We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoned for take out” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hon's Won Ton House

Hon's Won Ton House
6th Street, New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 198 restaurants in New Westminster
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Phoned for take out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place was recommended so I thought I'd try it for take out. I ordered 4 dishes, deep fried squid, house chow mein, buddhist feast vegetables deep fried rock cod with vegetables. The house chow mein was flavorless, the buddhist feast vegetables were tasteless and the deep fried cod wasn't deep fried! The cod appeared to be steamed (no deep fry batter) and had a mouth feel like soft semi-gelatinous mush. The buddhist vegetables also had something with a soft gelatinous texture...... reconstituted mushroom of some type I think.....very unappealing over-all. We'll not go back, 2nd chances are rare when there's so many other places to try first.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    13
    14
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We always have group lunches or early family dinners here because of their good food and quick service. Do not expect a candlelit dinner or a fancy set of cutlery as this is a typical chinese restaurant where everything moves fast but you get tasty, delicious food a few minutes after you order. This time we had cod fillet in black bean sauce, sauteed beef in onions, singaporean vermicelli and pork noodles. All we're delicious except with the pork noodles as it was too oily.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“are the good times gone? what happened? are you now a former GOOD chinese Go-To spot?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Generally the lunch and dinner CROWDS have been the standard expectation at the Hon's New Westminster and Vanc Chinatown restaurants. No real decor, adequate cleanliness, with roast duck and pork hanging with the other 'dishes' prepared to order and all is reliable. Something has happened to the New West location ... very few people, noone in the take- away order window waiting and all new staff and noone seemed to be running the place. Most significantly the portions are vastely reduced. Are we expected to not notice the large containers with about half the portion as a year ago ?... the prices are marginally higher, the food is not as fresh and the amounts are reduced? Your clearly not protectiong your share of the marketplace. This has been a specifically "formula run" restaurant with hard working people at the front and the back of the shop (there's never been much difference among the 3 locations experienced, be it chinatown, the west end or new west; the perception now is many idle employees ( floor and kitchen) and a fraction of the patrons compared to only a few months ago. What does this mean ? Evidence of change in ownership and/or management = this place is heading down at least at the New Westminster location. Patrons are giving it up. Hoping the new manager(s) or owner(s) are conscious of this decline and remedy or redirect where they are going - which is down - for god sake clean it up; the employees are idle as there are no customers-they can at least clean ANYTHING - the parking lot, wash the door, a floor, I mean anything- it's needed it for months if not years. As to quality - bring it back. Price should equate to the portions (even the gyozas are getting smaller). Make the food when it's ordered -don't let it sit around! For pity sake this place is overhwhelming CHEAP - styro foam is not great -it's bad enough but don't hand it to the customer with 5 pieces of almond chicken rolling around in a huge container ( at a cost of approx $10), throw beef chow fun into a plastic bowl with aluminum foil as a lid, slam 6 potstickers in a burger foam box ask over $30 while not providing chopsticks and think noone will notice or even find this to be a problem. I can only hope this is an idioscratic phobial of the New West location and not the case with the other 3 locations. Its always sad when an establishment falls. Get your reputation back before the doors have to be shut. Overall I give it an averaged rating based on the former Hon's quality, quantity rep - if there's a next time - I am sentimental and will persist 1 more time - if the food is a disappointment again the rating will be demoted and there will be no recommendations to anyone visiting the lowermainland because we will almost always overlook service and general appearance but will never, I mean never, allow for disappointing food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food is ok but service- thumbs down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I used to like eating at Hon's but through the years, the service did not improve. I feel like a pig being fed fast. The servers wanted you to get seated fast and quick. When your order comes, they come without a serving tray so the servers are holding your plate at the edges. If you order soup in a bowl, there's not tray to bring the bowl they use their hands to handle the bowls. At Hon's you pig out. The food is good but the ambience is for pigging. It's hard to savor the food when the tables are closely situated next to each other. When someone coughs, watch out ! take cover and cover your soup!!. The servers collect dishes from table to table and load a huge gray tray with dirty dishes. Sometimes, someone sweeps under the table next to yours. Value is excellent though and the food tastes really good. They have good in house noodles, fried rice and shrimp in batter...You'll see the same people serving and you might think they could have improved for familiarity's sake. But they don't. I still go to Hon's but I take out my order and take it home where I can have a decent meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“BIG BLACK HAIR IN MY FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The title says it all. I took a colleague there for lunch and it was wrapped inside a baby bok choy.

AVOID THIS PLACE

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hon's Won Ton House also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 

Been to Hon's Won Ton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hon's Won Ton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.