We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vietnamese in Nanaimo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho a Dong Restaurant

Pho a Dong Restaurant
428 Fitzwilliam Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 741-8699
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 283 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese in Nanaimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place to eat. Lovely family restaurant a little off the main downtown area quaint with shops. Very nice family place with well presented food with some unique and delightful food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just had lunch here. Pho is superb with lovely flavours and the right perfume reminiscent of true vietnamese dish

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious and fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The place does not look like much, but the food is absolutely amazing! Tried the hot and sour soup and it was piping hot and a good portion size! Will definitely eat here again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Quaint and also tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We entered the restaurant for early lunch and the restaurant was steady, with plenty of available seating provided to us. The server was kind, polite and served us quickly. We split some salad and spring rolls, which were fresh and tasty, with crisp vegetables and a great crunch. Each of us had the noodle bun and it was a generous portion. All items were priced well and I think we received good value for our dollar. We look forward to dining here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Spot in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Whenever we're in Nanaimo, Pho a Dong is a main stop. Great exercise to the top of the hill from the marina. Very good Vietnamese flavours and a nice selection of items on the menu. Love their spring-rolls and they are always served fresh from the fryer, not warmed up. Salad rolls are very good as well. Soups are awesome and the thought of their curry dishes have me salivating. The place is small, friendly and sweet, and extremely clean.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho a Dong Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Pho a Dong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho a Dong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.