We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay! Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillhouse B&B

Hillhouse B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Westminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillhouse B&B
Save
You added Hillhouse B&B to your Saves list
358 Simpson Street, New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay! Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're looking to stay somewhere different next time you're in the GVRD, try the Hillhouse B&B! Great views of the Fraser River and super friendly staff! Don and Denny are two of the nicest people you'll ever meet and will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of the Hillhouse B&B. I arrived late at night after a mercy dash from NewZealand as my son who lives in Canada had been admittied to ICU Royal Columbian Hospital. The B&B is within close (5min) walk from the hospital so that was perfect for me. The emotional support and the loving care I received from my hosts was nothing short of fantastic. The atmosphere of the rooms and indeed the whole house was like being enveloped in a giant hug and a real home away from home. Access to the skytrain ,bank and grocery shops is very easy and very close and the views from the balconies over the Fraser river and valley are spectacular. The breakfasts were simply yummy and well presented.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hillhouse B&B is located on a quiet street, on the hill overlooking the Fraser. My room was very quaint, with everything that I needed. Perfect sleep in the comfy bed. The bathroom has a claw tub bath, or you may choose the stand up shower. Breakfast was tasty, neatly set out for me when I came downstairs. The dogs are beautiful and usually under your feet, wanting a belly rub. If you are looking for a trendy/modern/no character kinda place, this is not for you. However, if you want a friendly, unique and well priced stay, check it out. 15 min walk to JIBC. Why give your money to a chain when you can spend it on a personal experience with great people.

Room Tip: Get the room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

The Hillhouse B&B is a great place for people who like it relaxed and calm. From Sapperton Skytrain station it is about 5-10 min walk up a gentle hill - just where the top of the hill starts, so that you are away from the noise of the main street / Skytrain and ships in the Fraser river valley. From my room I had a terrific view over Fraser valley towards Mount Baker. Skytrain runs into town every 5 min. during the week, and even every 10-15 min. during Sunday, starting before 6am until after midnight (driving time about 30min). Skytrain is a very ingenious traffic system - the trains are very short and without driver and drive extremely frequently. From airport you can take Bus number 100 to Skytrain 22nd street station in Burnaby / New Westminster. The hosts Denny + Don are wonderful people. They have a dog and 3 cats, who are behaving perfectly well.

  • Liked — Great hosts, good access to Skytrain, calm location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillhouse B&B

Address: 358 Simpson Street, New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > New Westminster
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in New Westminster
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.