We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in Handy Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Met Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Met Hotel to your Saves list
The Met Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Columbia Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in Handy Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Met is located immediately adjacent to the SkyTrain Columbia Station in New Westminster and can be reached from the international airport via Canada Line to Waterfront station in Vancouver downtown and then Skytrain (about 1 hour for total journey). We found the location excellent for accessing central Vancouver and surrounding towns/suburbs via rail options.
Parking is available close to The Met at a discounted rate if staying in the hotel.
The hotel is one of the older buildings in New Westminster with renovated rooms.
Our room was clean and spacious with high ceilings, fridge, coffee maker, TV. Bedding - king size and comfortable. All fittings worked well.
We travelled in the high season and found the room price to be attractive compared with the quality of offering in central Vancouver at that time.
Staff were very helpful. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
You are so kind, we do everything possible to ensure that our guests' have a pleasant stay and just hearing that we achieved our goal is wonderful! Thank you so much for you kinds words and we hope that you visit our little hotel again and make the Met your home away from home. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    50
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
40
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very happy with the Met Hotel. The room was clean and bigger than we expected for an older hotel. The bathroom was a good size too. Nice view of the river. We did have a mini fridge which was nice. Front desk clerk was extremely helpful with local restaurant info. Parking lot was farther away than we would have liked, but you can park free at a nearby meter from 6pm - 8am, if you don't mind getting up before 8 to put coin in the meter (max 2 hrs though - gets you to 10am only).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent stay and kind words. It was very nice to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our little hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for five days while visiting friends. The only reason was because it was close to their home. The hotel staff was very polite and friendly, and the hotel itself was alright but nothing special. We realize that the hotel has nothing to do with the neighborhood, however you would think that having the Police station at the end of the block it would be safer. We were not aware until we arrived that there is a Methadone clinic across the street next to several closed businesses that are in disrepair. With numerous homeless people sleeping in the doorways and people begging for money along the street, it made for a rather interesting journey every morning to try to find a breakfast place to eat. On the second night in the hotel, we were dropped off by friends and were met with one of the drug patrons walking up to the car and dropping his pants. He ran off as I was getting out of the car and realized what he was doing. Guess it was appropriate in his mind to do to women, but not when confronted by a man. He was back the next night in front of the abandoned store next to the clinic acting agitated and throwing a shopping cart into the buildings and then out into the street.

If you choose to stay here, try to get a room on the fourth floor. Even the third floor is rather loud due to traffic, drunks from the bar under your windows, and train noises. And that is in the front of the building.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs or run the A/C to drown out the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We sincerely apologize that your recent stay at the Met Hotel was not a pleasant one. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable, safe and comfortable stay. As you can see from our past and more recent reviews we more often than not achieve this goal and usually receive positive feedback from our guests', It is most unfortunate that we did not achieve our goal in your case. Thank you for your comments and I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Bc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay there and would stay again. The location was great and the front desk staff were nice to talk to. The common area was nice with the microwave. A little bar fridge would be nice to put your pop into though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us we really do appreciate our guests' input. I am definitely looking into having small fridges in all rooms, we have increased the amount of rooms with fridges and hope to have them in every room by March 2014. I appreciate you mentioning the staff I really believe we have a great team and certainly would like to welcome you back the next time you attend a game. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. Our stay was good. The Met is close to several great restaurants and the pub next door has a great selection of craft beers, plus you receive a 15%off coupon when you register:) We also walked to the Quay and enjoyed the Steamwheeler luncheon cruise. We didn't use the car in 3 days except to visit family in Burnaby:)
Two recommendations for owners...have a person on the desk overnight (someone to help guests when partiers party too long) and cut curtains around window air conditioners so that you don't have the bright lights shining in to keep cool:)
For the price, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Street noise can be loud so book 3rd or 4th floor. Friends had miserable stay due to back alley noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

this was the 6th time i stayed at The Met and as usual I left happy . Had a delux king room on the 4th floor (thanks Sean) so i could look out on the Fraser River. I used to live just up the street from The Met Hotel for many years and always love to watch the tug boats doing their work up and down the river. The view from the front is great, besides the river , one can see the Patullo Bridge , the Skytrain Bridge and the Railroad Bridge which are built close to each other. On clear days one can see the beautiful Mt Baker in the state of Washington. I stated on my suggestion card when i left both last year and this year that the hotel should please change the brand of coffee they use for little one cup coffee makers in the rooms. It is undrinkable. It was very handy having a microwave and bar fridge, iron and ironing board.
I agree housekeeping could be better but it isn't a 5 star hotel and i found the room and bathroom to be reasonably clean. They have apparently cut down on soap because on previous stays there was a bar of soap for both the tub and the sink.
Some visitors may not realize there is a water cooler on the 2nd floor so you don't have to pay for bottled water.
The Skytrain and public transit system is very good and only steps from the hotel. Yes, there are some "characters" in downtown New West but they are harmeless. This isn't the best part of New West try to overlook the homeless man sleeping on the sidewalk across the street and go exploring. New Westminster is a haven of history and if you go to the Queens Park area you will see some beautifully restored Victorian era homes as well as Queens Park. Lots of restaurants within walking distance of the Hotel.
I did eat breakfast there one morning, it was good and the price was very fair with the 155 discount from the hotel.
I have stayed on the 2nd floor on previous stays and have fount the flood lights on the outside walls at the front of the building prevented me from sleeping. They are far too bright and shine in through the tops of the drapes. The drapery rods are too high up to reach to put a towel over the gap so the room is almost as bright as daylight as the street lights that are right on the sidewalk also add to the illumination.
The staff are nice and helpful and the price is right!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The room was incredibly clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the free Wi-Fi worked great! There is an excellent restaurant right next door and upon check-in we received a 15% off coupon for meals during the duration of our stay. The station to the Sky Train is less than a 5 minute walk and is easily navigated. We were in town for a concert at BC Place Stadium and the train got us back to the hotel in less than 30 minutes, despite the fact that the train was packed after the concert. You do have to park across the street, so it would be wise to unload your items upon check-in.

The building seems a bit odd when you arrive but once you get inside it's a non-issue. My friend and I arrived around 9:30 and as expected couldn't check-in until 1:00 so we walked around New Westminister for a few hours. Despite the fact that we were two 27 year old females with no sense of the neighborhood wandering, we never felt unsafe or unsure of our surroundings. We had a great time browsing the antique stores and enjoying the beautiful Fraser River.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melody E, General Manager at The Met Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our little Hotel and would love to welcome you back the next time you attend a concert. We try our very best to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and the just knowing that we succeeded is wonderful news, thank you for making the Met Hotel your Home away from Home and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Met Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel

Address: 411 Columbia Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Met Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Met Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Met Hotel New Westminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Met Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.