We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Nanaimo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gina's Mexican Cafe

Gina's Mexican Cafe
47 Skinner St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5K4, Canada
250-753-5411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 283 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best in Nanaimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is not an authentic Mexican Cafe. Most people would say it's Tex-Mex Fusion with a flair for using the local available ingredients. (Hint..... Seafood).
The staff are very friendly and skilled at getting the food to our table.
The Drinks are Dangerously good esp. the Sangrias & Margeritas. The serving staff are good about asking for your car keys as they probably have to call a few Taxis.
We usually start with an appy of Prawns Coriander, then order one of the meals off the back page or just have Seafood Chipolte. If any complaint is consistent is that they serve way too much food for a Normal Person. My friends & I are not tiny Normal people so we like it like that.
Have Fun!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    73
    31
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mexico in Nanaimo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff very friendly and welcoming, the atmosphere was cosy, and colourful, the food full of flavour! Very good food! We will return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yes to Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoy Gina's from the moment we arrive, throughout the fast paced 6.5 meal, to the fun atmosphereand.

Then we get to the paying portion and it's a major turnoff - hurry up and wait in line, in a crowded pushy doorway :(

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite date night place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Love the food here. Now that I'm gluten free, guess what...I can still eat here. The servers will help you to select at meal option that fits, and there are many. And I've never left with a stomach ache, so they don't lie. Great service, great food...I'm finding we go here more and more, atleast once a month and it's the place I take my friends all the time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Love the food at this restaurant. Many gluten-free options. I like the small intimate setting with a lot of character. Its the purple house on the hill. Close to shops and the beautiful walk way along the waterfront.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gina's Mexican Cafe also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Gina's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gina's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.