables for the use of the guests. There is a very popular ice cream store at the end of the building. All in all, a very good place.

Room Tip: We've stayed in various rooms but have found them all quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've stayed at this property since before our kid was born 7 years ago. We use to go with friends and use it as our home base for biking around the area. It's fantastic and continues to get better every year.

The location is great as it's close to the beach and playgrounds, I like the Skaha beach better than the Okanogan Lake beach. You really feel like you're on holidays. What makes this property better than most others is that it has made the parking area in the centre of the property into a great social area with grass, trees, bbq's, tables (both picnic and loungy) and the vibe is fantastic. Every night the owners (who are a beautiful family) put out a big screen TV with little chairs and free popcorn for all the kids that are staying there. It's great for parents because your kids are captivated and having a wonderful holiday experience while the parents can socialize with each other without having to supervise their little ones. Once the movies are over, inevitably it's like a bed time bell and all the kids on property go to their respective rooms. It's an awesome set up and I'm surprised that other hotels/motels aren't employing that strategy.

There is a 60 flavour ice cream shop on property (owned by the same folks) and a little playground at the back of the property. It's a haven for kids, and a godsend for parents.

The owners are true workaholics and every year we go, there has been new work done to the rooms bringing them up in quality by leaps and bounds.

I would (and have) recommended this hotel to all my friends heading to Penticton. I just hope that by doing this, it doesn't eliminate our space for upcoming years.

Last note: The hotel has a herd of Jack Russels on living there. Buddy has been there since we started going at least 9 years ago. The little dogs add so much to the experience and although they're getting up in age, they're still frisky and fun.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms here are good rooms. Just tell them what you're looking for and they'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Motel

Address: 3624 Parkview Street, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 6H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beachside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.