We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, cheap budget hotel. No frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Met Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Met Hotel to your Saves list
The Met Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Columbia Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good, cheap budget hotel. No frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights after visiting Vancouver for a week. I was slightly put off by the neighbourhood at first as a cross the street the shops are abandoned and a homeless guy was fast asleep on the floor. The next day after we had explored more the neighbourhood was definitely nice to look around.

We checked it at the tiny check in area which just has a desk and lift. We booked via Expedia and it was very cheap and close to the Skytrain which was a plus for us definitely.
The building is Victorian so I'm used to this coming from the UK so I didn't mind it at all but I can see why some may find it dated. Our room was at the back with a view of 2 apartment tower blocks which I didn't like. The bathroom was clean but the shower not powerful enough for me to use.
All the staff on the desk were polite, friendly and helpful.
We used the 15% discount voucher to use the Met Bar and Grill adjacent to the Hotel on the first night. Very fairly priced food and drinks. We had spaghetti and meatballs and fish and chips and really enjoyed it. The staff behind the bar were so very welcoming and didn't mind advising us of nearby places. The locals having a drink did put me off slightly as they were shouting and swearing a lot which of course isn't anybody's fault, overall a good cheap place plain and simple.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
43
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Liked:
Boutique, small hotel
Helpful, friendly desk clerk Chris (We didn't meet Sean, but he was great on the phone).
Price was excellent, especially during the summer season.
Very comfortable king bed.
Wi-Fi worked well.
Room decor seemed fresh and tastefully done.
Obviously, the hotel is too old to put in central AC, so there was a large window AC and a ceiling fan, so we were very comfortable with that.
We were on an upper floor, so street noise was not a problem.
Parking was handy across the street and just $10/day with in and out privileges. The charge went on our bankcard, so we didn't have to deal with paying in the lot.
The Sky Train was a couple of doors down the street, and we used that.

Didn't like:
Amtrak train in the middle of the night ... no fault of the hotel, of course, but it is something that exists in that area.
Housekeeping was so-so. We had a couple of small towels and washcloths on the edge of the tub, and I guess they didn't figure out they should replace those. If unsure, it's probably better to err on replacing them.
We were given one small, flat bar of soap for two people for 3 days, and were continually juggling that between the sink and the tub every day. Two small bars would have been adequate for us for 3 days.
The bathroom floor had probably been attended to between guests, but not carefully. Corners were dirty, and the floor itself didn't look real clean.
Our greatest problem was the shower: Very little shower power coming out, and the water temp. fluctuated from hot/cold/hot/cold/hot/cold throughout the shower.
We're not sure why the room was billed as a "deluxe king room" because we found it to be on the small side, tasteful, but not deluxe.
Overall, we would say very good, but not excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in this 27-room hotel. From what other reviewers said, we were fortunate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

First, upon arrival, the location was a little off-putting, since the view directly across the street was of vacated businesses and a guy sleeping on the ground, and two panhandlers approached me while I was unloading the car. But, here's what I'd recommend to appreciate the neighborhood. Unload your stuff, park in the reasonably priced in and out all-day parking lot, and turn right out of the hotel. Walk 3 blocks and turn left on Begbie St. to the quay, and walk to Rivermarket. Stroll around the waterfront development, get a coffee or pastries, and you'll get a better sense of the neighborhood. The neighborhood in the morning is quite bustling and after 3 nights, we really appreciated the location, price and relative nearness to Vancouver (straight up 12th/Kingsway to Main Street).
The hotel itself is fine, a little like an older but renovated NYC apartment-turned-hotel.
Helpful and friendly front desk staff, but if you're there on a Saturday night, ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floors, since the music from the adjacent club was pounding.

Room Tip: Request 3rd or 4th floors to avoid club noise on Saturday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff are friendly and the room was nice, though there was a lot of noise both from outside (road, trains and trucks honking in the middle of the night), and from inside (other guests, not very soundproof room). Hard to find anything for breakfast other than Starbucks within a reasonable walk.

All in all, fine for the price but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We chose to stay at The Met because of its price and location but would return for many different reasons. Its attractively decorated rooms are well maintained and equipped with everything we needed. The friendly front desk staff answered questions cheerfully and gave advice and directions. The Met, located in the second oldest building in New Westminster and near the waterfront, is in a mixed neighbourhood but we heard no street noise and felt comfortable walking to and from their parking which is in a municipal lot about a half a block away. It's next to the Sky Train's Columbia Station but although our room looked out on the station we weren't bothered by noise and we really appreciated how easy it was to catch a ride downtown. The Bar and Grill served a great breakfast, with a 15% guest discount, which we ate on its "secret garden" patio. If you're on a budget and want great value for your travel dollar, The Met is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a great stay at this conveniently located hotel. Stayed for 6 nights and the staff were very friendly. Room was a good size and had everything we needed. It is right next to the train station which was great. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Maybe not the most modern hotel in the best part of town but certainly a good hotel! With the sky train station two doors down it is also a great place to stay if you think hotels in downtown Vancouver is too expensive. You can take the Sky Train to downtown Vancouver for $4,- a person (Two different zones) or $2,50 for seniors and you'll be there in 25 minutes or less. The beds are comfy, the bathroom is okay. There is a water cooler on the second floor you can use for free mineral water. Even though the windows can't open there is a window fan witch will cool the room enough. With your stay at The Met Hotel you get a %15 discount card you can use your entire stay on food at The Met Liquor store and The Met Bar and Grill located downstairs. The bar and grill has a garden where you can enjoy the sun and a cool drink. The parking is across the street but it is payed, you can pay for your parking for your entire stay when you check in. It is very near the water and the Westminster Pier Park. But what really made our stay at The Met Hotel so great is the staff. They were really friendly and personal. Especially the desk clerk Sean was a great asset for the hotel. He was always in for a chit chat and had some great advise for fun trips, restaurants and anything you want to know about Vancouver. The Met Bar and Grill personal was also really friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I ever go to Vancouver again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Met Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Hotel

Address: 411 Columbia Street, New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Met Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Met Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Met Hotel New Westminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Met Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.