We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timing is critical with this restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hooded Merganser

Hooded Merganser
21 Lakeshore Drive West, Penticton, British Columbia V2A 7M5, Canada
250-487-4663
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hooded Merganser is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 162 Restaurants in Penticton
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Named after the rare and reclusive North American duck that shares its name (and flew onto the restaurant patio during name selection) the Hooded Merganser is a culinary and architectural masterpiece that straddles Okanagan Lake to offer panoramic views of the lake and mountains.Inside, the décor is luxurious, the atmosphere is casual and the menu diverse yet surprisingly reasonable: contemporary local cuisine and phenomenal views of the Okanagan Valley.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Timing is critical with this restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've been to this restaurant many times throughout the year. As a local, I find some vast disparities throughout the year.

In summer it is, understandably, very busy. The location is a spectacular one whether you are a visitor or a local and gorgeous regardless of time of day. As a local one thing I find is that the portion size and care in presentation tends to suffer a bit with the high volumes they are pushing through. But, the food is always delicious. I have never had a bad meal here. I have, however, had bad service. In the busy times, they hire lots of new staff and the service does suffer. I do however recommend this restaurant for a nice meal out-breakfast, lunch or dinner. They have their own gardens so produce is fresh, they will accommodate specific dietary requirements. If you like lamb-try the stuffed lamb loin.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Patron,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your consideration with regards to our central location as well as our own locally-grown organic produce, cultivated in our on-site herb gardens and on our very own, Valley View Farm. Proudly situated on the shores of Lake Okanagan we are privileged to supplement the breathtaking panorama of Lake Okanagan with a unique culinary experience, both supported and maintained by local patrons, such as yourself. We realize that on occasion during the busy season, high demand may result in longer wait times and a generally busier atmosphere. However we hope that this would not deter you from enjoying everything our establishment has to offer, as the summertime brings with it, great joy and amusement. Look forward to serving you again hopefully very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    116
    43
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An excellent place to dine out and enjoy the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My preferred place to take family and friends.
The menu is delightful and covers everyone's needs from young to old. The service is excellent and very professional.
The food is presented beautifully and is full of quality and flavor.
I highly recommend a dining experience at the Hooded Merganser.
Each time I have gone with either friends for supper or family at lunch we all have been more that satisfied.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Dining Patron

We are so pleased to hear that our dining establishment is your preferred place to take family and friends. We pride ourselves in offering a diverse experience that labors to accommodate all manner of occasions while catering to each individual’s needs. As a valued patron, we deeply appreciate your time, and are grateful that you shared with us your good opinion. We hope to always continually satisfy your needs and meet your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always great food
Always clean
Always great service
Always a great view of the lake.
Need I say more?
You have to try it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like roast beef...look no further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Numerous visits attest to the excellent consistency of the food preparation. Our favourite is the roast beef...my mouth waters just thinking about it - with double baked potato and fresh vegetables. Excellent unobtrusive service, comfortably contemporary surroundings right on the lake. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice view good food but a few staffing issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited the restaurant for lunch on heritage hockey day. Initial impressions were very good, service was attentive and what we ordered met expectations.

However there are a few staffing issues which we found off putting. Staff eating extended lunch at the bar. Other staff folding napkins while one staff member partook of at least 3 cosmos. perhaps a separate area for staff to lunch and socialise would be more appropriate.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godpr, General Manager at Hooded Merganser, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We deeply appreciate your opinions and concerns, and have taken into account all of your considerations with regards to our staff behavior and service. We appreciate all feedback, in which we critically address and investigate matters of contention in order to better accommodate our current and future guests. We do hope that the next time you choose to dine with us, the entire experience will be agreeable and satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooded Merganser also viewed

 
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Hooded Merganser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooded Merganser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.