We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The. Worst. Customer. Service. Ever!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ogopogo Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ogopogo Motel to your Saves list
Ogopogo Motel
270 Riverside Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5Y5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
vernon bc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The. Worst. Customer. Service. Ever!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had made a reservation, expecting to check in around 6:30 PM. My work ran a little late and I didn't check in until 8:30. Keep in mind no one said anything about a check in deadline. As soon asI rang the doorbell on the office the manager/owner, not sure which, started yelling and swearing at me about how I was late and did I not realize they had a life?? I started to apologize, realized he was not joking and told him maybe they should tell people if they have a deadline. He continued to carry on so I said I didn't need this and walked out. I had stayed several times before with no problem. He also falsely accused me of stealing the keys before. I say avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The tubing canal is right across the street, and that's where the buses return you to at the end of your float. The motel was clean, hard beds however, and it has an outdoor pool (I didn't swim in it, but my friends all did). We got "told" for talking outside our rooms at night, so they asked us to hang out at the pool to chat at night, they left it unlocked for us - which was cool. Reasonably priced ($110ish) after tax per night CAD. Shower was so hard and fast in our room that I felt like my skin was being torn off, but overall, a good experience and I would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your comments and just wanted to note that the shower heads have all been fixed (calcium buildup - sorry about your skin!) and the beds are in the process of being replaced. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed in the RV park. A well located shaded area.....good access to shopping, river and lake etc etc. Washrooms have now been updated :) Just a lack of lawns in the RV park. Good deal for the money :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your comments and just a note that our RV park rates will drop by 50% for the winter so come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ogopogo for a weekend in July. While it doesn't compare to some of the bigger and fancier resorts we found it to be comfortable, clean and very reasonably priced. The location right across from where you can go tubing was ideal and we would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and just a note that our Fall/Winter prices are on now making a trip during the wine season even more affordable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My family and I stumbled across the Ogopogo motel in April. After travelling for 3 days and experiencing the crazyness that 3 people stuck in a suv would succumb to, the Ogopogo was a well deserved surprise. It was easy for us to look for a pricey hotel with all the ammenities that a credit could buy, but the reality was we wanted to find a lodging that was inexpensive, simple, clean, respectable, and was managed properly, and the ogopogo certainly fit the bill.

Allthough the room was equipped with all the regular luxaries of a motel, we didnt really have to use anything to preoccupy our time during our 3 day stay, Instead there was a vast selection of things to do to keep us mentally stimulated in the great outdoors including stargazing by the poolside till the wee hours.

I guess this is one vacation we can actually say, the ogopogo motel, helped our vacation to be a success.

Room Tip: A simple tip I can add is to get a corner suite...The morning sun and the birds chirping add to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great location,priced right,just what I needed for a 2 day stay on my way
to the Kootenays.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My family stayed at the motel which is located right across from the river rafting spot and we couldn't of been happier about the price and location.
A new mall next door has everything you need to make your own meals in the kitchenettes.
The place was clean but not fancy but the price was a deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard J, Owner at Ogopogo Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your response and just wanted to note that almost all of our rooms have at least some cooking facilities and that the new mall adjacent has even more stores opening up for your shopping convenience and variety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ogopogo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogopogo Motel

Address: 270 Riverside Dr, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 5Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ogopogo Motel and RV Park is a 3 acre property with 16 ground floor motel rooms, most having kitchenettes, and a 30 site, fully serviced recreational vehicle park situated amongst shady trees. We are located next to the river channel, where all of the river rafting starts from. We are adjacent to a mall with multiple shops and just a short walk to the beach and the Penticton Golf Club. Our sunny outdoor pool is open May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ogopogo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogopogo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.