We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
900 Quayside Dr, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M 6G1, Canada
604-525-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 196 Restaurants in New Westminster
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Begbie St.
Transit: New West Skytrain Station.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“expected better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Was hoping for a nice west coast experience after some terrific places on the east coast. The boat house failed in comparision. Over cooked halibut and over cooked salmon. The second try failed to please in texture and flavour. Either an off night or this is the norm.If you have one shot at an evening out try somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    41
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fool me Once, shame on you; Fool me twice...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We thought we'd try it again a year after our last average experience. What a mistake! Garlic mashed potatoes and Caesar salad were tasteless (no garlic - no flavour). Prime Rib had little to no flavour and i was told I could only order an eight or twelve ounce cut (contrary to the menu). Waitress told us the new computer system was responsible; manager told us later that we could ask for any size. Crab soup was ok. Paid $72 including tip. Glass of Sandhill Cab-Merlot was the only good part of an otherwise forgetable experience.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Vastly overrated and over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Boathouse is a mid-scale place, trying to act (and price) itself at the high end. The location in New West is a pain to get to, with pay parking. The restaurant has been there for many years and it shows the age, at least on the outside, the interior is usually warm and cozy, the lounge is a better atmosphere than the dining area - the back patio is only an option when it's warm and this past summer, it was in poor condition, not very clean.

The food is tasty, but the value isn't what it used to be, the prices seem quite high. The best time to go is when they have their crabfest/shrimpfest/lobsterfest promotions, where 3 course meals can be had at reasonable rates. At regular prices, you are better off at a higher end seafood restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were at the Boathouse at the beginning of September, and had a table in the sunshine on the patio. The service was prompt, knowledgeable and friendly. All of us were pleased with our orders, they were prepared perfectly, presented beautifully and served promptly. We shared a desert and that was wonderful too! I would definitely go back to this Boathouse.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The restaurant specializes in fresh, local seafood and had a good selection. I find a window seat overlooking the Fraser River somehow quite relaxing which adds to an already delightful meal. I have eaten there a number of times and have always found the service staff to be friendly and very efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 
New Westminster, British Columbia
New Westminster, British Columbia
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.