We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Microwaves” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gina's Mexican Cafe

Gina's Mexican Cafe
47 Skinner St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5K4, Canada
250-753-5411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 282 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Yellowknife
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Microwaves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Been here several times and always had good food but unfortunately will now have to go elsewhere. The service was good and nachos are always excellent but the entrees were definitely microwaved which is a major problem. If I wanted microwaved rice and beans I could have stayed home and there is no way it could be denied. Shame on the cooks that's just laziness.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    65
    28
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst Mexican ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

First off my food arrived in less than 5 min...big no no....this tells me it has been sitting and was already prepared...second no no I took 1 bite and burnt they roof of my mouth! They microwaved it !! I got up and left...horrible will never return!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“1 star is over rating this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had a reservation for 17, for a graduation party. When making the reservation we were told that we could all sit together, which didn't happen. Next we tried to bring in a cake for the celebration which we were promptly told no outside food , so the cake stayed in the car. We all had appy's,dinner and drinks and spent a lot of money. After dinner the waitress had the nerve to ask us if we wanted dessert. What would you think? We all would have had coffee or tea with our cake if we could have had it, but they lost on that sale. I would not of stayed if it was not my sons graduation from VIU. I will never go back to Gina's again. Gina's should add a cover charge for bringing your own cake for a special occasion if they are that cheap to not allow outside food, or let you know when making a reservation that you can't bring anything in with you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been here several times over the years. When you are seated there is always salsa and chips which are a great bonus and salsa is the best! We always have the Navaho and margaritas. The last time we noticed the food was not as good as in past and hope that was just a off day...we will go back and hope for consistently good Mexican we have had in past. Service can be good or bad depending on waitress.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ignore all the Haters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I seriously doubt any ones wife makes better "authentic" Mexican wood.
as far as the others, sounds to me, like they either working at a similar "style" restaurant and like to use some sleazy ploy to drag nave customers to there restaurant, that pretends to be authentic
or they were fired from Gina s Mexican Cafe. I have consistently had good service, reasonable price I might add, ice cold drinks generous portions. Everything, was on time hot and tasty. I always leave the table feeling like a stuffed turkey.
No wonder there line ups. To be fare and partial. Customers can be just as ignorant and rude as any staff member. Ever try working in a place thats insanely busy . Im sure there plenty of drama and chaos in every one life". Maximum stress for minimum pay" . Every one entitled to a meltdown or two.
I have yet to find a place where you get 100% satisfaction and the ability please every one all the time. The bloggers are worse then winy brats who wont eat there vegetables and probably suffer from ADD.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gina's Mexican Cafe also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Gina's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gina's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.