We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good enviroment and we staffed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiki Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tiki Shores to your Saves list
Tiki Shores
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   914 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
“Overall good enviroment and we staffed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We went on a trip to penticton with some friends this summer for a girls vacation. We heard about Tiki shores from a friend and heard nothing but good things. When we got to our room we were pleasently surprised. The room had so much space... full kitchen nice living space and there was even a nice personal patio with our own bbq. The bbq gave us the real summer/ beach trip feeling. The staff there was wonderful. The front desk woman helped us with all of our needs and the handy man was always willing to help even though we had no complaints. The rates were reasonable and the location was perfect. Definatly suggest this hotel to friends in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
32
22
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The good - the tiki shores motel is in an amazing location, you leave your room and you are across the street from the Okanogan beach. Plenty of restaurants and facilities close by.

The bad - If you are used to chain hotels with a traditional front desk and uncompromising service - the Tiki shores is probably not for you. The rooms are obviously well travelled and show the wear of many patrons. We pulled the pull out sofa away from the wall and found cheesies, popcorn and errand hairs littering the floor. The craftsmanship of the construction is poor, most of which appear to be "do it yourself" handiwork (tilework, laminant flooring, paint, drywall ect).

The quality of the service is adequate at best. If you require any kind of special accomodations - don't expect them to go out of their way to fullfill them. They're overall friendly, unless you have any sort of issue at all. Need an cot?, extra glasses? cups? blankets? - watch them roll their eyes as they begrudgingly determine if they'll help you out.

In short, the lure of the Tiki shores is the location. If you plan on spending any substancial amount of time in the room and are a stickler on cleanliness- you might want to consider a different place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Great location right across the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and entertainment. Night manager was great and friendly. Pool was clean although I didn't see a hot tub as in the previous reviews. Floors are hardwood which is probably cleaner than carpets EXCEPT for the fact that the housekeepers didn't change the water after they mopped each suite so you better hope and pray that yours was the first suite they cleaned! The bathroom and kitchen tiles were old and looked like they have not been changed since the 1970's..and the grout was disgustingly black! That would the one thing that would deter me from booking this hotel again.

A suggestion for management would be to have tables and chairs outside the floor suites so one can have a meal outside in the gorgeous Penticton sunshine. Check out Loco Landing Adventure Park! There is also a place by Starbucks that sells frozen and ready to cook food..the name escapes me..but I only tried their frozen Chicken and Mushroom pie and it was sssoooo good!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel is in the best spot. I have come to this hotel for three years for family reunions and am going this summer alone with my boyfriend. The price is the same as all the other places on the strip. I really like this place because they have a great pool and hot tub. Some days I dont want to go to the beach and it gives me a great spot to go insted.
The cleaning ladies are always nice and clean up well. I really like this hotel because they are easy going and it is directly in the middle of the strip. It is an easy walk either way.

Hope this year goes as good!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

I have been here for almost a month and find the staff very accomodating. My rooms is fine and I have had no problems with anyone or anything here. The cleaning staff is very nice and Tracy at the front desk is awesome.
I have a curling iron .......no problem
Diane Calvert
Timmins Ontario

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Best location to walk around the lake and very quiet place to sleep close to all sights to
in Penticton. The staff were very helpful, and the room was very clean and nice comfortable
bed. highly recommend to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I've been going to Penticton multiple times every summer for 15 years. I've stayed in many hotels and motels in town including this one for the past 4 years. Previously I've had no complaints but also no compliments for this motel and only continued staying here because of the convenient location. This year however was a different situation. Many things were broken in the room including the most important (and advertised) appliance, the air conditioner. The motel "handyman" tried to fix it but concluded it was broken. With my help we moved in a portable unit which also didn't work. Spoke to the woman at the front desk, who turned out to be the manager, she denied it not working but wouldn't go to the room to check it herself. Then she accused us of breaking it. As a customer I have never been treated so poorly and wish I had read the reviews on this site before staying there. We switched hotels in the middle of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiki Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Shores

Address: 914 Lakeshore Drive, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 1C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Penticton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Penticton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tiki Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Okanagan Beach, Penticton, on the very southern-most shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, guests at Tiki Shores enjoy their choice of an array of suites that will suit about any need or budget, from Studio units to 2 or 3 bedroom suites or our deluxe Roman (Honeymoon) Suites, all featuring either kitchens or kitchenettes. You may also choose in-suite Jaccuzzi baths. The resort also offers a pool, a grassed green space (perfect for picnics) and an on-site restaurant for your convenience. We are located across from the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tiki Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiki Shores Hotel Penticton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiki Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.