We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room with a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Quay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Quay to your Saves list
Inn at the Quay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Quayside Drive, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M6G1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Room with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our Seattle family of 5 had an awesome 3 day weekend at Inn at the Quay. The bedding was wonderful and the beds very comfortable. The hotel staff was accommodating and very friendly. We brought our bikes and cycled the long waterfront piers. We used the hot tub and sauna nightly. A big plus for our kids. We tried the onsite restaurant which happens to be a chain, it was overpriced and the food was awful. There are many other great choices at the Quay Market. We are used to higher end hotels and this one did not disappoint. The minimal parking charge was well worth it, as we were able to park in front of the hotel due to our large luggage shell on top of our car. We felt very secure. The kids had a front row seat on our balcony for the great Canada Day Firework Show!! Hope to repeat it again next year !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear SeattleMomOfThree_11,

Thank you for your kind words and happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the Canada Day fireworks celebration right from your guestroom balcony.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    106
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
38
106
15
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there a couple days ago. The hotel has been updated since our last visit. We were not able to sleep the night we were there due to other guests smoking on their patios which was coming into our rooms forcing us to wake up several of times choking on the nasty smell. It was hot and if we turned the AC on it would of been louder than what it already was. As I mean by that is it is a noisy hotel with the trains going by and the pub downstairs which is loud until the late hours.
The hotel should become 100% non smoking and maybe have a designated smoking area.

We will not return to the hotel as we should of learned from our first stay a few years back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Good morning darryl1978,

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. The Inn at the Quay is a 100% non smoking hotel. I would like to discuss your stay with you further - please if you would call me at your convenience, our toll free number 1-800-663-2001.

Thank you.

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've stayed here every time I've ever visited Vancouver and have never been disappointed. The rooms are well decorated and well maintained. They are always clean and a pleasure to stay in. I love how the boardwalk is right outside the hotel doors and you can take lots of leisurely walks up and down it with ease.The nearby mall is also an asset for any necessity you might need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Canada-ehh,

Thank you for you kind comments and loyalty. We look forward to your next visit to the Inn at the Quay.

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spent last night at this hotel. My wife and I were in town for a wedding and they recommended this spot. My wife had booked it so I didn't know anything about it before arriving. The lobby is stylish, the front desk staff were extremely helpful, the parking is free, the location is great we had cool little balcony facing the Fraser river. The bed was comfortable. The robes were soft. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The price was fantastic. We were just staying in the area but you are steps from the skytrain which will get you downtown in about a half hour. Right adjacent to the hotel is the New West Quay with a market, a few restaurants and a boardwalk. If you're visiting vancouver and nightlife isn't your thing this is a great option. Costs about half of what similar room downtown would cost. The hotel even gave us a gift of bottle of J. Lohr Cab Sav and some chocolates! We had breakfast at Angelinas, which is right outside the front door and it was great too! I 100% reccomend.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the river. It's a bit industrial, but actually really pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear kevyk,

Thank you for your review! Hope you have the opportunity to return again soon. Perhaps a birthday or anniversary getaway?

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stay here while I am down in New West for work. Good quality hotel for a decent price on the Fraser River. I enjoy staying here and walking along the boardwalk and shops. Good for singles, couples and families. Hotel is always clean, chocolates on bed during check in, free wine hour on Tuesdays, phenomenal restaurant and staff are friendly and always available to help.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet nite sleep make sure to ask for a room on the right side of hotel, Paddlewheeler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi CanadaNicole,

thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found the Inn to be a great gathering place for a nursing class reunion, including a good group rate and placing us relatively together on the same floor.
I accidentally left my hair dryer behind but with communication with hotel staff it was promptly returned by post. Pleasant room decor and very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear joel_fair,

thank you for posting a response on Trip Advisor. I did hear that your group had a fabulous time, I'm sure the weekend was filled with much laughter and fond memories. So when's the next reunion?

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The view is magnificent, but the Priceline constraints and parking upcharge saddened me. Gotta say, the setting is awesome and the rooms are luxe! The two-bed rooms are all on the east side of the hotel, shade in the evening, with cool views of the tug boats moored nearby.

Problems are the stale smoke once you step outside into the balcony; voices from outdoor pub-goers penetrate the glass doors and windows The front desk accommodated us by providing a room further out from the shore, which was indeed better. May the live music Sunday evening not disturb us!

Parking costs another almost $12 a night; street parking as an alternative didn't seem practical, and also bears a cost of $3.75/night.

Major disappointment was that the two-bed request through Priceline was not honored. We could have dealt with a King; none available. We did upgrade for $20 a night, plus tax, for teh privilege of two double beds. Needless to say, not a great way to start a four-day stay that began this morning with a flight from across the continent.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the NOT "pub" side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy M, General Manager at Inn at the Quay, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Inn at the Quay for your recent travels to New Westminster, BC. I do apologize for any confusion regarding your Priceline reservation - Priceline offers "run of the house". I would be happy to discuss further if you wish to call or email me. We hope you have the opportunity to visit Canada and our City again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kathy MacKerricher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Quay

Address: 900 Quayside Drive, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M6G1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at the Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Quay Hotel New Westminster
Hotel At Westminster Quay
At Westminster Quay New

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.