We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent view! Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Bistro and Pub

Lighthouse Bistro and Pub
50 Anchor Way (On The Water In Nanaimo), Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
250-754-3212
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 282 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Fish & Chips, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Magnificent view! Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful experience at this restaurant. We wandered in earlier than we wanted to eat and asked to make a reservation. The young lady at the front desk was most accommodating and when we showed up she had saved us a lovely table with a beautiful view. Our server was very pleasant and we both enjoyed our meals very much. I would go back here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at Lighthouse Bistro and Pub, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Tornane,

Thank you for the lovely review. I am so happy to hear that your experience in our restaurant was a great one. We take a lot of pride in providing our guests with great service and food.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    46
    28
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view, mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dined in the restaurant side of the Lighthouse Bistro and Pub with my husband, brother and sister-in-law on August 3rd. Dined early so we had a table by the window with a gorgeous view (restaurant is on the water).

Several of us had the seafood chowder which was very salty. I mentioned this to the waitress who said that it was probably because of one of the types of seafood in the chowder. I have had numerous types of chowder in many restaurants and not found any others to be this salty.

Our main courses were also very salty. I don't generally add salt to food, so may be more sensitive to the taste, but my companions felt the same way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at Lighthouse Bistro and Pub, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Sashalucky,

I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your food. You can be sure that your feedback has been passed on to the kitchen and measures are being taken to ensure the highest quality of product is received by our guests.

We hope you give us another try in the near future and we guarantee your next experience to be exceptional!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We walked here from the Coast Bastion Hotel, and the food was very good, and the kids enjoyed the food and the views. We sat outside and watched float planes land, and boats coming in and out, all while dining on great food. Price was very reasonable

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at Lighthouse Bistro and Pub, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Mike S.,

We are glad to hear that you and your family had a great experience in our restaurant. One of the perks to our location is that Harbour Air has many flights every day and it is very cool to watch the harbor in motion.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great ocean side pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had lunch and a couple drinks at this pub. Great location on the nanaimo harbor. Watch the boats and sea planes come and go while enjoying great food. We sat outside at the BBQ, and the food was great. There is a different menu that looks worthwhile inside in the restaurant side. I'd recommend this to others.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at Lighthouse Bistro and Pub, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Mike P,

Glad you enjoyed your visit on our BBQ Patio. There is no better place to be in the summer and our seasonal BBQ menu is unique and ever changing. The Bistro and Pub menus run all year long and have a wide array of options for your dining pleasure.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location - Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great lunch spot. Plenty of parking in the public lots right in front of the restaurant. There were six of us and the calamari appetizer was enough for all of us to share. Four of us had the halibut and loved it - the serving size was perfect, I actually couldn't finish it. It is a beautiful place to eat - just the sort of place I want to be when at the waterfront. Set up very nicely to enjoy the harbour with a nice meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Bistro and Pub also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Lighthouse Bistro and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Bistro and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.