We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Met Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Met Hotel to your Saves list
The Met Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Columbia Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prince George area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Maybe I'm just getting to the point of being tired of the cookie cutter corporate mega hotels but we wanted to try something different this time for a trip into New West. Finding a hotel central and at a reasonable cost is difficult in that city just due to the fact of how its laid out . The Met fit the bill on all of it , super reasonable price , excellent room , bright , huge windows 20ft ceilings . The gentleman at the front desk when we checked in was a whole lot more efficient and friendly than a lot of 5 stars hotels we've stayed in , in fact that goes for all of the staff we interacted with during the stay , even the lady that served us in the little pub that's part of the hotel was awesome , I mean seriously now days how many people do you know that actually give a damn about their job to the point of knowing the building and business history ? (the same for the gentleman at the front counter) and being that the hotel is from the 1890's there's a lot of it , if you get a chance to have a glass of your favorite in the pub make sure to ask the happy lady behind the bar about the hotel history. Overall excellent little hotel that we will be back to next time were in the area. Hats off to the hotel and all of the staff !

Room Tip: we can only vouch for the 2nd floor facing the street , but all quiet and comfy , for some reason th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments we sincerely love to hear that we have achieved our goal of making each guests stay a memorable one. We take great pride in our little hotel and it's history and I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Met Hotel the next time you visit New Westminster. Thank you again and I hope you have a glorious day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
43
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yale, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great staff, super rooms, clean and comfortable. Price was exceptional. Highly recommended. No pool (who cares) or room service(for the price - get your own grub!). On site liquor outlet exceptionally well stocked.

Room Tip: Prices are so good, get a double queen if only for the added space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed two nights and loved it -- very reasonable, great location right next to the skytrain, and the staff were extremely helpful. Parking lot across the street $10 (worth it as street parking is hopeless). Rooms very clean, quiet and comfortable. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Mb
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very friendly staff. Cozy but comfortable rooms. Good food at the lounge. Great rate! Will definitely stay again and recommend it to other people. Easy access to skytrain. Thank you! --///////////////

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed more than a week. Excellent staff - friendly and knowledgeable. Room was large, bright, and clean, with interesting pictures. Beds were firm and comfortable. Great location for boardwalk and as it is about a hundred yards from Skytrain - easy access for sightseeing in Vancouver. The staff provided a list of restaurants - tried several and they were great. The bar adjacent had a good range of beers, very good food, and excellent service; the liquour store also had a good range, and staff very helpful. The train whistles were noticeable (tracks about 200 - 300 yards away) but didn't disturb our sleep. Overall, wonderful value.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor allows pets, but the third and fourth do not (we have allergies).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one and want to thank you for all your kind words. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit beautiful downtown New Westminster. Have a wonderful day and Happy Holidays to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent one night at the Met on our way to see family. We chose it for the price, proximity and reviews and it didn't disappoint. The service was amazing, the staff was phenomenal, our room was clean and comfortable and for us, the location was great, close to Mom and right by the boardwalk in down town New West. It was a bit loud, but the noise didn't keep us up, the sky train and bar below were the culprits. We will definitely be back. Oh, and a couple doors up the street was some delicious BC sushi!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we certainly are delighted to hear that our staff helped to make your stay a memorable one, we definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Met Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watson Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Could not have been happier.Awesome staff,great room,excellent food all at unbeatable prices.Only negative was noise from the sky train but I always travel with ear plugs so it was no big deal.Booked my room for next visit before I checked out.Thanks Met.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street to avoid sky train noise and noise from the patio of the pub if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Met! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back. We hope you have wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Met Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel

Address: 411 Columbia Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Met Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Met Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Met Hotel New Westminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Met Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.